We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Shame About The Weather.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angela Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angela Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angela Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Fuengirola
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Shame About The Weather.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just back from a week in the Angela Hotel where we decided to book a last minute break to recharge the batteries after a hectic spell at work.

Hotel is in a great location right on the sea front with a lovely pedestrian friendly walkway for 3.5km in each direction (which we walked every day).

The hotel is well maintained and the bar & restaurant areas have been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. We found all the staff to be welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food was very good and although the entertainment was not to our taste it was certainly very popular with the other guests.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink within a very short distance of leaving the hotel and we would certainly return to their again.

As mentioned in previous reviews the clientèle are of the older end of the scale (we were the youngest in the hotel in our late 40's), but that was absolutely fine by us.

Beds were a little uncomfortable if we are being picky. There was a safe provided for free along with tea and coffee facilities and although there was no iron in the room all you need to do is ask the maid and she will get one for you.

Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms get the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and for choosing Hotel Angela as your holiday hotel. We are very pleased to hear you had a nice holiday and you liked our hotel. It would be great to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
140
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waterlooville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

There was two of us for a week ...10/05/2013.....17/05/2013.....
the comments reflect what we both thought..
food was very good and plentiful.
staff were very helpful and friendly.
with staff and food no worries on that score what so ever.
in our opinion,which goes against what a lot of other people say i'm afraid.....
it was'nt a 4 star hotel, top end of a 3 star....i'm glad i did'nt see it before the refurbishment,,it must have been horrific....
i think this is your standard holiday hotel kept going by being recommended by the likes of thompson...
whos rep by the way at the hotel ...kim...is very helpful and nice to chat to....the free trips they try to give away are a sales ploy beware of them.but thats not the reps fault,that lies with thompson.
.as i said standard hotel ,nothing special ...food and staff A1....things to do in hotel ..nil...entertament...average music,catering for the holiday trade,lounge gets very crowded as that is the only bar open.....
one thing i feel i must add,and no offence to the older generation,but this is a hotel for senior citzens not the younger ones or familys,it seems the people who allways came back were the senior citzens,and i will say good for them,but it was'nt our cup of tea

