We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra del Rinconcillo | esq. C/ Hermanos Portilla, 11204 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Finding the hotel was easy enough once we managed to decipher the address. The hotel shares the building with NH Hotels and while NH has underground parking in the building, the AC does not, so keep your eyes open for signs - the AC parking is just a few meters away. It is free and really not a far walk from the hotel.

Check in was easy but very rushed. Wifi is available (even in the rooms), it's free and reliable. Room were clean, with comfortable beds and nice darkening curtains. Service was quite efficient - small glitch with the safe but the issue was resolved in a matter of minutes after we brought it up. The only problem we had during our stay was the shower which got *very* cold every 30 seconds or so while we were trying to have a hot shower.

Breakfast was nice - breads, cheese, cold cuts, yogurt…typical continental. Service was very friendly and attentive.

The hotel was a great location for our day trip to Tangier in Morocco. We drove to Tarifa (20 minutes away), parked at the port (12 Euros/day) and took the fast ferry to Tangier - the ride took about 40-45 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    140
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
116
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here for three nights as I was travelling to morocco by motorbike and the port was closed due to bad weather. The hotel staff we extremely helpful. They all spoke English and assisted with finding a mechanic for my bike as it developed a minor fault.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, warm (had AC) and modern. The food was fantastic and I found it to be reasonably priced too.

I ended up staying an extra night on my return trip back through Spain. I highly recommend this hotel. Offers everything the weary traveller needs and at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

OK if you want a comfortable bed and bath

TV making noises randomly, key card that stops working randomly, warm juice and milk and only continental breakfast. Waited 30 mins for anyone to show up at reception. WiFi is 11 Euros a day. Bar is not a bar, employee (after waiting forever) gets stuff from kitchen. Poor selection. Would not come back, unfortunately forced to stay here for a few days more :(

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acalgeciras, Manager at AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Stephan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the AC Hotel Algeciras.

You indicated in your response that Your Stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest´s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your-or our own-expectations. Our goal is to address yor concerns so that w can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Of course we will take measures in order to improve our service.
Please check with the hotel staff, our staff informs the content of our services, schedules and whether they are free or paid.
The wifi is free, minibar, garage, expresso coffee, newspaper, fitness center are also complimentary.
The breakfast is buffet service.
Not have bar service, just have breakfast and restaurant
Any questions or problems always inform the staff of the hotel, they will help you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights primarily as a center point for a day trip to Tangiers via a ferry from Altarifa and another day trip to Gibraltar. The hotel was fine for our purposes. It was clean and relatively spacious. It even had free parking. The breakfast was just adequate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 1 night before taking the ferry to Morocco. It served its purpose - convenient, good value, clean and next door to the drop off for our rental car. Very basic room; mattress was hard and pillows too soft (they need to be replaced). Reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Outstanding service as usual and as standard in all AC hotels. This one in particular keeps up with pretty much any of the others at a very low price.

There are many things they can improve, but given the price, this is so far the best place I´ve stayed in.

I will definitely recommend it and come back if needed.

Room Tip: Apparently the higher levels have better view to the city and the bay. Now, there´s nothing much to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A really basic hotel with everything you would expect for the price. Friendly staff and a very good breakfast. Near the city centre so quite busy. Nothing to specifically remember. Would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott

Address: Ctra del Rinconcillo | esq. C/ Hermanos Portilla, 11204 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Algeciras
Ac Hotel Algeciras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.