We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room opened by another guest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Reina Cristina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Reina Cristina to your Saves list
Globales Reina Cristina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room opened by another guest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located for the port. That's where it's appeal ends.

The food was buffet style, bland and dry.

Staff overall friendly but was barked at by 1 waiter in an accusatory manner to check I had paid for me €1 espresso before leaving the dining room. I had, to another waiter.

I requested late check out of 14:00 when I arrived which was agreed. In the morning when I came to query something I was rudely informed that I would have to check out at 12:00 as late check out was not possible.

The receptionist began raising her voice and flapping her list of bookings for the day telling me it was impossible. I explained that I had made plans around having a late check out. She then huffily I told me "ok ok" and had a very dismissive manner.

Went to my room to shower and change at 13:15. Whilst standing half undressed a gentlemen opened the door with a card key. He was the new guest!! With embarrassment he left and I tried to call reception who did not answer.

Then again at 13:40 a staff member barged in the room with a list, obviously coming to check that the gentleman was correct in saying the room was occupied. Why come in so abruptly?

When I went to check out I advised the originally rude receptionist what happened and she shrugged. Repeating that the hotel was busy.

In all my years of travelling I have never had my room opened by another guest. As a solo female traveller my safety was very much compromised.

I would not stay here again and do not recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank djjojojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to improve our service for future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel has lots of character & nice public areas. The pool is good with plenty of sunbeds.
The terrace bar is a nice place to relax and enjoy a drink & tapa's.
The staff are friendly and hard working.
Our room, whilst a little tired looking was comfortable & had all the amenities to help make our stay comfortable (e.g: fairly comfortable bed, air con, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, balcony, nice shower, safety deposit box, flat screen tv, plenty of wardrobe space).
The buffet style eating was generally good both @ breakfast & dinner. There was normally plenty of choice. However, on a Friday / Saturday the place is overrun by customers, many locals & there are insuffient staff to cover the demand. So tables are not cleared / relaid & the buffet resembles a bomb site. Then there are long waits to order an after dinner drink @ the terrace bar (we waited 30 minutes just to be acknowledged).
Overall we enjoyed our stay but the lack of staff / service on Friday's / Saturday's was a disappointment and has detrimentaly effected our rating.

Room Tip: We had 262 & it was fine, quiet & had a garden view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to improve our service for future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is in an industrial port and does not provide the entertainment that may be expected in other Spanish resorts but nevertheless it is a beautiful property for a relaxing stay. Overall there are signs of wear but the rooms and outdoor areas are kept very clean. (Remember not to sit under the orange trees when on the patio!)
On a downside: The local beach has beautiful sand but the shuttle bus wasn't running when we visited. There was no 'tourist information' in the reception area but there is an information office in the nearby shopping area. We certainly found a car useful for a few days to explore the area and Cadiz and Gibraltar are worth visiting. (Public transport from the hotel to Gibraltar is apparently very reasonable and there are trains to Ronda)

Our major disappointment was that we believed this was an adult only hotel and although there were no children among the guests there were two children's parties during our stay. The pool was very suddenly taken over by about 25 children doing what they do in party mood and the tranquility of the adults was lost.Those of us reading by the pool were well and truly splashed as they jumped in the water squealing loudly. This may not have been so bad if we had been advised in advance as we would have planned to spend time elsewhere. Several other functions were held during our week and I appreciate the hotel needs to make money but this certainly spoiled our visit especially as it happened twice and I believe we missed a third children's event while we were out.

Additionally we were not picked up from the collection point as advised in our travel documents. Eventually we telephoned the hotel and they advised us to take a taxi which they would pay for - and they did with no problem although we had been standing, waiting to be collected for over half an hour. The hotel staff were at all times polite but apparently non-pick up is a common occurrence and not all travellers have a mobile with them.

On a positive note the food was good at breakfast and dinner and the town centre is just a few minutes walk away to sample local markets and shops. It was good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room and we were supplied with extra milk when we asked. A nice touch was the fresh fruit and water provided on the first day. We enjoyed our stay but would not return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear garden may have noise from functions on the patio below but the double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayzelknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director General at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to improve our service for future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a very enjoyable week at the Reina Christina Hotel which oozes old fashioned Spanish charm with impressive Moorish architecture and very grand furniture. The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the grounds are delightful. The medium sized outdoor pool has plenty room around it with comfortable mesh loungers and sun umbrellas

Our room (250) was large and well supplied with wardrobe space and drawers. A free fridge and big TV with various English news channels (but no actual English programmes) was welcome but the room wasn’t very practical in terms of bathroom layout or plug socket locations

