We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Gold in grand style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaramar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yaramar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yaramar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Fuengirola
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Christmas Gold in grand style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

An impressive hotel in a superb location on the promenade.
We are pensioners and booked this as it is adults only and as a Thomson's Gold hotel has a good entertainment programme. Had a 2 week stay including Christmas.
Fast and friendly check-in on arrival, we were in our room within minutes.
Everything about this hotel is on a grand scale with high ceilings and open spaces and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
Spotlessly clean and friendly efficient staff.
The restaurant is impressive with an excellent choice at breakfast. The evening meals a little disappointing but there is always something to choose whatever your taste. The sweet choice is very disappointing, limited selection of cakes and mousses smothered in cream although there is a good selection of fresh fruit.
Rooms are a reasonable size with tea & coffee making facilities which are topped up daily. Digital safe is free but surprisingly the fridge is not free [is free in sister hotel Florida Spa]
Twin beds with mattress toppers available on request.
Excellent TV with BBC1 BBC2 & ITV amongst a wide selection of channels so you can keep up to date with your favourite soaps!
Despite accommodating 2 persons the rooms only provide 1 comfortable chair for some reason.
Rooms at the front overlook the sea and get the early morning sun whilst those overlooking the pool have side sea view and get the evening sun.
The problem of noise from the entertainment carrying up to rooms due to hotel design is being addressed with a roof being put over the entertainment area. This work was in progress during our stay and should solve the problem.
Entertainment from Thomson Gold team was excellent.
Seating in communal areas is a little dated and needs refurbishing but does not detract rom the overall excellence of this hotel.
CHRISTMAS was brilliant, staff worked tirelessly to ensure we all had a good time and on Boxing day staff and guests were invited to a generous buffet at lunchtime where we all received a gift from Santa.
We will definitely be returning to this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Front gets early sun, pool view gets evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at Hotel Yaramar during the festive season. We are very happy to hear you had a great Christmas and a very happy Boxing Day with us. We hope to see you back at the Yaramar some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    207
    77
    30
    8
See reviews for
60
436
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday over the Christmas period at the Yaramar. All rooms overlook either the seafront or the swimming pool. The rooms over the pool receive the sun for most of the day and have a side-on seaview. Our room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly and put on a fantastic banquet meal on Christmas Day. It was the first time we had been away at this time of year, and we were pleasantly surprised by the good weather. We had sunshine every day, and many of the bars in Fuengirola remain open during the winter months. We would definately go back to the Yaramar next year if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if you wish to enjoy the views along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks a lot for writing a review about Hotel Yaramar and for choosing us as your holiday hotel. We are extremely happy to hear you really enjoyed your first Christmas away and liked our Christmas Gala Dinner. We hope you pay us another visit next year as it would be lovely to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

hotel design is such that the musical entertainment is heard clearly in rooms, preventing sleep. Guests then returned at anytime up to 2.30 am. making noise. The acoustic insulation is such that we could hear cases being unzipped. Our sleep time was regulated by hotel and guest activities and amounted to 4 to 5 hours per night despite having asked for a quiet room from both Thomsons and hotel reception. We were moved to a presumably quieter room, only for reception to book in overnight guests in the 2 rooms next to us. A child was running in the corridor at 11.30 pm./ tried mistakenly to enter our room and was audible for some time after. the next door guests then decided to move furniture about at 3.30 am. Although Thomson do not book youngsters in 4 star gold, the locals book in who they like. In our opinion, not 4 star.

Room Tip: high, away from lifts, at end of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent two weeks in the Yaramar at the beginning of November 2013.
We had a room overlooking the pool on the top floor - we couldn't have been happier, wonderful views and evening sunshine.
The room was clean and tidy but getting a little frayed around the edges....possibly in need of a little paint and mattress toppers.
The food in the restaurant just couldn't be faulted, plenty for even the fussiest to choose from.
The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful....always a greeting from them, even when busy.
The Thomson entertainment teams were in mid changeover and sometimes things weren't quite right, but that wasn't their fault as Thomson replaced four with two.....eventually a third team member did materialise just as we were leaving.
All in all we had a great holiday, aided a bit by wonderful weather, we definitely would return to the Yaramar.

Room Tip: High floors overlooking the pool get late afternoon sun - great in the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks a lot for your feedback and the high ratings. We are very pleased to hear you had an excellent restful holiday at the Yaramar and that you loved the fantastic views from your room and made the most of our excellent weather. It would be a real pleasure to see you back at the Yaramar, so we hope you pay us another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

we have just got back from the yaramar the room we had was a superior room & was beautiful & very well cleaned & attention to detail was great all the staff in the hotel were great the entertainment team made you feel really welcome & work very hard & should get more praise for what they do the restaraunt staff are also very good & polite the food at times could do with being warmer but apart from that no complaints the entertainment was good i did feel sorry for a comedian there who was funny but the few oaps in the audiance decided they did not want to smile never mind laugh all in all a very good holiday & well done to the entertainment team & thomson repsbrilliant thanks

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks a lot for all the praise and for writing this review. Our staff and the Thomson Team do work very hard and try to provide a high standard service, so as you can imagine we are really happy to see guests like you really appreciate it. We love seeing familiar faces coming back to the Yaramar, so we certainly hope to you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel and have spent some 16 weeks holiday here in the last two and a half years, however, on this visit we are sorry to say, we were not happy. In general the hotel does need updating, particularly the bathrooms. It is in the restaurant where economies are being made ... Vegetables in general are frozen varieties rather than fresh, even the fish does not appear or taste as fresh fish, preformed white fish served almost daily. Often items are only just warm where they really should be served hot. Replenishment of the food is also very slow and almost every visit we needed to have to ask for one or two items where there was not any. Sorry, but this is not good enough.
It seems too that there are not enough staff and the dear waitresses running around doing their best. (Job sharing in operation)
Entertainment also was not as good as it has have been ( come back Dolly, Joe, Jill & co)
We love Fuengirola, the Yaramar really was a great place to stay but think maybe this hotel should take a break like the Hotel Angela and have a full makeover.
We shall no doubt return when this happens. In our opinion, no longer a Thomsons Gold Hotel. Sorry ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was there again november for 2weeks all the staff where brillant food exellent as always and bar staff and hotel manger takes time to talk to guests reception are always very help full to so am looking forward going bsck next year from the 2 fisher men

Room Tip: Hihh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yaramar Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for being so loyal. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent time at the Yaramar once again and that you are really looking forward to coming back. It will be a real pleasure to us to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yaramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaramar Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 64 | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaramar Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Yaramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yaramar
Yaramar Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaramar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.