We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Florida.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Spa

Save Saved
You added Florida Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Florida Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 hotels in Fuengirola
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay at the Florida.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Yet again a warm welcome from the hotel staff. Nothing is too much trouble for anybody, A good choice of food in a very efficiently run restaurant. Special thanks to Maria, Caroline and Tatiana for the advice on 'egg fee' products as my partner has a severe allergy. Rooms very comfortable, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback and for giving us top marks. We are very happy to read you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Florida Spa and we really appreciate your nice comments about our hard working staff. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    242
    67
    13
    8
See reviews for
90
473
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a week at The Florida Hotel Fuengirola. Couldn't fault it! It was clean, the food was fantastic - very difficult to please everyone from various countries with differing tastes, but the chef managed it. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, joining in with the guests during the evening entertainment, they seemed to be very happy working there. We were lucky with the weather so were able to get out and about. Lots of comfy sofas and chairs in the huge reception area and a quiet/card room on the first floor again with comfy sofas and chairs. Bathroom spacious with a large walk in shower. Tea/coffee making facility in room together with a small fridge and also flat screen TV. Entertainment every evening with some great acts - Ricky Lavazza was one of the highlights, VERY good and VERY professional. Well done Florida Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for the compliments and for taking your time in writing a review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We really appreciate your nice comments, especially the ones regarding our staff. We hope to see you back soon for another nice holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have now returned back to the Florida and this visit will be our fourth. The staff are lovely nothing is too much trouble and that follows through from the housekeepers and restaurant service to bar staff and reception. This hotel is spotless from the top to the bottom we could not point a finger or criticise each and every time we have come to stay the standards remain the same. So we say a big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday very enjoyable. May you all continue to keep up the good work and may we always keep returning.
Mick and Mary Davies. Wrexham north Wales
All rooms are good. Sea facing rooms have sun in the morning, rooms over the outdoor swimming pool have sun in the afternoon. All rooms have a safe and fridge at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Happy holidays lay back and enjoy they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice review and for giving us top marks. Your comments fill us with joy and ee are very pleased to know you are such a loyal guest and that all your stays were up to your expectations. We expect you at the Florida very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a November two weeks at the Florida Spa in Fuergirola. The same high standards, friendly staff, good food and ambience of the hotel prevail and so popular to return to it as it is value for money, in an excellent position just back from the promenade and an efficient staff await you to do whatever they can to make your holiday with them a memorable experience.

Weather was mixed but always something to do in Fuergirola and the basement Spa is a delightful way to end a busy day, relaxing in its warm water.

Will return again in May to another holiday.

Room Tip: High floors are good - sea view or pool side on a high floor will give you views of Furegirola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments about Hotel Florida Spa and for giving us top marks. Your words are very rewarding and we are very happy to know you are planning to return next May. See you very soon then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room was a good size with twin beds,walkin shower with good pressure, air con, a fan, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, and balcony. It was well equipped with chairs, table, and furniture for the balcony. The shower gel etc in the bathroom were very usable and replenished every day. Sheets were changed twice a week and towels daily if required.
The reception team, the maid and restaurant staff were all very helpful and friendly.
The food was an excellent buffet service with a great choice including several different types of fish, hot and cold meats, cheese fruit etc. My only criticism is that the hotel caters for a mainly British guest who like their meat "well Done" so I found it a little overcooked for my taste, but with the great choice this was not a problem. Some food is cooked on the griddle and can be cooked to taste
We had a very enjoyable stay despite the uncharacteristic bad weather and the hotel did everything they could to entertain you during the day. The evening entertainment programme was a little restricted but catered for the needs of the guests.

Room Tip: A high floor room has better views of the marina and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about Hotel Florida Spa. We are very pleased to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us in spite of the weather. We hope to see you back soon and we also hope this time you get to enjoy the beautiful sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Apart from agreeing with all the positive reviews about this hotel I can only add that we stayed at one of its sisters last year - the Yaramar. By comparison, the Florida has a smaller pool area and no activities, such as pilates, which you'll find at the Yaramar. The room was about the same size (quite small) but the bathroom at the Florida was bigger and more modern, with a powerful shower but no bath.

The food was perhaps a little better at the Florida, though I don't remember having many complaints last year at the Yaramar.

Both hotels cater more for older residents but we found the average age at the Florida - about 58 I'd say - was quite a bit lower than the Yaramar's. It's the time of year that attracts older guests rather than particular hotels.

In terms of location there's little to choose. We had a room overlooking the marina, which was nice, but it only got the sun until about 11am. Rooms overlooking the pool get the sun for the rest of the day. The same applies at the Yaramar.

The third sister hotel, the Angela, is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but I imagine this will be similar in many respects to its siblings.