The holiday deal included an upgrade which got us a room with a good balcony getting sun all day and a constantly changing port view between the orange trees in the hotel grounds. The ‘Welcome’ plates of fruit, biscuits and bottled water were good but failure to replenish tea/coffee making elements isn’t what’s expected

The hotel’s buffet restaurant has a very wide choice at both breakfast and dinner with tasty well cooked food - you have to be ultra picky to leave hungry. The buffet is constantly refilled and the food is hot. Drink prices are very reasonable (2 Euros for a large glass of drinkable house wine or 8.5 a bottle) but the staff are often very busy. Getting served at the bar can be difficult particularly at busy times

Algeceries (an easy 15 minute walk away) is a traditional working town with little for tourists but it’s nice to watch the world go by over a drink in the attractive main square. The town is very well placed as a touring base for visiting surrounding sights – we would really recommend Ronda (go by train, it’s a 90km drive with half that distance over twisty mountain roads) and Cadiz (easy drive on motorways and a truly beautiful city)

Although the Reina Christina might not be quite up to a modern 4* rating in certain respects but it’s a very comfortable 3.5* level and left us with happy memories and a good holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosieandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your wonderful review,this kind of comments are the ones that made us feel proud of our job ,and give us the impulse to carry on giving the best of all our team members in order to archive our main goal ,provide the best well deserved holiday experience to our costumers.

We hope to see you back soon for another great holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A very old rustic hotel in the middle of a commercial zone. Poor staff rude inattentive and prefer to serve spanish people first. Loud and overfull dining room. Paying guests a wedding and a thirtieth drug addict anonymous convention all at the same time in one tiny dining room. It wed bedlum. Try another hotel really don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumf149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to improve our service for future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheerness
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

went to this hotel 0n 23rd april for a week we were booked to have a twin port view upgrade but on going to roomwe were facing a wall went to reception and were told no port view rooms were vacant so we took room 362 which was ok the hotel is excellent food and staff and surrondings enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back in November but this time paid for a port view thank you d bright

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheernessDavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your wonderful review,this kind of comments are the ones that made us feel proud of our job ,and give us the impulse to carry on giving the best of all our team members in order to archive our main goal ,provide the best well deserved holiday experience to our costumers.

We hope to see you back soon for another great holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just got back from a four day trip with my mother and have to say it was a delightful experience staying in the hotel.The trip was booked through Fleetway travel for an unbelievably cheap price so my expectations were low because I could not see how anything other than pretty grim could be offered,however I was wrong .The reception staff (Sole what an amazing multitask receptionist) allowed me to upgrade to a suite (at extra cost) but the room was AMAZING and worth every penny.In my view despite the additional upgrade cost we still had a good value break because meals were part of the package and were always hot and plentiful.
If you want water to make tea then a visit to the local supermarket (cost 4 euros in a cab) will deliver huge bottles at 0.50 euros each ,but you will need a cab back and these are easily found.
Plentiful supply of bars/cafes in the city centre,all at very good prices and the efficient manner of service makes for a very relaxing and enjoyable experience.
The weather whilst we were there was hot and sunny,the pool delightfully cool and empty.
Do take bite repellant because my mother was bitten,I fortunately not,but the itching drove her nuts !
So I judge every place I have been to with the "would I go back " and n this case a big YES.
p.s Gibraltar has a nice little airport too !

Room Tip: Our suite was in the corner which meant it was enormous and so so quiet,overlooked the pool.We actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras by Marriott
2.3 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#8 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#1 of 4 in Los Barrios
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#6 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Reina Cristina

Address: Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Reina Cristina in located Algeciras, Cadiz and just a few kilometers from the resort of Tarifa famous for its beach and surf, and just a few minutes’ walk from the gateway to Africa that is the port of Algeciras. The hotel has 168 elegantly decorated guest rooms and boasts beautiful architecture that reflects its rich history. The Globales Reina Cristina is a true paradise within the city of Algeciras, thanks to its extensive gardens, stunning pools (indoor and outdoor) and it´s beautiful views of the Straits of Gibraltar. THE PERFECT LOCATION FOR YOUR EVENTS The Globales Reina Cristiana can also provide all the services you may require for business meetings, conferences and other events. The hotel has a dedicated events team available to help you arrange your wedding, banquet or events within the unbeatable setting of the city of Algeciras. There are 8 function rooms available for weddings, banquets, or events. There is Wi-Fi and ADSL available throughout the hotel and there executive rooms available for those travelling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing