We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A7 km.207,junto al Castillo Sohail, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a family get together and was disappointed from the minute I walked through the door. Let me assure you, I travel a lot from backpacking to 5 star hotels so I am not a snob or expecting too much but this place could have been so much better. In summary there were a number of factors that ruined my friend and I's stay. First problem was the smell, bit like a sewage had erupted, next was the the unfriendly check in who just passed us back and forth as we stood like lemmings in check in, next was the rediculous location of the lift to get to your room, the room itself was then old fashioned, drab and basic. The TV was something off ebay from the 1990's! My Dad's arrangement for his birthday at the hotel had somehow been lost in translation and forgotten and they'd run out of Cava!! In Spain?? Bearing in mind this is all on the first day!
The breakfast queue extended out the door and round the corner and no, I was not there 5 minutes before close, the food was straight out a tin or carton, such a shame from a country that grows amazing fruit. They ran out of must things and nobody seemed to care, perhaps they were short of staff?
I really can't say many good things about this hotel, I wish I could, oh maybe one - It's on the beach? On our last day we wanted to enjoy a bit of sunbathing on the beach (as the pool was green and all the sunbeds were taken) but to get a beach towel you couldn't just go to the pool guy and get one, no you had to trek all the way back up to reception, get a token and pay a deposit, then go and see the pool guy!!
One last thing, be prepared to wear a shower cap if you want to swim in the spa pool!! It's a good look, but rules are rules!!
I wish they would just improve the basics to make the stay more enjoyable. It's not much to ask.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    226
    83
    33
    23
See reviews for
141
255
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

just spent a week at the Beatriz Palace & Spa, and would not like to repeat the visit. Actually, for the first time in a hotel I didn't meet anyone who had been there twice. For a start; we went to check in, told a porter would take our luggage so we waited and waited until the guy on reception told us briefly where to go and our luggage would follow. Anyone who has been to this hotel will know it's a maze. We went to where we had been directed, wandered around and then went back to the reception who then did find a porter who took us to a place we would never have found.
First impressions of the room (all sea view rooms there) looked good but on closer inspection saw that the carpet was very very dirty. The bedding was spotlessly clean as were the white bath towels and toletries wer renewed when required

The swimming pool (sea water) had a filtration problem the whole of the time we were here and the water was very dirty, just couldn't see the bottom of the pool. Someone told he reception about the pool and just had a reply 'will be noted' Finally someone came, had a look and for the first time since we had arrived (4 days) someone arrived to actually clean the pool. Every hotel we have been to have had pools cleaned every day. So bad in fact that in the middle of a hot day no one was actually in the pool. We understood that the pool had been like that before our arrival! Sun beds were being jet washed whilst we were there then put away, leaving filthy ones around the pool.

One of the comments were that the walls between bedrooms are thin, well they are very thin. A baby was crying one night and we felt it was in our room with us.

The chambermaids work well but they do need to use a hoover in the bedrooms more often. We found the beds very comforable.

One thing I would say to anyone going on that coast for a holiday BEWARE OF PICKPOCKETS AND GYPSIES ROBBING YOU!! We heard of many having scams and losing money actually out of wallets but wallets in pockets, it's not called the Costa del Crime for nothing.

The hotel is certainly not worthy of the 4 star it's rated.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an open balcony (if you must go to the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel its self is lovely, a very grand building and mostly very clean (although someone had been sick on the carpet near the 5th floor lift and it hadn't been properly cleaned up in the week we were there)
Beds very hard which I don't mind but the fact that they are covered in plastic made sleeping very uncomfortable, as did the foam pillows.
Apart from one man at reception we found the staff very unfriendly, they will help when asked but without a smile or any conversation. I asked about bus times and no-one could help even though the bus goes past the hotel regularly.
Bar prices are very high, 2 very small cola's 12 euros.
Breakfast very good although someone asked for bananas every day and never got them. The orange juice machine leaked all over the floor every day without being fixed as did the hot water urn.
Dinner - not too good, very same ish. A small bottle of water at dinner was 2 euros 30, neither tea or coffee available.
The only entertainment all week was on the Saturday when there was a balancing act on for approx half an hour. Not very entertaining!
We were disappointed that there weren't tea/coffee making facilities in our room until someone told us to ask at reception and they'd be provided, they were but you have to go back every day to have them re-stocked.
Safe is 2.30 euros a day. Mini bar provided but this also is very expensive.
We were very unlucky in that the weather was dreadful while we were there which didn't help but as other people have said this hotel is out of the way if you want night life of any kind.
Didn't use the spa so can't comment.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms very nice, ask for a balcony with railings rather than bricked up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southyorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just back from week stay at this hotel and really pleased we chose this one very smart hotel nice size rooms almost on the beach lovely breakfast too - the hotel is a bit of a trek into the centre fine for us as we like a walk but may not suit all and about 9 euros one way by taxi into the town no entertainment in the hotel which some may not like either. It was about an hour and half transfer time by coach but this was mainly due to having to drop off here there and everywhere. It does seem to be used by business travellers and hosts conferences etc which is sometimes a good sign . We had bad weather but still found lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently had a 9 day break here.Hotel in very clean,rooms all have sea view our first room had a closed in balcony so you could only see the sky when sat out!- reception staff very good and moved all our belongings whilst we were out for the day.Breakfast is chaos -the buffet constantly running out of things- no one monitoring the supply of cutlery,foods, drinks ect. Even when you ask for something it takes ages to arrive.Staff in the restaurant do not seem happy in their work at all. The hotel is the last hotel on fuengirola beach and is a good 25/30 min walk to the main restuarant area not 10/15 as quoted.The beach is lovely and safe although a little stoney. Would have liked to have seen tea and coffee in the rooms even pub b/b in the uk have tea & coffee these days! No concierge - had to take our own bags to and from reception when checking in and out of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to sit on your balcony and see the view ask for an open balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just come back from a business trip.
Have to say this is probably the best hotel i have stayed in for yonks.
I arrived at 11am, but my room wasnt going to be ready till 2.
So i asked if i could leave my luggage somewhere while i attended a meeting.
The front desk told me my room had been cleaned earlier and it was ready so why not just drop my luggage off their instead.
I came back around 3 and had the most wonderful buffet lunch for 20 euros, followed by an equally delicious dinner buffet for a further 20 euros.
The sea view from my room was beautiful and the beach looked amazing.

Will definately bring my family for a short break in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Clean and smart big rooms with very private balcony and uninterrupted view of sea. Excellent pool with plenty of sun beds, easy access to beach. Quite a walk into town, but very pleasant along promanade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: A7 km.207,junto al Castillo Sohail, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fuengirola
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel Fuengirola
Ipv Beatriz Palace Hotel And Spa
Beatriz Palace Fuengirola
Hotel Beatriz Fuengirola
Beatriz Palace Spa
Beatriz Palace Hotel
IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IPV Beatriz Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.