We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Molinon - CLOSED

El Molinon
Calle Burgos, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
+34 952471442
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Very enjoyable night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We recently enjoyed an excellent evening at El Molinon. Some friends had recommended the restaurant for a while and we eventually managed to get around to visiting. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the service very friendly and efficient and the food was really excellent and included perfectly cooked fresh veggies. Their menu includes a very good house wine which made it very good value. We will be back and we highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My family and I have been going to El Molinon for several years now for the quality and value of the meals.3 courses and wine for 15.50When you can choose from main courses such as Newzealand lamb,pork fillet or fresh salmon among others,there is a lot to like from this restaurant.Throw in a dessert menu with a choice of 16 and staff who work hard and are friendly,you have yourself a very nice restaurant.The previous reviewers comments seem a bit harsh,perhaps there had been a staffing problem that day,as sometimes can happen.Personally,after approximately 20 visits to this restaurant,we have never had a bad meal.Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I had high hopes for this restaurant given the previous reviews and actively sought it out during our recent stay in Fuengirola as it wasn't too far from the hotel we were staying in. I am not sure if it has changed hands since the last reviews but the food we were served was very disappointing and I can only equate it to a poorly cooked school dinnner.
First impressions were very good with the decor and style and we were the first customers through the door on the evening we visited. The restaurant got a little busier but I counted no more than 15 people whilst we were there. We were given the set menu to choose from which is 15.50 Euros for 3 courses including a half carafe of wine. I chose the medium dry white which was pretty grim given how cheaply you can buy a bottle of wine over there. I had better wine from the supermarket at under 3 Euros a bottle.
The 'special' breaded mushrooms with aioli which I chose as a starter were tasteless and the mushrooms were hard and served with a blob of mayonnaise and an odd tasting bit of salad. My daughter couldn't eat her tuna croquettes. Unfortunately the main course was not much better having opted for the pork medallions in a green peppercorn sauce which was more like gravy with a lot of peppercorns thrown in. It was served with flaccid chips and a bowl of peas, carrots and I think the other item was cabbage. My daughter opted for the plain grilled chicken breast which did get eaten but didn't look particularly appetising on the plate either. The desserts were not home made and it was obvious that the Belgian truffle chocolate cake had come straight out of a box, however was edible and the strawberry and vanilla ice cream was pretty tasteless, more like a sorbet than ice cream.
The service wasn't that good, no questions asked about the untouched plate of tuna croquettes and a dropped fork although it was quickly picked up a replacement never materialized. Overall a very disappointing meal and whilst it may appear good value for money the food certainly didn't live up to expectations.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroughton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Friday night at El Molinon with live music from Frankie. Fantastic value, good food, dancing, laughter. Loved it, nothing like it in Swindon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This family run restaurant really is simply the best. Whether you want a quiet evening, a party, even, very sadly in our case, a special after funeral occasion, Franco and his team are great. The service is very caring and attentive, the food second to none.
We have tried many restaurants in this area and nothing touches them for value, quality food and service that always makes you feel special.

Andy and Jackie

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Molinon also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Molinon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.