We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsuitable for the disabled and families with under teens and especially toddlers/babies” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park to your Saves list
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Cadiz s/n | Camino antiguo del Ferrocarril S/N, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unsuitable for the disabled and families with under teens and especially toddlers/babies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed from 18/9/2011 til 02/10/2011. After reading reviews here I was dubious to say the least, but the holiday was a surprise gift and half-board so we went greatfully.
I will begin by saying sorry for the length of my review but I feel I wouldn't be doing justice to anyone if I didn't mention everything.
After a fractious flight and 1hr coach ride provided by the tour operator with a 6yr old, 18mth old and a 12wk old in tow we arrived and from the front it looked deceptively promising. In reception I was greeted by a receptionist who informed me that the room set aside for us wouldn't be suitable and directed us to another that was furnished with a double bed and set of bunks, there were no cots for either of our youngest that had been requested at the time of booking and one didn't arrive until the 3rd night, thankfully I had the foresight to pack a pop-up bassinet for our youngest baby but due to our toddlers rebel streak the bottom bunk was unsuitable and had to be strapped into the pushchair until the cot finally arrived. There was no locking device on the inside of the room door to stop chidren from opening the door. Our toddler managed to get shut out when the fire return on the door closed it and was unable to get back in, if I hadn't heard the cries I daren't think what could have happened. Also my heart was in my mouth every time our toddler went on the balcony for fear of falling off through or under the railings.
The room we had according to the fire-plans was identical in every way to every other in the hotel, it was cramped with so many beds, a wooden thing to put the suitcases on, 2 cabinets and a dressing table and with needing the pushchair in there too made it worse. Housekeeping wouldn't allow us to leave the suitcases under the beds and they wouln't fit in the wardrobes, we also were not provided with a 'Do not disturb' sign. In our room the maintainance was terrible, none of the lights were fitted straight, the fridge didn't cool properly and the air-conditioning was noisy, in the bathroom in our room, the toilet seat wasn't fitted securely and moved when you sat on it, The safety bar/hand rail on the wall over the bath was loose, the towel ring next to the shower was hanging off the wall and the shaving mirror was bent.
We could hear the entertainment with our balcony door shut, and every sound made in the rooms either side and above us and also from the corridor outside out door.
The Hotel has 2 adult pools, (1 outdoor) and a 40cm deep outdoor toddler pool none of which were heated, the sea was warmer.
The hotel had 90% spanish guests who were rude to say the least and on may occasions barged past the pushchair with the children in to get into the tiny lifts first and to get through the doorways, the staff were very unhelpfull, and even if they could they didn't speak english. The only ones who did or try were housekeeping, reception and the Maidtre'd in the dining room as for the rest they weren't shy about being rude.
Which brings me to the meals which were almost always near cold, practically the same thing 2 or 3 times each of the 2 weeks we were there, breakfasts never changed, The only thing other than breakfast that was remotely english was cottage pie and that didn't have gravy in it, They poorly signed so you were guessing what you were eating. No good if you're like my husband who is highly allergic to the mushrooms that were in every other dish being served. As for children our eldest struggled to find anything to eat during our entire stay and survived mainly on cereals in the morning and chips and cheese every night with a bread roll and yoghurt or icecream for pudding. For the whole hotel they only had 3 highchairs in the dining room. We did notice that many of the guests during our stay started eating out.
I struggled not to notice there were no baby changing facilities in any of the communal toilets, I had to battle with a standard width pushchair through most of the doorways and the ramps were very steep, awful for anyone in a wheelchair that should need to use them.
Lastly there was a poor attempt at daytime poolside emtertainment in the afternoon eg, dance lessons, darts lessons, table tennis lessons all in spanish, The evening entertainment which we didnt use because it was all done again only in spanish and aimed entirely at the ageing spanish guests eg. bingo and a magician are the ones I remember, and there was absolutely nothing for children.
All in all I have to say that we were chronicly disappointed with the hotel, staff and facilities and would advise everyone particularly if english to avoid it, there was even a write up in the local free paper during our first week about how poorly the hotel conducted its buisness with the english. While out one day i spoke to a rep from another hotel and was told that it was no longer their company policy to recommend this hotel and couldn't understand why we were there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    133
    165
    68
    56
See reviews for
141
190
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visit this hotel every year over the Xmas/New Year period as well as at other times throughout the year and we have always enjoyed our stay. We have found it clean, comfortable and friendly. Excellent location if you want to be away from the busy centre of the resort, train station a couple of minutes walk away, beach just across the main road. Recently the hotel has added an indoor pool and health & beauty centre which is a welcome addition. Contrary to other reviews we have never had a problem with any of the food here, apart from the New years eve which has been the same menu in all the years we have been going.There is always a selection of cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurt as well as cooked breakfast and dinners consist of cold buffet meats/salads as well as 3 meat and always a fish main and also potatoes(not always chips) veg and pasta.We have often commented during our stay when we hear people complain that we wonder just how much more they expect for the money. One point to stress , if you do not want to mingle with Spanish people then dont go there as they do go there a lot, personally for us this is good as we dont want to be with Brits all holiday, if we did we would stay in Britain.

