We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rio

El Rio
Calle Manuel Fernandez, 1, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
+34 952664311
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 628 Restaurants in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
wakefield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Super Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Took my father here to celebrate his 94th birthday and Antonio and his staff proved to be the consumate hosts. The service was attentive and the meal was most enjoyable. At last I had the opportunity to try the roast duck and it was excellent.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we went aother two times on our brief visit to Fuengirola.

Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    36
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“what an enjoyable end of a glorious day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a fab place to eat in los boliches. We both had the fillet steak (as we both say you can tell what the restaurants food is like just by ordering this, if they have a good quality fillet and cook it as medium rare and hot plates and nice veg you are onto a winner) and we we're. Nice bottle of red and then a good coffee and two brandy's. The staff are very friendly and professional, and when we went to pay the owner came and topped our brandy's up, nice gesture but I was worried about finding the hotel after two large ones (only joking). I will be calling in again when we visit the area in May, can't wait..........by the way BILL came to €50 ? For us both hubby left a generous tip.........

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Greeted by owner on arrival-food was excellent-had set menu with good choices. After meal had a free glass of port.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Found this through tripadvisor and although it's location was not easy to find it is worth the effort.For future reference you walk along the front and take the first left after the statue with the huge peseta. Follow road straight up and it's next to the irish bar on the corner. Cannot fault the place - food wonderful - staff very pleasant and helpful - ambiance - very traditional and relaxing. The El Rio is excellent value for money - their set menu is very good. We ate here three times during our stay and it would have been four but they close on a Sunday. Loved this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“LOVELY YET AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Super meals or if you want a snack super tapas, not to mention the wine. Very sensible prices. Ver helpful staff. Have frequented this place for years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.