We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos La Jabega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos La Jabega to your Saves list
Apartamentos La Jabega
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo de Fuengirola | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spot on.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location, on the Paseo Maritimo is absolutely ideal with everything needed close at hand. Los Boliches, a small fishing village joined to Fuengirola meets every requirement with Supermarkets, bars and restaurants within sight. Also in sight is the sparkling Med right across the road and, depending on your room size you may land a beachfront balcony or one on the side road (which perhaps offers limited daily sunshine).
The apartment was sufficient without being spectacular but I dont suppose much time will be spent there so it does. Its clean and has usual amenities (even if a tad tired).
The foyer is bright and clean with attentive reception staff and the cafe/restaurant/bar area spills out onto the street for that relaxing sip of beer/people watch/lunch/enjoy the sun and med.
The price is just about right for the offer so depending on your budget I think that you will get what you pay for.
All in all an enjoyable winter break and I'll be back in summer (but to an apartment with a guaranteed beachfront balcony.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sun request a South facing apatment although they may be dependant on party size?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    130
    47
    22
    4
See reviews for
52
165
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well we are now fully booked for our 4th trip to La Jabega this June and must say we cant wait, the location for us as a couple is just spot on, Beach, Bars, Cafes, Restaurants, shops and Supermarkets all on your doorstep.
Train station less than 10 minutes walk, jump on and be in Torremolinos in minutes or stop on route in Benalmadena for a change of scenary. Yes the rooms are a little dated but hey you dont live in them, they are a place to lay your head and maybe sit on the balcony to watch the sun come up whilst having breakfast. we always try the next door cafe perhaps 3 times a week for a cooked breakfast , maybe an omellette or the Spanish tomatoes on toast with Olive Oil absolutely fab! or just a few minutes away spend half an hour with the local workers having ordered Churos and coffee in our broken attempts at Spanish.
The note about the noise travel are probably true as furniture moving can be noisy down below but dont let this put you off, never had an issue with the staff and the bar is always full and lively at night, had breakfast in Jabega own cafe once but found it more expensive than if you walk up the prom or the great cafe next virtually next door to the right from the seafront.
I could write all day and still have to say the location of La Jabega and general ambience make this a must revisit for us.
Oh I must mention the beach and beach bars, restaurants are all spot on, and always a good banter with the attendants collecting the monies for the beds in the morning, cant wait to say Hola!

Room Tip: Try top floor if you dont mind heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had read mixed reviews on this place but the location seemed just right for us so we chose to ignore them and see for ourselves and I’m glad we did!
Ok, the truth is that the whole place is a little outdated -but the reception area and bar are lovely quite art deco!
However it is clean with the comfiest bed (in self catering) that I have ever slept in!
There is a cooker with enough utensils for 2 people –why would you want any more?
The room service is fantastic every day without fail and the bed sheets changed on the Thursday – we were only staying for a week and the ladies were very friendly.
The bar is nice – didn’t try the food but the drinks were reasonable and Manolo (Manuel) and his team were lovely and very friendly.
The reception team were not particularly friendly but everything we asked they did for us no problems.
The location is great – just a nice walk to the marina (10 mins) and to the centre (old town) and very close to Los Bolchies where there are some great restaurants and bars.
All in all a great budget holiday – you get what you pay for – and anyone expecting more needs to get real! We will definitely be back next February!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

old...tired....only clean in public areas.....studios and apartments desperatley in need of an update! Staff not as friendly as they coulld be! too arrogant to be providing good customer service! Yes its on the front...but that is the only plus to this accomodation....really not sure that this is enough considering that it is expensive for self catering accomodation.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in January and something you must consider is the this hotel is noisy, you will hear people walking around their rooms moving furniture etc.

The rooms are studios with 2 comfortable single beds in the living room.

The singers? entertainment on the ground floor bar finishes at about 23.30hrs so you will have to be at least above the 5th floor to avoid this.

When I booked I requested a room on a high floor but was told that was not possible and ended up on the noisy 3rd floor.

These are hotel apartments so you have a fridge and 2 ring electric cooker, the cooker in our room would trip the electric breaker so obviously it was faulty.

These rooms are equipped with the very minimum of crockery 2 mugs 2 spoons 2 knives 2 forks etc.
1 ladle, cooking will not be very easy.

The kettle will have to be plugged in a wall socket in the living room and you will find a toaster, electric oven, and coffee maker on a trolley.

The rooms are cleaned or freshened up every day.

The TV has channels in English, BBC1 BBC2 SKY news and CNN, you can get a TV remote from reception with a 20 euro deposit.

The apartments are opposite the beach so the location is very good and they have English newspapers in reception for guests to read.

The very close local supermarket is Mercadona which I can highly recommend as an easy place to shop with very reasonable prices and the ladies on the checkouts will do their best to speak English, remember to take your carrier bags or buy their own reusable ones.

The hotel Angela next door is closed and being rebuilt at the moment and I expect that will be going on for another 3 months so expect some noise from the builders.

Oh and of course no swimming pool but the sea is across the road!

Room Tip: Do your best to get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are looking for a modern, trendy or fashionable hotel then keep looking- this is not for you. If however you are looking for a great location for the beach(step out of the hotel, cross the road and your on the beach) and only a 15 to 20 minute walk to the heart of the action then keep reading. The hotel presents itself well and is very clean- however the rooms are a bit of a throw back in time- and definitely need bringing upto date. Would this stop me going back- absolutely not. Would suit couples more than families as no kids club or kids entertainment. Staff were very friendly and we were given use of a courtesy room with clean towels provided for our late departure (which was at no extra cost).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I thought this was a great wee hotel. Location was fantastic right at the sea and the views were stunning from the large balconies. We booked a self catering room and it was ideal as we only use the fridge. Room was spacious and beds were very comfy. The fittings were a bit dated/worn looking but for the price (which was very cheap) you got more than you paid for!!
There is bar & restaurant downstairs with entertainment at night. They have gazebo type shelters and big heaters, it was lovely & cosy at night. I only ate breakfast here as the menu was not my thing. At night we went to an excellent italian along the road, can't remember the name but it was right on the sea front, turn left at front of the hotel maybe 5 min walk.
We only stayed 3 nights and I can honestly say I did not have any complaints. the weather was quite nice aswell which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos La Jabega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos La Jabega

Address: Paseo Maritimo de Fuengirola | Los Boliches, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos La Jabega 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos La Jabega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Jabega Fuengirola
Apartotel La Jabega Hotel Fuengirola
Apartamentos La Jabega Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos La Jabega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.