We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cazorla

Save Saved
You added Parador de Cazorla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Cazorla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sierra de Cazorla s/n, 23470 Cazorla, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cazorla
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Cazorla was our 3rd stop on the Andalucia Legacyll route earlier this month, (April 2013)
Everything was excellent.
I could not find fault with the staff, rooms, both bedroom and public rooms, food and views.
Nice walks with maps supplied by reception and a lovely local, and therefore inexpensive, chilled white served by Cesar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you look for quietness, silence and wildness there are no many better places to spend a weekend or three days in Spain. This parador is located in the heart ot National Spanish Park of Cazorla, former residence of spain dictator during his huntings of wild animals. You will have to drive 25 kms from Cazorla that means 45 minutes through a spectacular lansdape. Road is ok, but if you find a bus you must stop, they will not, they think the road is theirs.
As distances to civilization are quite long, you have to be sure of what you are going to do or expect from this place. I mean, at least you want to spend your time in the car, you have to plan your atcivities and life around parador.
If you like wildness and walking, no problem. If you just want to rest and read a book, no problem.
The hotel do not have many rooms, which to me is fine, not many guests, staff is more than friendly and pleasant. Rooms are big enough, furniture is mountain town style (maybe a refurbishment is needed). It has a terrace with views that will take your breath away. Also a pool for summer. A beatiful living room to have a chat or envoy reading.
There is wifi in lobby and living room, in my room wifi power was not enough. No mobile net but movistar (i orange, so no disturbing calls from job during holidays)
We saw deers and squirrels, there are a few of routes starting from parador, if you ask at the counter the will advise you properly
Meal was fine, not superb, but fine. If you plan to have a long walking excursion they can prepare for you a snack pack with sandwiches, fruits and drinks.
Due to location, half or full board is highly recommendable. At least two days
We will come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What's lovely place to stay. In the heart of forestry and mountains with fantastic views and walks on the doorstep. This place offers a welcome that beats all the other Paradors we have tried. Inside is warm, with a log fire in the lounge and comfortable sofas. The bar is relaxed and the dining room offers fine dining with emphasis on local foods using the best ingredients. A great place to try out the dishes you wondered about. It is about 20 miles from the nearest restaurant or bar, but this does not matter as the prices here are not high but the quality. Wake up to the sun beaming in the window over the mountain tops (and this was November!). Inside reminded me of an upmarket hunting lodge and while the outside of the building may not be the greatest architecture, the setting more than makes up for this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Cazorla was the first stop on the 3 night "Route of the Nazrids" package we had booked. Afte reaching Cazorla town we had a further 25 kms to drive through the mountains to reach the Parador. Unfortunately, we were driving through rain and cloud and so do not have the opportunity to fully appreciate the spectacular scenery ( although we had blue skies on our return and the views really are spectacular. The Parador itself is an old hunting lodge built, I an guessing around the 1920s and Franco himself allegedly once stayed here. The building itself could not be described as beautiful but the interior public areas were warm, spacious and welcoming with a roaring log fire in the big fireplace.

We had heard tell of poor service standards in some Paradors but our welcome was extremely warm and the staff to a man, wee very efficient and friendly which made for a very relaxing stay. We had booked half board and so ate in the restaurant. The menu was varied and interesting with lots ofregional dishes clearly marked on the menu. We opted for a starters of Rabbit Stew and Artichokes & Jambon with caramelised leeks followed by wild boar in red wine and fillet of venison. All the courses were well cooked and quite original ( as indeed they would be to us as it was "cocina regional"!). The wine list was small but the bottle of red we tried was excellent value.

Our room was spacious but not overtly luxurious, with great views over the valley to the east (the sun rising over the mountains was amazing. A big bath with loads of hot water and twin beds which were a little hard but apparently par for the course with Paradors.

There are some fantastic walks directly from the property. We were only there for one day and so took a short walk of 5 kms to Puerto del Tejo up through the forest to the top of the ridge to a viewpoint offering superb views across the valley below.

In all, we wished we could have stayed longer. Next stop, Ubeda...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

At the end of a mountain Road is this Parador. The scenery is beautiful, the scent of the pines amazing and the silence is a bliss. The staff is friendly and helpful. A lot of wild life just outside the doors. The restaurant is however not that exiting, they try. No places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked a night at this hotel for us thinking that we could break our journey from Valencia to Granada in Cazorla. However on arrival in Cazorla we discovered that the Parador was another 25Kms, along windy mounatin roads! Sadly we arrived in the dark, and were therefore unaware of the stunning scenery that surrounds the Parador. After a hot (no aircon) night's sleep we awoke to be greated by a fantastic view of tree covered mountains, past the cliff top pool.

Not an ideal place for a quick overnight stop, but definately somewhere worth spending a few leisurely days enjoying the mountains of the national park.

Rooms are large, with good sized ensuite bathrooms. As mentioned before there is no airconditioning, so expect a hot night if visiting in high summer. You are isolated so are mostly restricted to eating and drinking at the hotel, unless you fancy a long windy drive to and from the nearest town. Cazorla itself, has a lovely feel, and a good selection of restaurants and bars, and is worth a wander around.

Would stay here again, but ensure we arrived in good time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After just getting back from touring around Andalusia I just wanted to talk especialy about this parador. Set 5000 feet up in the mountains in a national park it is a modern building overlooking superb views .A fantastic area. Peaceful and with perfect service in all aspects and the food in the restaurant was the best of 5 paradors that we visited. Local produce and very well cooked.

A good swimming pool and great relaxation . The room was the weakest in that very simply furnished with no AC , only a noisy fast ceiling fan with no speed adjustment . Hard mattress , but then that was the case for all the paradors visited. No problem if you're young but we are not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Cazorla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cazorla

Address: Sierra de Cazorla s/n, 23470 Cazorla, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Cazorla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cazorla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Cazorla 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Cazorla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cazorla Jaen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cazorla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.