We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmeras Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palmeras Hotel to your Saves list
Las Palmeras Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s / n, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value and a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just to reassure prospective guests at Las Palmeras that the hotel is much better than has been reported in other reviews. We (50s couple) stayed half board for 10 days from 1st Sept 2013. We paid 480 pounds for 10 days half board. The hotel is spotlessly clean, across the road from a great beach and about 400 metres from the railway and bus stations. We asked for a room not facing the London pub and we received this and had no issues with noise in the nights. The food was plentiful, well cooked and served hot. After 10 days the food did seem a little predictable but what can you expect for the price you are paying, we did not have any issues with the food. We did not see any muggers or prostitutes and there was a security officer on duty every night. We had a great holiday at an excellent price and we plan to book another holiday at Las Palmeras next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please, our aim is your satisfaction, all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Fuengirola. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    184
    202
    116
    90
See reviews for
148
220
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we stayed here 3rd to 10th sept. requested a quiet room beforehand and this is what we got. no problem. in fact there was no problem whatsoever with this hotel. staff, food, room, pool.... everything was good and i have no complaints. we came in at 5.30 one morning and it was a bit seedy with the working girls hanging around and their male cohorts looking like they wanted to mug you or summat! but thats because this hotel is so central to all the bars and night clubs. if you ignored them they didnt bother you. it didnt put us off and we would stay here again if we visit fuengirola another time.

Room Tip: room 990a in attic. brilliant. quiet and side sea views plus pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Hotel Las Palmeras, we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Costa del Sol. We have been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We hope to welcome you as soon as possible.
Thank you very much and king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed at Las Palmeras.

This time five years later I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the recent reviews but really it's fine!

Yes it looks a little dated...the corridors are a little dingy and the public areas would benefit from a different colour scheme but the important stuff this hotel does well. The rooms are spotless, cleaned thoroughly every day with clean towels every single day.

The breakfast was good...loads to choose from and staff working tirelessly to keep everything topped up despite greedy gannets filling plates of food to leave half of it untouched when they left their tables!!! Must test staff's patience at times! One thing I detest is when you stay at busy hotels and yore having to fish around for cutlery and plates that look nice and clean...not here - again they are spotlessly clean.

The pool is ok...easy to get sunbeds up to about 11am. Pool area is clean but the bar is expensive as other reviewers have said. Enjoyed watching aqua aerobics every day with the friendly entertainment guy!

We found the staff very efficient and helpful. They are polite and just because they might not be laughing and joking they are not rude. We greeted them with a 'Hola' and used 'gracias' and I found them to be nice, even those whose English is limited.

Anyway in summary this hotel is a nice central place to stay and is good value. It's not luxurious but it's comfortable and clean and I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Becky_Hull,
First of all we would like to thank you indeed for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your opinion. We really appreciate your comments, do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay an unforgettable experience.
We send our best greetings from heart,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just got back after eight nights at Las Palmeras with my partner, her sister and her parents. The hotel itself isn't fantastic and is a little dated, however the rooms were clean, we had fresh towels every day and although some of the reviews on here say otherwise we found the staff quite friendly and helpful. It is also in a great location with a variety of bars, shops and restaurants to keep everyone happy - one in particular called the Marina Bar Restaurant serves some of the best home-cooked meals that we have ever had on holiday.

The main thing that lets the hotel down is the food. Luckily we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and not all-inclusive, as drinks are not included and are quite pricey at the pool bar in comparison to other places. The cooked breakfast was not good at all as it was cold and definitely not the quality of a supposed 4 star hotel, however to us this was not important as there were many places that served decent breakfasts outside of the hotel.

The pool area is good but could do with a bit of renovation, however we had no problem getting sunbeds as they do not open the door until 10am.

Overall the hotel is decent value for money if you choose to use it as a base as we did. If you choose to go all-inclusive and not bring much money to spend you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms had the back of the hotel on the top floors are quiet and although they over-look a scrap car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We value the feedback tha you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prosprect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our gests.

Thanks again for the time took to write about your experience. With our very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night break at Las Palmeras Hotel.
First the positives.
The location is great, no expensive Taxis as its all on your door step.
The rooms are very clean and tidy, again no problems. Our room was on the front opposite all the bars etc which could be a problem for the elderly or young families, but not for a couple of guys like us.
Now the negatives.
As we were all inclusive I felt the staff looked down on us a little. The staff were very unfriendly and favoured the Spanish customers ie; serving then first when we were blatantly there first etc. Infact out of all the staff only two were nice and should get a mention. The small balding guy on the desk with the glasses was very helpful, and polite. Also the tall guy in the restaurant with the star tattoo on his elbow was a gent, funny and very helpful. These guys should get a pay rise!!!
The food was the same every night with little or no variation. The pool area was ok but the pool needs some serious updating.
All in all I would stay there again as the location was superb, however the staff need to be a bit friendlier to the non Spanish guests.
MR M

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Simon M,
First of all we would like to thank you indeed for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your opinion.
We really appreciate your comments, do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay an unforgettable experience
We send our best greetings from heart,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was are frist time booking on line. And our frist visit to Las Palmeras Hotel in costa de sol, the travel experience was worry free from start to finish no waiting around for transport. The hotel in our opinion is worth the 4*. The food was very good and plentiful, room service was great , bedlinen and towels were changed every day if wish. No complaints a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Lizdan2324,

First of all let us thank you for you kind comments about our Hotel and for sharing if will the rest of Tripadvisor's users.

We are really proud to know that our service and food have exceeded your expectations. We do our best to continue improving our facilities to satisty all the requerements of our clients.

In the name of all the team of the Hotel Las Palmeras, we hope to see you again and have the opportunity to offer you a delighful stay.

Greetings form heart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am one of those people that takes reviews with a pinch of salt. However, I am not someone who reads nasty reviews, books the hotel and then jumps onto Tripadvisor in order to moan about the same things.

I found that the food was adequate, and eating out was also possible as there are many local restaurants at every price point. When going all-inclusive, it is nice to venture beyond the confines of the gulag* and try something that involves spending some Euros. * The way that people are describing this place, I was expecting to be led into some sort of prison camp.

I became aware very quickly that there is a small amount of favouritism given to Spanish guests, but there are two possible reasons for this. 1) The hotel is located in Spain. 2) The majority of English people arrive at this hotel with the intention to consume alcohol until they bleed and cannot feel feelings anymore. I found out that the occasional 'gracias' and 'agua' went a long way to resolving Anglo-Spanish hostilities.

The pool did become a recreational area for seagulls after closing, but I cannot see how that could possibly be the fault of the hotel. The average seagull is able to fly, which means that they are able to bypass the hotel security and the swipe-card access door on the 5th floor. If guests didn't leave chunks of food all over the place, they would probably choose the front of the adjoining Burger King instead.

The lack of English TV channels was a real inconvenience, and at one stage I was considering attaching a 1m wide dish to the balcony and employing a team of parabolic experts to ensure that I didn't miss a single episode of Hollyoaks. However, I then remembered that I had set everything to record on Sky+HD at home, and I made do with going out and getting some culture.

A lot of people said that the general area is crawling with prostitutes. Much to my disappointment, I didn't see a single lady of ill-repute. There were however frequent incidents where I observed people drinking alcohol. I checked with the British Consulate to see if Shariah Law applies in Spain, and I can confirm that this practice is entirely legal.

Overall, I would say that the hotel provided great value for money. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to enjoy all-inclusive, BOTTLED drinks!!!!!

Room Tip: Try not to act like you are on a beano to Margate, and remember that the hotel is located outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Las Palmeras Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Badgerlemerre,

Thank you very much to share your experience at Las Palmeras Hotel with all de users of Tripadvisor’s website.

Your word motivates us to keep on working hard in order to reach the excellence at our services and facilities.

We take note about the negative comments, it's very important to let us know to improve our sevices. We hope to see you again next year between us.

Have a nice day!!!

Greetings from heart,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmeras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmeras Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo s / n, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palmeras Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Las Palmeras offers fully renovated, 400 double rooms, 10 junior suites and 6 rooms for wheelchairs. (The reservations of the Junior suite and adapted rooms are on request).Room Facilities:-Bathroom with hair dryer-Direct dial telephone-Satellite TV-Central air conditioning-Central heating-Safety deposit box (rental)-Mini-bar-TerraceAdditional Services:-Room service from 8 am till midnight.-Laundry service-Car rental-Exchange services-Excursions-Parking (rental – on availability)-Shopping gallery with boutique, Gift Shop-HairdresserOASIS Restaurant with capacity for 700 persons, offers you an International Buffet with breakfast, lunch and dinner with assorted hot and cold dishes.Also, we offer you our Salons Octògono, España and Colòn with a capacity between 80 and 400 persons.In our piano bar El Tren , you can enjoy a pleasant atmosphere of our great range of cocktails.Bar Terraza placed in the hall of the hotel.Coffee Shop situated in the “J” floor. Enjoy our entertainment programme every night..Bar Piscina.Hotel Las Palmeras, 4 star hotel on the Costa del Sol with tennis court, games room with billiards and ping-pong.Extensive entertainment program for adults (day and night all year durente) and Mini-club for children aged 5-12 years (May to October).Gym.Squash, horseriding and water sports (surfing, diving, water ski, fishing, jet skiing, sailing, etc) can be practised in the surroundings of the hotel.Golf: several courses in the area.Outdoor swimming pool for adults and paddling pool with amazing views of the marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Palmeras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Palmeras
Las Palmeras Fuengirola
Palmeras Hotel
Las Palmeras Hotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmeras Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.