We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad it was open!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Escribano

Restaurante El Escribano
Plaza los Escribanos, 11, 29200 Antequera, Spain
+34 952706533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 restaurants in Antequera
Price range: $16 - $59
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nueva Direccion.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So glad it was open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After having walked up the hill in the heat of the day, we were very glad to see that the restaurant was still open that late in the afternoon. The location was worth the long walk as was the food. The porra antequera was wonderful. We also had the salmon and pork dish between the 3 of us and they were all delicious. We didn't need to eat that evening since we were so full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    44
    24
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“style over substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful setting and fabulous service. Food somewhat pretentious and a little expensive for this part of Spain...you obviously pay for the view. Main of bacalao came with hot aioli which was very strange. Pork kebab was delicious but its not difficult to grill a bit of meat. Sqiggles of sauce on the plate are pretty but useless for actually seasoning your food. Would return but would order carefully.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

had meal on a Sunday at 5pm. Served by Adrian who was very helpful and friendly, and keen to practice his english. We went with his recomendations and had a wonderful meal. We hope to return before heading back home to Scotland.!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we found in Antequera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although they have a menu written in English there is little English spoken, so take your phrase book and enjoy. We paid 40 Euros for one starter, 2 mid-range mains, a bottle of house red, water and two coffees. The food was delicious. Would thoroughly recommend the grilled pork on a skewer. So good we went twice!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great position and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Situated across the square from the important Colegiata de Santa Maria high up in Antequera this is a welcoming lunchtime spot. We ate upstairs surrounded by Spaniards, having been told that the food there was better. From what I saw downstairs this was true, and it wasn't too expensive. In warmer weather it is possible to eat outside, where the views could be appreciated. We just enjoyed the laughter and noise of large family parties inside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Escribano also viewed

 
Antequera, Costa del Sol
Antequera, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante El Escribano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante El Escribano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.