We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for pensioners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Florida Spa to your Saves list
Florida Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better for pensioners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just back from coming here with my gran, food was always consistently good would recommend burgers, only thing as a teenager myself or anyone under 50 you can feel a bit put out as entertainment is geared towards older people although the flamenco dancers were brilliant, I never seen anyone else my age there or probably under 40 the full time I was there so probably not sown where you'd take small kids, the pool area leaves a lot to be desired and on a hot day it's very hard to get a sunbed, on a not so hot day it's hard to get sun on the pool and can be freezing. I had a room on 7th floor with a beautiful beach view, although found it rather annoying even though how often room was cleaned the glasses were never cleaned? Also the wifi did work but was really slow at times only other negative was lifts took forever and often went all the way to top and back when everyone in the lift wanted to go to floors well before that. Everything else was excellent and if your a pensioner or someone without kids then this is the place to go. Also the Thomson rep I found was very helpful

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    298
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
105
571
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks in April. In our experience - the staff were friendly, the room was clean, beds average. We had a problem with the air con that was dealt with quickly. Enjoyed the spa and unlike some reviews, i found the pool relaxing. Can't vouch for evening food but there was a good choice of nice food for breakfast. The hotel is in a great location for sea, bars and transport. Hotel popular with older guests - which I found makes the atmosphere a bit more relaxed - I felt the same about fuengirola itself which is less resort-like than the other towns we visited. Don't expect any pretty little streets, it is a town, but on the plus side it felt less touristy away from the beach than say benalmedina. While we were there, the 5 day festival was on in the town which was great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Florida Spa April/May and we were impressed with the overall comfort, seafront position and efficiency of the staff.....with the exception of the night porter who forgot to put our wake up call through to us on our last night....could have been a disaster so please make sure this does not happen to anyone else.

We loved the seafront position and although the room faced cafes and a children's amusement park, we did not find it unusually noisy and in fact it added to the atmosphere. If anyone is interested, our room was 724 and the lift bank was just around the corner and we had no problems with having to wait for a lift.

The restaurant was lovely....adequate space between tables and the staff were extremely efficient. The food was buffet style and food was always fresh and appetising. The cold buffet was pretty much the same every day but the hot food had a variety of choices every evening.....meat and fish so beautifully cooked. Breakfast was also delicious and eggs, omelettes, pancakes freshly prepared for you.....lots of fresh fruit, breads etc.

We didn't use the pool or took part in the entertainment so cannot comment but know for a fact that couples had been back year after year so that must mean a lot.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Fuengirola.

Room Tip: Room 724 was excellent.....lifts nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is ok although the average age of the guests was about 75.

The problem was I had a room on the 1st floor which along with the ground floor overlooks a common are where bands play

This means that I had a band outside my room playing at 110 decibels till Midnight.

I say band but I am not joking when I say it would have been bad for a busker. It was so loud that the signing was Distorted. I couldn't even hear my own voice in the room and had to leave.

I eventually got them to change room to another floor but it wasn't easily achieved.

Ok as long as you avoid the ground and 1st floor

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel, great food, exellent position for bars and shops, beach over the road would recommend to everyone. nothing too much trouble for exellent staff,the food in the restaraunt was well presented always hot

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean hotel, well looked after by the cleaning staff
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed three nights here in late April, the weather was poor, but the hotel was in a decent location. The breakfast was very good with a great selection. The hotel is adults only but to be honest while there is seemed like a care in the community outing. While no spring chicken myself being 56 and no dislike of the elderly, i was surprised the whole ethos of the hotel seemed geared toward that age group with the evening entertainment which i am sure suited them, but wouldn't be my choice again for a visit. The rooms were nice enough although the pool area found it hard to get the sun what little off it i seen, it was nice and clean thoughout. The staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Me and my husband and 5 year old boy stayed here for 10 days over Easter. The weather was disappointing but off set by the fabulous staff! Having emailed ahead we were thrilled to be given room 1202 which is on the top floor right in the corner. We had views of the harbour and roof tops of Fuengirola. The room was lovely and quiet and we didn't hear a sound past 10pm every evening.

The room itself was a good size, clean,tidy and contained everything you would expect and more - a fridge, tea, coffee, safe, extra pillows, plenty of coat hangers, a pretty decent hairdryer and a handy clothes line over the bath. On arrival we had a tooth brush,shower cap and plenty of toiletries which were frequently topped up. The television had around ten English channels to choose from, none of which are children's ones so we took a DVD player with us. My husband and I had just celebrated our 40th birthday's and were delighted to receive a lovely bottle of wine.

The food was amazing! So more choice it was hard work deciding what to eat! A massive thanks to the head chef Pashi who went above and beyond in catering for our fussy son -often cooking to order each night. The staff were excellent too, very attentive and friendly, especially Ana who had a little admirer in our son! A lovely touch was that on our last morning we were offered an early breakfast time to allow us a quick breakfast prior to our airport pickup, I have never been offered this elsewhere.

The communal areas were kept spotless, and there were always people sitting in reception having a quiet read or watching the world go by. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful, in particular Monica who was very knowledgeable regarding the trips on offer.

Location wise this hotel is perfect! There is a small supermarket opposite and a larger one just a few metres away. 10 minutes to the bus station and opposite the harbour.there is a children's park over the road but this isn't a noisy one and is only open 5-10pm.

We didn't really use the pool,we spent the couple of sunny days on the beach, there isn't a separate pool for children but the water was nice and warm.

We had a great time at Hotel Florida and would love to return one day, a huge thanks all round!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view. Overlooking the sea and harbour are the best but there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.