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear you found our hotel did not meet your expectations or the 4 stars rating. As for the facilities, after the refurbishment it has become one of the best hotels of the area and although we are very proud of it we can understand that it is imposible to suit all tastes. About the entertainment, in May when you stayed at our hotel we still only had our lounge area open as our entertainment room was not finished to be opened. However by June our entertainment room opened and there is where we offer different live shows every night. Also from June our new snack bar terrace was open at night with live singers and we also have some special themed nights like salsa for example. We are sorry we failed to deliver more entertainment during your stay and take note on your comments. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited Hotel Angela for a week and I loved it. It is a very modern hotel, nicely decorated, great layout etc. The pool is wonderful, albeit a bit cold at times! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was very nice, there is a good selection (we were half board).
Also the location is brilliant, it is across the road from the beach and it is close to shops. There are lots of things to do locally, we went to Benalmádena and Malaga during our stay. Fuengirola has good public transport too, we caught the bus and the train, and it is much cheaper than in England. I spoke to some guests who had been going for 30+ years and it is easy to see why. We had a very enjoyable stay, and I was very sad to leave at the end of the week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for the top marks, they both are very appreciated. We are delighted to hear you liked Hotel Angela a lot and that you got to explore the area. Please, don't feel sad about your holiday being over...you can start planning your next one as it would be amazing to see you back at the Angela soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Once again we have had a lovely holiday at Hotel Angela, this is our 5th time here and it still keeps its standards.
The pool and sun terrace are a big improvement with lots more sun beds and brollies and the dining room and lounge are really smart it all looks so much brighter.
As usual the food and cleanliness are really top class and it is lovely to see the same staff every year they all go out of their way to be so helpfull.
We love Fuengirola with its long promenade and lovely beaches with the old town and the new town combining to give the visitors all they need.
We are looking forward to visiting the Angela again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool get more sun are slightly quieter but you have to pay a supplement wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about Hotel Angela here on Trip Advisor and for being such a loyal guest. We are very happy to know you had another great holiday with us and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at The Angela end of April for 10 days, with my 82 year old mother. We have stayed here many times and my Mum used to go with my dad. As we all know the hotel is in a brilliant position, near to cafes, shops, beach etc.....It is suitably flat for those who struggle with uphill walking.
The hotel itself is very popular and caters well for its clients, in my opinion, the refurb had mixed responses from people we spoke to. The most significant improvement is the pool area, it is very impressive and now has a larger sitting area at the side of the pool, the downside is predictably those selfish people who are poised at the crack of dawn in order to block sun loungers with towels. It is very frustrating to see loungers blocked for hours on end when they can be used and probably vacated to allow other to use them. The hotel need to enforce towels being removed from loungers that are blocked for more than an hour.
The restaurant refurb is more efficient although the wood on the ceiling is a strange design!!!! The food is good but at times a little lukewarm. The choice at breakfast is excellent and the staff are efficient in removing used plates. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful and deliver their service with a warm sense of humour.
The entertainment room is much bigger and looked fine but as I don't attend for entertainment I had better not comment. My Mum enjoyed the bingo and stayed for some of the singing.
Now I get to the rooms. I paid for a sea view room which has a fabulous view and a larger balcony but the room itself was quite small. The room has had a lick of paint and a new leatherette headboard which comfy on the old head but no major refurb. I was very disappointed with the bathroom, yes it had a new shower tray but the actual shower had not been changed and nothing else replaced, it was badly designed with little space between the shower and sink to manoeuvre through.
Although I have raised some issues that I am not happy with I have to say that the Angela is still a good hotel and I await to see the completed refurbishment with the added spa section.
I would certainly recommend the Angela and will return. I wouldnt recommend booking direct with the hotel as it is considerably more expensive than with hotel only from Thomson, I paid approx £200 more and our cases were not taken to the room by staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We know your mother is a regular guest and very much appreciate her loyalty. Thank you for all your good comments about the refurbishment, we do believe the angela has improved its facilties. About our rooms, they where just retouched as other areas of the hotel needed the change more urgently and in only 4 months of renovation we have to prioritize. We took into consideration all our guests comments to decide which parts needed to be done first as well as practicality for our employees to have update areas to be able to give a better service. Our rooms cannot be changed in size as we have to work with the structure of the building, so in the future what we will do is to finish the redecoration. We currently don't have a date for the start of the next stage of the refurbishment to add the spa and new rooms but we also can't wait to see it all. We hope to see you and your mother back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just come back from the Angela. This was our 2nd time and we plan to make it an annual trip. We had booked direct with the hotel on a special for over55. We travelled by train from malaga and it was far better than transfers. Our room was lovely on the 7th floor. It was spotless and cleaned daily. Staff were all friendly and could not do enough for you. Food was fantastic with such a selection at breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff worked very hard in dining room to replenish food and the chef could be seen inspecting the food displays often. The new pool is beautiful and the lounge had been greatly improved. We were probably the youngest people at the hotel but we joined in and were made to feel welcome by the other guests some who had been visiting this hotel for the last 15 to 20 years.
We loved the hotel and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Sunny balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice review and for visiting Hotel Angela for the second time. We are delighted to hear you are planning to do an annual trip to the Angela, that would be amazing! Thank you for your trust and we hope your next visit comes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have just returned from the Angela following the refurbishment of the hotel.The dining room is very smart and the addition of the new Maitre,Angel makes the atmosphere very welcoming.Although the lounge area has been extended with new furniture etc it is only suitable if you can get seats near to the entertainment.Otherwise you are sat with your backs to the artistes at the back of the room listening to chatter,chatter,chatter.Not relaxing at all.The "best seats" are almost impossible to get as non residents claim them whilst the residents are at dinner or 2 people have early dinners and reserve the remaining 8 or 10 seats for the people in their group. I really do not think the hotel should allow this practice and perhaps the system as at the Florida hotel should be introduced. I much preferred the previous system of entertainment in the downstairs room in addition to the lounge. The downstairs room was indeed a miss and I wonder if it will ever open again
There was plenty of choice of food in the dining room but most times it was cold -what a shame!
The staff are very friendly except for a few exceptions and the hotel is very clean.
The quality of entertainment has deteriorated and most of it is provided for the sequence dancing and line dancing which suits the older clients.Where have the good entertainers of previous years gone ?
Ienjoyed my stay but not as much as in previous years.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sunny room.It is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLhoteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Angela Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest, we are sorry to read you felt we disapointed you compared to your previous stays. We understand the entertainment room is a very important part of our hotel and although when you were here it was still not finished to reopen, it has been open since June 2013. Upstairs in the lounge we could not give the same entertainment as downstairs and this is why you missed some acts you used to enjoy but now they are all back and some new also! We hope to see you back soon, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Hotel

Address: Calle Jaen 2 | Paseo Rey de Espana, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Green Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angela Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Angela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Angela Fuengirola
Angela Fuengirola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angela Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.