We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Itaca Fuengirola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Itaca Fuengirola to your Saves list
Hotel Itaca Fuengirola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Santa Amalia, 2, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Me and my partner wanted a few days away for the bank holiday weekend, we booked this through On the beach and once we booked it we were nervous, just because we have always gone through travel agencies.
When we got to the hotel everything looked nice and I was impressed with the pool area as its right outside reception. We were upgraded to another room because ours wasn't ready (which made me nervous) but when we got to our room we were really impressed with the room. It was spacious, well decorated, clean, it had a huge double bed, dressing table, a big wardrobe with a safe in it, a big plasma TV and we had a decent size balcony that overlooked the front of the hotel and there was also a mini fridge. The bathroom was very big too and had a shower as well as a large sink with a decent size mirror, the hotel had provided two fresh towels daily and the room would thoroughly cleaned everyday. (They also provide hairdryer in the room)
We had breakfast included in our package and again we were really impressed with the variety of food that was displayed, there was something for everybody (the scrambled eggs were the best) The staff were fantastic, very helpful and welcoming.
Around the hotel there is plenty to do, the beach is not even a five minute walk and we both spent a lot of time there as the beach was clean and well looked after, it wasn't too busy either (I can imagine in June-August it will be packed) the sea was very clear and the scenery around us was beautiful. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to eat and drink at too, we would highly recommend the restaurants Beefeater and Aroma, we had great meals from there.
There is plenty to do in the local area too, we just didn't have enough time however we did manage to go to Bioparc zoo, which was a 10 minute walk from the hotel and again we would recommend going there as it is really good and there are some beautiful animals. The local town is also a five minute walk away from the hotel and there are plenty of shops and supermarkets as well as their local train station.
Overall we were REALLY impressed with the holiday and will be going back next year for longer this time.

Room Tip: Any would be nice, you can have pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing Hotel ITACA Fuengirola and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinión about our facilities and services and we look forward to your return.
Best regards.

OUR HOTELS
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
34
102
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We did not get a room overlooking the pool, which would have been the quiet rooms, even though I requested such a room. What we were given was a room on two busy roads (intersection) across from the police station, all the noise occurred late, it was awful to sleep and I was exhausted by the end of the holiday. The bed was O K, but to say it was super comfortable as other reviewers said, not true.. Also the bedding was not too good, polyester blanket that seemed to me as if it was some sort of insulation, not too good. The breakfast was ok, I liked the fresh oranges and bread rolls. I liked Roberto on the front desk, but felt the blond desk clerk was full of self importance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your comment. We regret that some aspects were not entirely to his liking.
We are happy to welcome you in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel staff are very welcoming and everywhere was clean and tidy. We stayed bed & breakfast and the breakfast was fine plenty of choice served 8.00 to 10.30. Close to station , town centre , beach and the zoo etc.
Unfortunately we had room 102 which was directly over the kitchen/dining room and at 6.00 on 4 mornings were woken by students!!!! screaming going down stairs for their breakfast and chairs scraping along the marble floors below our beds at this time. No chance of changing rooms as full - of these b******y students.
Would return but would want a high level room overlooking pool or ground floor rooms across from main building next to pool (Nos starting 5)If they could not guarantee these rooms I would want written confirmation that no "Educational Tours" were to be present

Shame as I was looking forward to a relaxing week which I'm sure it would have been had it not been for these inconsiderate teenagers and their so called adult supervisors.
I am sure I would have given it an excellent mark in different circumstances

Room Tip: Not on 1st floor unless overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your comment. We regret that some aspects were not entirely to his liking.
We are happy to welcome you in the future.

Best Regards.

OUR HOTELS
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my girl friend decided to have a break before our two week holiday in June. To be honest I think we struck gold. After reading alot of the reviews we decided to book at Itaca as Claire knew the area and was a good base. Alot of people have named staff but I have to say every single member of staff was fantastic, customer service was 110% and this included the handy man who always had a smile and said hello. Breakfast and evening meals were limited there is no doubt BUT was always fresh and looked delicious and to be honest if there was more selection I probably would of played safe and eaten english food but instead I came to spain and ate spanish food which was amazing. We stayed in room 209 over looking the pool, it had a balcony which was a sun trap all day long, Beds were really comfy and a shame they wouldnt fit in our case to come home. Room had a TV and fitted wardrobe , nice sized bath and amazing shower, fresh towels and bedding and cleaned daily, one down side no tea making facility and no hair dryer (but this is the only down side and im been prodantic), hotel loby was immaculate and the pool its self was cleaned evey 2nd day and was kept immacultae, remember we went in April and although hot weather the pool was freeeeeeeeeeeeezing but very refreshing, a realistic 15 min walk from train station and 10 min stole to the beach , if you are going to go to Fuengirola book this hotel you will not be dissapointed unless you are a professional complainer, we made some great friends staff included and will defo be going back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, we asked and got one with a balcony over looking the pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Itaca Fuengirola and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinión about our facilities and services and we look forward to your return.
Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with my sister, mum and daughter, see review from bond babe, which is my sister's review and has already mentioned lots. Had a great stay only one rainy day but 5 very hot sunny days (they have had wettest few weeks for 65 years apparently). The pools was nice but freezing cold and there were always plenty of sunbeds,but this could be due to the time of year we were there. Had no complaints but the noise from the scraping of the wooded chairs in the dining room was awful on the tiled floor, we did bring this to the attention of the manager and suggested felt pads on the bottom of the chairs, so hopefully this will be addressed. The Hotel was spotless, beds were great so much so we struggled to get up of a morning! The food was good despite not a lot of choice for main meal but I could always find something to choose from and there was little choice for kids (I do have a very fussy 12 year old). The staff were so accommodating and friendly thou this more than made up, besides there were plenty of eating places on the doorstep and a great cake shop opposite! The staff in the dining area were always busy and I really felt for them when other guests complained endlessly. Bus stopped right outside hotel which went to Mabella for 3 euro. Big thank you to Roberto (sorry about my mum sticking her finger in your dimple- but I can see why she did!) lovely smiley Joshua and all the other staff who made our stay so pleasant. Missing you all already.....
Love from Debbie, Sarah and Maria xx