Be aware that the prices of these hotels vary quite a lot. We chose the Yaramar last year because it was cheaper than the Florida when we booked, and we were attracted to its larger pool area. This year, the Florida was cheaper, even though it has a higher rating with Thomson. As for the activities, if you like that sort of thing to loosen you up in the morning and find yourself at the Florida, I suggest you take the 10-minute walk along to the Yaramar and join in with their classes. I'm sure you'll be welcomed with open arms; they're not exactly crowded!

I hope this comparison was useful.

Finally, I must correct another reviewer who said that the pool was closed due to being out of season. It was drained to carry out some minor repairs for a few days (and it rained on all of them). It was refilled, fresh and clean, just in time for only our second sunny day of the week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for writing such a detailed review about Hotel Florida and its sister hotel the Yaramar. As you well said the Angela has been refurbished and we are very happy with the results as now it is more inviting and much comfier. We hope to see you back at the Florida or at either of its sisters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have just returned from a week h/b at this hotel. The only big negative is that it rained for nearly the whole week.

We had a twin room but pushed our beds together. Our balcony overlooked the beach & harbour where there are some great restaurants.There was a small fridge in the room and we took full advantage of it. Good storage space & hangers. A flat screen wall mounted t.v. with BBC channels & ITV2 plus more. The shower was fab - a very good power shower. The shower had a large shower head + a wall mounted shower which could be hand held so you didn't have to get your hair wet if you didn't want to. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels & toiletries. There was even a sealed toothbrush & toothpaste amongst the toiletries. Even the cleaning staff said hello every day.

Hotel staff on reception were professional but not as friendly as the restaurant staff. The restaurant staff work non-stop and are very friendly & efficient. The Spanish do like their oils & sauces but the chef did comply & reduce the amount of oil to a bare minimum on my cheese omlettes. Some of the food could be a bit hotter (as with most buffet style restaurants) but the selection of foods was brilliant - one of the best I have experienced. Lots of lovely fresh fruit, salads, soups, breads, fish, meat. I didn't see any sign of re-cycled food unlike in Egypt. There is something for everyone - the puddings were awesome too.

The hotel also caters for disabled people and with the area being pretty flat it is ideal for those who are disabled or who struggle to walk.

I am glad we booked half board as eating out at lunchtime was very expensive if you didn't want McDonalds or Burger King. On average it cost us €35 for a good lunch and my husband doesn't drink alcohol. If you know local people it will be substantially cheaper as they will avoid the tourist traps.

It was my husband's 40th and the staff came out with a cake & sang to him with the chef popping out to wish him a happy birthday. It really made his night as he was dreading the BIG 4 0 but they helped him embrace it.

Entertainment was not a let down for us as I knew the hotel catered to the more senior guests and we are not ones for clubbing. I thoroughly enjoyed watching those who could ballroom dance get up and show us young uns how it is done. Happy Hour was a favourite (€5 for 2 Gin & Tonics). Bingo was great fun too. My husband had a go for the first time and got really excited especially when the prize was €170 for a full house and a ticket only cost €3.00 lol.

We used the Spa only once as we were out every day. The pool is small but big enough for a few laps. The jacuzzi was fab with 2 lounger type beds where you had water pounding your body from the tiny holes. I didn't try the sauna, steam room or thermal shower but there is a cost of €10 to use all 3. You also have to wear swimming caps which are provided (compulsory) and flip flops. Worth a visit. There is an outside pool but it was closed due to being out of season.

Despite the rain it was warm & did not stop us getting out & about. The bus & train station is a good 10 minute walk away. We took day trips to Malaga & Torromolinos by train. Lovely day trips by bus to Mijas and Marbella. The cost of the bus is very reasonable and not too far away (30 minutes Mijas, 1 hour Marbella). The hotel was made up of mainly over 60's but everybody was so friendly and we all talked to each other - unheard of in my years of travelling! You can even take the train from the airport to Fuengirola station.

There is a large Supermarket a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Wine is so cheap but was not exceptionally expensive at dinner either. There is a large market near there on a Tuesday (one of the biggest in Costa Del Sol). Sadly it was cancelled due to torrential rain.

The Bio Park (minimum 30 minute walk) is a must. I wasn't too fussed about going to a zoo but we did it the last day before we flew home and I must say it was a delight and I am so glad we went. You walk amongst some of the animals. The Lemur enclosure was so good as we got to take photos of the lemurs as they sat at our feet.

We met some lovely people who made us feel so welcome. We will definitely be going back when the sun decides to visit Fuengirola and will be taking my parents with us as they will thoroughly enjoy this hotel. Keep up the good work Hotel Florida :)

Room Tip: I personally liked the sea/harbour view and as we didn't have a choice it was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for writing such a fantastic review and for giving us top marks. We love getting comments like yours as they are really rewarding. Seeing our guests happy is a great satisfaction, so as you can imagine we are delighted to know you had such a great holiday and that you are willing to come back and bring your parents with you. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.