We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumbrian couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Florida Spa to your Saves list
Florida Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cumbrian couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Florida Spa, very nice hotel unfortunatly we had the only wet week this year. Like all hotels in beach resorts there is nothing to do if you have no sunshine.The staff were very nice, the buy one get one free on all drinks in the bar made the evenings better.
The down side in my opinion, was the food, even though it was cooked well the starters were the same every night , the main corse didn't change enough for our taste then the puddings were very basic

Room Tip: Top floor on front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, we are sorry the weather was not sunny during your stay, however next time you can ask at reception and they can give you information on all the places you can visit, since Costa del sol has much more to offer than just beach and sun. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    271
    72
    17
    8
See reviews for
97
529
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went to the Hotel Florida Spa for my mum's 60th birthday. We wanted a mix of bars and restaurants but without the rowdiness of a busy resort. Firstly, the resort in itself is very clean and litter free. There are plenty of bars and restaurants along the main promanade serving english, italian, spanish and indian cusine. Coming out the hotel and turning left is the best area for this. I recommend the italian restaurant about 10 minutes walk from the hotel along the promanade for their pizzas. Unfortunately or fortunately considering we discovered this on the first day is that the restaurants along the beachfront are extremely expensive for food and drink and quite honestly are not worth it. Fish are cooked on the grills however after using one of the toilets and seeing a cockroach run across the floor put me off trying the fresh sardines that look so appetising.

For those seeking a more lively atmosphere at night, english and irish bars with buzzing restaurants, do not make the mistake we made by trekking round for hours in circles trying to locate an area that is 10 mins away, simply turn right on the promanade about 5 mins walk there is an iron arch way which leads you into this area. There are lots of chinese restaurants here, DO NOT eat at the big restaurant opposite the irish bar O'Brien's - service was awful, food was even worse (not authentic at all) and we discovered hairs in our main meal. I refused to pay for our mains, she became extremely angry and aggressive snatching money out of my hand which led to quite a heated argument in the street. We had already been warned about this restaurant and wished we had listened! Other this this all restaurants we ate in were lovely.

The mariner was also nice - relaxing and the english place served a nice lunch at good prices. Recommend the dolphin trip (cheaper to buy at the mariner than through the hotel or reps at £15 each). Also caught a bus to Marbella which was cheap - bus and train station nearby, public transport excellent and much much cheaper than taxi's.

Resort was all flat so there was a lot of elderly people and those requiring wheelchairs. This did not bother us but I would not suggest this resort to groups of friends looking for pubs, bars and clubs, not really the resort for drinking and dancing which had its plus point as there were no drunk youngsters puking up everywhere.

Hotel was lovely. Rooms and hotel was spacious, very clean and of a high standard. Food in the restaurant was hit and miss but plenty of places to eat nearby. Soups were good, but there wasnt much choice for vegetarians - even the rice had meat through it. Desserts werent great either - all a bit bland but plenty of choice and to fill a hole the food was acceptable.

Pool area was quiet and relaxing but the pool was small - more of a cooling off pool - too small to swim in. Plenty of sunbeds. Make use of the free spa, well worth a visit. Also the deal with the Yaramar where you get cheaper sunbeds and a free sangria on their private beach. Just take your room card to show staff. Beach was much quieter here compared to directly opposite the hotel. We didnt swim in the sea after seeing people fishing out hoards of jelly fish - apparantly portugese poisonous ones?!

Definately would stay at this hotel again, hotel entertainment was too old for me and mum but we made the most of the happy hour where you can get 2 glasses of wine for 3 euros. Great location and short transfer from airport. A lot of guests were on their 2/3rd visit.

Room Tip: Our room had a sea view but balconies did not get the sun, only first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay at Hotel Florida Spa. We are sorry to know you did not enjoy the entertainment or food much though happy to hear you would consider us for future holidays in Costa del Sol. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I are in our early sixties and we felt very young compared with what we saw of the rest of the guests on our arrival. Zimmers and walking sticks seemed to be the order of the day.

We arrived mid afternoon and booking in was a breeze. We were given our key cards for a room on the 9th floor and were told our cases would follow ten minutes later, they arrived in five. We had booked a superior room and it was well worth the extra £50.00. The room was huge and one wall was floor to ceiling glass with panoramic views over the harbour and beach. Excellent air conditioning was achieved once the controls were set properly.
Every room has tea making facilities, a free fridge, a free safe and flat screen TV with a few Brit channels and some interactive channels if you wanted to pay for them. Even a porno channel if you are that way inclined. The room was well equipped and quite modern. As is usual in Spain the beds were two singles pushed together but were extremely comfortable having a memory foam mattress topper to each. The bathroom did not have a bath but had a very good walk-in shower. I did hear a few grumbles about the size of the standard rooms. I also heard that some rooms have a shower over a bath. The cleanliness of the rooms was good although one day the room was not serviced (although this was soon rectified) and on another the terrace was not touched.