Room Tip: The best rooms are overlooking the pool above the dining room side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A clean and comfortable hotel. I bit past its sell by date. Food not great and its a little away from the night life to the east around a 20 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

After staying here for 2wks half board i dont think i would come back if i was honest.Although the hotel has friendly helpfull staff the food is poor to say its a 4* hotel,it was often cold,looked horrible and tasteless,we spent more money on eating out than anything else!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Fuengirola Park hotel was clean and tidy and room was serviced every day. Breafast was busy for the fist few days (16-19 September). Food and 1/2 board is ok. I wouldnt want to stay 1/2 board for more than a week. Food is help yourself form a buffet counter. We did eat out one night. The hotel is easy to find being a 3 minute walk from the train station. Head along the road south paralel with the raid track, past the super market and the hotel entrance is straight in front. We arrived at 10.00 PM and missed the first evening meal. The hotel will do you a cold buffet served at 10.30.
Beach is a 5 minute walk. The room had a mini bar ( empty ). There is a super market nearby, so I bought some drinks and filed it up. There is safe in the room, you need to pay for this, ask at reception for the key. Rooms have aircon and tv with BBC and channel 5. No SKY.
Finally, make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor or above on the south wing at the bar/entertainment goes on the 12.30 at night.
To sum up a good hotel, for a week in the sun.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the south wing unless you are on the 3rd floor or above, see other reviews abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My Wife and i came back from the Fuengirola Park 3 days ago. After reading some of the reviews on here I was apprehensive, I needn't have worried. Arriving at Midnight after a delayed flight the receptionist greeted us by name and said they had kept a meal for us. They made us feel very welcome. I found all the staff were very friendly and helpful especially when you tried to say something in Spanish, even just Hola had that effect. I had noticed that through the week there were a few English people that were quite rude to the staff. Perhaps that is the problem! The food was good with plenty of variety both at Breakfast and Dinner.

The rooms were cleaned every day along with new towels in the bathroom. I agree on the lower floors you can hear the effect of toilets flushing from the rooms above (tip: ask for a room on a higher floor). This was the only problem I had with this hotel.

The pool area was extensive with the outside pool and sunloungers, you could then walk into the lower garden to the indoor pool. All was clean and the outdoor pool was cleaned every morning.

The train station is 5 minutes walk away past the supermarket and Rovers Return. The fare was 1.40 single or 2 euros return. The train is clean, regular and quiet.

The Fuengirola Park is actually in Torreblanca a short train ride to Fuengirola itself. It's two minutes to the beach, across a main road. The beach is clean and really nice. If you walk along the beach to Fuengirola, about an hours walk, you will see the sand sculptures, amazing! Fuengirola is a hive of activity with busy bars and restaurants and a good range of shops.

Benalmedina and Torremelinos are easily reached by bus or train.

In short a very pleaseant hotel that I would definately stay at again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the hotel avoid the noise from the entertainment which is usually over by 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well this time we stayed at this hotel for 4 days (no kids with us) lol again found this hotel not bad ,foodwas good but found sometimes a bit cold . Entertainment all for the Spanish but then again we went into Los boliches drinking ,great bar called Alfies just behind the yaramar which I just might try there nx long weekend I get. Nice walk again along the front and if you want to try some good old English cooking try the Hole in the wall again we called in to say hello and could not resist having one of the homemade pies . Also must mention the rovers this is a good bar food on allday long and plenty of tv to watch and pool table.So here's to the next trip thinking about Christmas would like to know what's it like over that period anybody got any reviews along that time of the year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park

Address: Ctra Cadiz s/n | Camino antiguo del Ferrocarril S/N, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Fuengirola
Fuengirola Park Hotel
Hotel Fuengirola Park
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.