We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place for an early evening dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper

The Sandpiper
Paseo Maritimo, Fuengirola, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 527 restaurants in Fuengirola
Cuisines: Continental, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Holt Norfolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An ideal place for an early evening dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited this restuarant about 4/5 times during mid October 2012 always managing to arrive whilst the pre 6.30 pm menu was available.

For 8.50 euros it is almost impossible to beat on quality and choice. My rump steak was cooked to perfection and the lemon meringue pie was a truly home made one. The staff were very friendly with one of the waiters full of fun.

With a large Soberano Brandy and a large glass of wine the bill came to 20.55 euros - or around £17.50 - for the 2 of us. Definitely on our list to revisit when next in that area.

A must for anyone visiting that area but be warned - it gets very busy and deservedly so

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    57
    14
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This little restaurant is excellent. Food is lovely, never had a bad meal in it! Great value for money, especially the 3 course menu! Andy is just fabolous, he just makes the restaurant. He became very friendly with myself and family and it wouldn't have been the same without him! The staff were very friendly and adhered to our every command! I would recommend anyone to try this little place out, you won't be disappointed!!

On my last trip Andy informed us he was moving back to England, it won't be the same without you!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
“Very good value meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and my wife went to this restaurant, through reading reviews and recommendations from other people who have been.
Well what can I say, arrived they were full to the brim, then andy appeared from nowhere, I asked if there was any tables free he said "there was a table free, but if was outside, if we would be ok in the cold wind" ........cold wind what cold wind it had been 28'c during the day and was still really warm.
Well we both opted for the 3 course menu of the day, so much choice I had. Pâté and wife had prawn cocktail, then gammon and steak followed by lemon meringue and ice cream, bottle of emporaddo wine and coke for the wife and was only 33€,very reasonable, will def return when we come back.
Andy is the life and sole of the restaurant, and runs around all night long, doesn't stop always on the go, so friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullingar
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food , great value , great fun .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Found this on our first day and we were charmed by Andy . Thought we'd find the same value and quality elsewhere , but no . The owner , Vicky , I think , and her daughter were charming and very helpful . The desserts were home made , we even saw them being delivered each evening . Andy was brilliant with everyone , young and one .The food was presented vey well , it was delicious . Most importantly , we never felt rushed . I would highly recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Went twice in 2 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

First night had steak, massive portions and great value for money! The service was lovely and there was a lovely woman on who we had a lovely chat with. Then we decided to go in the morning also and all had a customised cooked breakfast, again not breaking the bank. The food was truly excellent and will definitely be going back on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandpiper also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.