The restaurant was well run by female staff except for the total disregard and enforcement of the dress code ruling of no shorts or T shirts at dinner. This ruling was clearly displayed at the entrance and totally ignored by almost all the Spanish guests and a fair proportion of the other nationalities. Another thing ignored by most guests was the hand sanitizer dispensers. Something which is rather important in a self service buffet when everyone is handling the serving spoons.
The food quality was good but only average buffet fare, not as good as I was led to believe from the reviews on here. The bulk of the dishes on offer always seemed to be the best they could prepare for the least cost. There was one theme night per week, Chinese one week, Spanish the next. The Chinese style food quality was very poor, in fact it was horrible, the Spanish night was quite good.
The Spanish guests were given mineral water with their meal each evening. When I asked for the same I was told, English have to pay, charming!

Each night there is a 'Happy Hour' in the bar, two for the price of one, which is good value.
In the bar area there was a singer or duo who each night seemed to sing the same range of songs which was a tad boring after a few days. On the first week I felt sorry for the performers who sang to an almost empty bar after 9.30pm. The second week did buck up a little after a few younger guests, who could stay awake after this time, arrived and the place had a bit more atmosphere.

The pool area was too small for the size of the hotel it was also dirty and unkempt. Tiles were missing in the pool, the tiles were black and greasy around the water surface level and for some reason no one swept or washed down the pedestrian areas for the whole two weeks that I was there. The pool bar had a 'Happy Hour' at lunchtime, again good value.

The Indoor Spa pool is supposed to be the best in Andalucia. If that is so there must be some really bad ones. They make a big fuss of making everyone who enters the Spa wears a hat and flip flops, that they supply, but they find it too much trouble to clean the floors. I dropped my towel in the changing rooms and when I picked it up it was black and filthy. The steam room and sauna were a payable extra. This seemed strange as both were switched on anyway.

A big failing of this hotel is that there are no outdoor facilities other than the pool area which is closed off after 6pm.
If you are expecting any level of daytime organised entertainment there isn't any.

All smokers have to smoke outside the only entrance to the hotel stood on the pavement in a back street. Whether you smoke or not this is unforgivable for a 4* hotel.

The reception staff are very friendly and are fluent English speakers but are useless at passing on simple messages to the tour rep.

WI-FI is available free of charge even in the rooms, you just ask the reception for a code.

Overall my wife and I made the most of our stay, the room was great, the food passable and apart from a few things that could have been addressed so easily it was OK.

Would I go to this hotel again?
Owing to the lack of some facilities and general cleanliness I find it hard to justify the star rating for this hotel so the answer is very unlikely.

Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes if you are over 70!

Room Tip: High floor is a must to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest, we are glad to read you made the most out of your holidays although our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to improve day by day and comments like yours motivate us to continue in our search for perfection. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Florida (for the second time) from 16th to 23rd September and had a great time. We asked for a sea facing room and got possibly the best room in the hotel, 1232, the last room on the top floor with fabulous views. Our room was very comfortable, absolutely nothing to complain about with great shower, toiletries, tea, coffee, free safe and bathrobes. Everywhere was spotless.

The food, on the whole, was very good. Breakfast was bountiful, with everything you could ask for and more. Dinner was very good as well but we found the main courses a little restricted so ate out a couple of nights. All food was well cooked and presented.

The pool area is small but we were able to get sunbeds any time we wanted, but we spent more time at the beach because of the wonderful sunbeds they have there. More like single bed mattresses, so comfy. 9 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol. If you walk 10 mins along to the sister hotel Yaramar you can have them for 5euros with a free drink of Sangria. I did wonder why the Florida couldn't do that for their guests?

We didn't bother much with the entertainment but what I saw the guests seemed to enjoy.

Fuengirola is a great resort with everything close by. Bus and train station both within walking distance. The Bioparc (zoo) is brilliant for all ages. Mijas is a little whitewashed village in the hills behind Fuengirola, about 20 minutes by local bus. A beautiful place to visit. We also went to Marbella and Peurto Banus, to see how the other half live. Very enjoyable day.

