We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable as a four star hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antequera Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antequera Golf to your Saves list
Hotel Antequera Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Santa Catalina s/n, 29200 Antequera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unremarkable as a four star hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of a Page and Moy tour. Our room was fine, well appointed and clean. The general appearance of the building was of four star standard but looked a little tired. The biggest disappointment was the buffet dinner. It soon became rather boring and we craved fresh vegetables and fruit. The staff were very amenable but 'rushed off their feet'. This hotel, to merit a 'four star rating', needs a significant uplift and a rethink about catering. The location is good for seeing the sights of Andalusia and Antequera is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    57
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
79
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunsyre, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Antequera Golf for six nights half board as part of a package visiting Cordoba, Granada & Sevilla. Our twin room on the first floor was a decent size, and I was relieved not to be on the top floor as those rooms looked quite pokey in the photos I had seen. The whole place was spotless, so the housekeeping is obviously excellent. The location of our room was very quiet at night; no doors banging or lift noise or terrace noise, or traffic or scooters, but also no view, no balcony etc. There was a large quantity of food available and good variety, buffet style, but it was not by any stretch of the imagination four star gastronomy. It was really very disappointing to have mainly tinned fruit and overcooked frozen veg available. Reception staff were friendly and most spoke very good English, but they didn't have local bus timetables readily available to hand, again seeming a bit less than four stars to me. The pool furniture is at the end of its lifespan I would say, and the hand rail into the pool is broken, so don't try to lean on it!We liked going to the spa but at 6 Euros per person per hour there's a limit to how much time you can spend in there. The games room is a myth as far as I could see.
I really enjoyed my holiday and don't mean to be complaining about the hotel; I'm just trying to describe it accurately to help others manage their expectations.

Room Tip: Room 111, 113 and similar are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICKLINGHALL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and returned in September expecting to repeat the pleasure we experienced on the first holiday. Unfortunately we had a week of very bad wet severe weather and were placed in an inferior room compared to the last visit.
Even taking all this into account we both enjoyed the stay at the hotel and the tour with Page and Moy very much. The rooms are looking slightly tired but still acceptable, the staff are wonderful, first class, the food was just as good as 6 years ago, all together we were very satisfied with the hotel, it is a credit to the management taking the bad times Spain is in. Just to add Page and Moy were excellent, We have nothing but full praise for Frank the guide, marvellous.
To finalise Antequera itself is a very good base with some wonderful churches, especially the Collegiate, do not miss if visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Antequera Golf is a big hotel with the usual range of facilities. Although it's four star the rooms feel a bit basic and tired. The entrance foyer is massive with a bar off the side that does a good range of food. The swimming pool is a reasonable size in a central courtyard. If you like the feel of a big hotel with formulaic rooms this place will suit you down to the ground. Breakfast is very impressive with the best range of food we had in our tour of Andalucia. The staff were excellent - helping us find our way out of Antequera when rain threatened to block us in. If there was a 'good' score I'd give that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just completed a week in this hotel as part of an organised package. Room and bed very comfortable. We were on floor 3 and found, when attempting to use the stairs that furniture had been stored on the landing. My husband reported this to reception and it was remedied immediately. Front line staff were excellent. Pool was really good - not over chlorinated. Am in agreement with other reviewers with temperature of food - but that is often the case in Spain and was not a huge issue. The variety was very good. A little far from town centre to do anything different in the evenings but as dinner was at 8pm this was not a big concern.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool (above ground level) might be pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel while on a super Page and Moy holiday. We were extremely impressed overall. Our room was large, and had a balcony overlooking the pool and terrace. The bathroom was excellent. Every member of staff, without exception, was really helpful and they all went the extra mile to ensure the comfort of the guests. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The centre of Antequera was a 20 minute stroll away.
Breakfast consisted of an enormous buffet - you would have had to be really hard to please not to be impressed with this array! Likewise, dinner was also served buffet-style. We ate early by Spanish standards, at between 7.30 and 8pm - maybe that is the reason why the food never seemed quite hot enough! There was certainly plenty of choice of both hot and cold dishes.
I have only 2 points to make of a vaguely critical nature:
1 the food at dinner could certainly have been warmer;
2 the mattresses were very hard! My husband found two blankets in the wardrobe, and placed these under his bottom sheet - this helped a lot!
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent stay, super-friendly staff, voluminous buffet style breakfast, very good value for money, reasonable bar prices, rooms are quiet and very nicely done. We asked to change to upper floor which was granted immediately by very helpful reception desk personnel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antequera Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antequera Golf

Address: Urbanizacion Santa Catalina s/n, 29200 Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antequera Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antequera Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antequera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antequera Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.