We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad apartment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Nevada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fuengirola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Nevada
Save
You added Hostal Nevada to your Saves list
Calle Santa Gema 1,, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Fuengirola B&B and Inns
Avesta, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bad apartment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We are used to stay at hostels with basic standards. The big negative thing about this hostal was that our private bathroom in the bottom apartment in the second building smelled really bad (probably mould and urine) and was very poorly cleaned when we arrived. You did not want to go in there unless you really had to. The apartment also was very dark with poor lighting. Luckily we only stayed a few nights. Because of this our rating is 1 when it comes to accomodation and cleanliness. However the atmosphere in the reception area is very friendly and the breakfast was a good deal and this makes our rating 2/5 (perhaps there is other better rooms in the hostal).

Room Tip: Do not live in the "apartment" with private bathroom and kitchenette on the bottom in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Me and my son at 11 yrs spent the two first weeks of Juli at Hostal Nevada. Very safe, quiet place for family holiday. Everything worked just perfect: we had double room with kitchen and balcony and bathroom. There was all we needed, even safetybox and free wi-fi.
Location is just perfect, with 10 minutes walk to LOVELY beach. 5 minutes to Los Boliches trainstation, 2 mins to a busstop! Very friendly personnel :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed for ten nights in the Atico, the beds wern't great and could do with better matress's. There is a microwave but no oven. No big deal as why eat in when there are all the great eating places just over the road!
Friendly staff and all equipment worked ok. Staff left us to our own devices which suited us. Washing machine available which helps with travelling light.
Hostal close to all local bars and beach.
Don't expect 5star accomodation as it just about suits the budget traveller. We are going to book again as it's clean, cheap and staff are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevadahostal, Propietario at Hostal Nevada, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Google Translation
Gracias por su critica ; Hostal Nevada , en C. Santa Gema 1, Los Boliches centro , en Fuengirola dispone de diferentes tipos de alojamiento; todas las habitaciones dobles tienen nevera, aire acondicionado, baño privado, TV, caja fuerte y algunas con terraza/ balcon / micro-ondas / cocina. Cafe y te gratis por las mañanas , wi-fi gratuito. Tambien puede Ud preguntar por apartamento de alquiler mas grande con cocina, baño , aire acond, balcon.... Disponemos paginas web donde se puede ver las fotos y detalles. El personal habla tembien Ingles y Finlandes. Estamos muy cerca de la playa , tiendas , restaurantes , estacion de Renfe etc. Bienvenidos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

"Hostal Nevada, Fuengirola"
User Rating: 4.9

Reviewer: Jannik C. of Munkebo, Denmark
Reviewed: November 12, 2008 (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled: October 2008 Type: Couple

1 2 3 4 5

Value for Money
Rooms
Cleanliness
Location
Security & Safety
Service & Staff
Food / Dining



Comments (Dansk-Danish):
Simple and cheap, nice and clean. Sympatic staff.
We has been there tree times and we will stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Overall very good experience , we had kitchen , air cond. bathroom tv , breakfast .... Near to train stop beach and pubs ... staff was nice and we had also free internet connection !

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Problems started as soon as I got there. I had paid 25% of my stay in advance by credit card. However, on arrival they refused to let me check in without paying the remaining 75% in CASH!! (quote: 'we do not want to pay more credit card fees'). So at 10.30pm I had to leave and go looking for a cash machine.

Room was okay but humid and towels were constantly wet. Cleaning once a week which is okay, but there's nowhere to put your rubbish in the meantime.

Service: if you don't mind being sighed at by the 2 older Finnish ladies on reception, you be'll okay. But generally they don't like being asked questions and treat people like a nuisance.

Kitchen on the terrace has no oven. It's very basic but functional.

The biggest problem, however, is the noise. The walls and ceiling are paper thin. You hear everything: televisions, furniture, even activities between the sheets. 3AM was the earliest I could get to sleep but generally 4.30AM was the time that the place finally quietened down. Probably because the staff lock up and go home at 11PM and leave the guests to behave as they wish throughout the night.

I was never as happy to check out of anywhere as I was when leaving hostal Nevada. After leaving hundreds of euros there, the staff didn't even raise their heads to say goodbye. They had my money, so they were happy with that.

It's a sterile environment, lacking personality from the Finns. Just a smile would go a long way.

So if you are looking for a miserable greedy environment with unbearable noise, check in here. Otherwise, AVOID AVOID AVOID.

  • Liked — good Wi-Fi access
  • Disliked — Noise and unfriendliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Simple, clean, not long on amenities, but for 30 euros you get a decent place to stay.

Wifi available, although they said it only worked in the lobby, got reception in my room too.

No breakfast, but there is a coffee shop on the corner and a couple more towards the beach that fill the bill. Also near a supermarket.

I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nevada

Address: Calle Santa Gema 1,, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Fuengirola
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hostal Nevada Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Nevada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.