The are countless good places to eat, especially around Fish alley, about 5 mins walk from the hotel. We ate at La Gondela and enjoyed it so much we went back again. Lovely food at great prices.

All in all we had a great holiday at the Florida and would recommend it highly. My only gripe would be with Thomson's marketing of this hotel as Platinum. When compared with the facilities at the Yaramar (which is Thomson Gold) I don't see any difference.

Having said that, Hotel Florida is a lovely place to stay and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Would we go back.....yes, definately!

Room Tip: Above 7th floor sea facing for sea and harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Florida Spa on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read you had a nice holiday and you would consider coming back again. It is very rewarding to us to see our guests enjoy, so we hope to see you back at the Florida soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conisbrough
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

brilliant hotel,good position for all amenties in fuengirola,food in hotel is first class,always something to eat and plenty of fresh fruit veg ,meat cooked whilst waiting ie steak done for you while you are there , fresh fried eggs for breakfast,lovelly clean modern hotel,try and get above fifth floor,stayed in one night with bottles and cans to drink while we watched the virgin mary procession and firework display,from the balcony best seat in the house,iff i go back i will certaine book this hotel,ly

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comments about Hotel Florida Spa. We are very pleased to see you had a happy stay. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brummie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have just returned from a 9 night stay at Florida Spa, would definitely return - one of the best holidays ever.The hotel is ideally situated-near harbour and beach and not too far from bus/train stations , shops and old town. We found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Some confusion between the hotel and travel agent meant that our initial room was far higher than we would have liked but we were offered 2 alternatives both if which were fine- we opted for a sea view on floor 5 which was brilliant. It is a standard room but more than big enough and with a decent -sized balcony and really good powerful shower- our main aim being a walk-in shower due to a mobility problem. Each morning we had a superb view of the sun rising in the bay. We did not hear any noise at night as the balcony windows are very efficient. The air conditioning and fan were very quiet and efficient, and included in price as I believe some hotels have started charging.It is unusual for Spanish hotels to have fridge and safe included, but this was most welcome. We also enjoyed the tea/coffee making facilities- and you can always ask for extra supplies or take a couple of tea bags from breakfast.
As mentioned several times on reviews the pool is not brilliant and there is no other area to sit outside, but at least we knew this before we booked. The entertainment was definitely aimed at our age group and we sat in the bar most nights, but there are plenty of alternatives around. Drinks prices are reasonable -especially with Happy Hour twice a day. We were glad the hotel had no facilities for children other than high chairs which we never saw being used, it made for a wonderful peaceful holiday!
We found the staff very pleasant and willing to help-they even charged the battery in my camera as my USB charger packed up. We enjoyed the food which was of a better quality than other hotels we have stayed in , but as there are so many lovely lovely restaurants in the resort we would consider booking on a bed and breakfast basis and eat out for a few nights.
Overall I would recommend the hotel and the resort, especially for more mature couples and I can't see any problems with access to any part of the hotel for less mobile visitors.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers e.g 202 have pool view , lowest ones also have side sea view. numbers from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review and for considering us for future holidays. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Florida Spa so we really hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokenchurch uk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is not a 4 star Hotel set back from Front windows and common areas not clean very little out side space pool on 1st floor at back of building no sun till after mid day sun beds in poor Condition with bird droppings on them all you can see from pool is other buildings at night no outside dinning or bar area's like living in a card board box on the plus side the room and view from the 11th floof excellent this is not a Thomson Platinum Hotel The rep was about as useful as a chocolate tea Pot Liked Fuengirola Will return But not to this Hotel
Air con turned off in lifts and common areas during day lifts like sweat boxes stayed in mid June
Temp- 34c-38c Food 5 out of 10

Room Tip: Rooms above 5th Floor with Sea Views Worth paying extra below only Views of other Buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelangela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Florida Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest, we are very sorry to read you did not enjoy your holidays with us, but are happy to see you at least liked Fuengirola. Thank you for review and comments which we take note of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Spa

Address: C/ Doctor Galvez Ginachero, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Florida Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuengirola’s New Hotel Florida Spa is located beside the port, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This state-of-the-art, four-star facility offers 184 rooms, all of which are complete with air-conditioning, heating, a fridge/minibar, satellite TV, Music Channels, and pay-for-view films. Along with the expected accoutrements of a telephone, a hair-dryer, and tea and coffee facilities, each room at the New Hotel Florida Spa also offers its own safe so you can enjoy the fun of the Costa del Sol with complete peace of mind while you leave your valuables behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Florida Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Fuengirola
Florida Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.