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony on the side of hotel away from road. We missed not having a balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:
We´d like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice coment. We do appreciate all the great comments about our facilities and services.
We Look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel may not many facilities but is central to the old town is on a great bus route and is small but friendly. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. I travelled with my sister mum and niece and we were put in an annexe room opposite the main hotel facing the pool area. We had a number of items that the maintenance team had to address but this was sorted with speed and efficiency. The beds were fabulously comfortable with crisp white linen as was the dining room with white tablecloths and napkins for evening meals and dressed also for breakfast. There wasn't any evening entertainment however for us this wasn't a problem. There were tvs to our bedrooms, although we never used these and the lobby area was comfortable where we played cards supplied by the hotel as was the umbrella on the one day it rained.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs bacon beans salad meat and cheeses fruit and yogurt with breads rolls croissants and pastries, plenty of choice, hot and tasty. Evening meals were 2 main choices, one veg meat pasta or potato. Soup for starters, loads of salads and rolls. For desert there were fruit yogurt and cakes. My only gripe was that there could have been more than one choice of veg.

The staff worked so hard especially the guys in the restaurant, constantly busy replenishing food, clearing away etc etc. Gabrielle, Roberto and Carey were a credit to this hotel, courteous helpful and knowledgable, addressing any concerns queries or issues we had. Joshua was great too serving us to our night caps.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for small and friendly. My one suggestion is that as there is only 1 pool maybe having this heated for the cooler months would be great.

Well done to the staff our holiday was great made all the more happy by the staff.

Tracey miller

Stayed 4-11 th April. Rain on day of arrival and 2 nd day and then each day getting hotter.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 501 and 502 overlooking the pool. Quiet and private with a small lobby area before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest:
We´d like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice coment. We do appreciate all the great comments about our breakfast, cleaning, room and staff.
We Look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Best regards.

NUESTROS HOTELES
ITACA JEREZ****/ ITACA SEVILLA***/ ITACA FUENGIROLA***
ITACA MALAGA***/ ITACA COLON CORDOBA**/ ITACA CONSUL DEL MAR VALENCIA****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Definitely budget, clean, good staff, OK location. We stayed in four of the pool side rooms, it rained for the first three days so had a lovely cold shower every time we walked out of the door. There were not enough quilts to go round and the first couple of nights were cold, so after the second night of asking, were given extra sheets, the rose wine ran out and was never re stocked.
Then the food.....every morning was sloppy scrambled egg tomatoes covered in random herbs and if we were lucky dried out beans, there was toast, jam, marmalade and croissants, so there was other stuff but the same every morning, the evening meal was always cold and a random mix including ham and egg soup,...left overs from breakfast in chicken stock. The soup each night was made from the veg left over from the night before, green bean soup, cauliflower soup and broccoli soup, you get the idea... The menu really needs some professional input, eg mash potatoes, (soup) pasta and seafood(we think) with bone and fat (unidentifiable)does not make for a good meal, The tuna ran out one night so was replaced with egg and beetroot, to go with the egg and beetroot already out, the next night was pizza with tuna on it, someone must have found the tuna..... All in all don't expect budget food it doesn't come close, its much less than budget. The hotel had four largish groups of students staying through the week, although their behaviour was excellent the noise was loud and we had to wait for a table a few times. Having said all that it was clean the waiting staff were excellent and our holiday was brill, just wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We were told balcony rooms cost extra, not advised when booking, I would suggest just booking bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva D, Dpto. Calidad ITC Hoteles at Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your comment. We regret that your stay was not satisfactory.
We are happy to welcome you in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Itaca Fuengirola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Itaca Fuengirola

Address: Avenida Santa Amalia, 2, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Itaca Fuengirola 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in central Fuengirola, just 150 metres from the beach. It has a large outdoor pool with loungers, a poolside bar and a Mediterranean buffet restaurant.The modern, air-conditioned rooms at the Itaca Fuengirola feature free Wi-Fi and a safe. Each one comes with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Some have a private balcony.The beaches of the Costa del Sol are a short walk from the Itaca, and there are many bars and restaurants in the surrounding streets. Fuengirola has a famous Zoo and Sohail Castle. Discounts are available at a local car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Itaca Fuengirola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Itaca Fuengirola Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Itaca Fuengirola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.