We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Globales Reina Cristina(Algeciras) stay 13 Oct 2013 ti 20 Oct 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globales Reina Cristina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Globales Reina Cristina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Globales Reina Cristina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Machynlleth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Globales Reina Cristina(Algeciras) stay 13 Oct 2013 ti 20 Oct 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A week after staying in this beautiful and charming hotel we were pleased to see it on Michael Portillo's train journey on B.B.C. 2 last night. During our very enjoyable stay we sampled a huge array of international food which I think caters for most pallets. Once inside the beautiful compound of Reina Cristina there is pure nostalgia mixed with modern day efficiency. Even when the staff were a bit thin on the ground they remained cheerful, kind and courteous. After a buffet breakfast a ten minute walk took us to the train and bus stations, so during our week's stay we visited Gibraltar, Tarifa and the magnificent village of Ronda. The shopping center and market of Algeciras are good to see. Each morning the streets are washed with soap and water. There is also a lovely Spanish park near the main shops. Buses and trains are clean and fares reasonably priced and thanks to the helpfulness of the staff we had no problems in spite of our very limited knowledge of Spanish. The hotel's shuttle service to and from Gibraltar airport was excellent. For those wishing to visit Gibraltar I'd strongly recommend the Reina Cristina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review. Especially for all the details that you have described, I’m sure it will help other reviewers to visit us. We will share your remarks with our team. Your comments make us feel very proud of the way they perform for you all and how much of effort they put on it.
Great to read that you will visit us again! We will be please to looking after you one more time.

Kind regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    174
    76
    39
    33
See reviews for
56
223
38
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had purchased a half price trip to the Reina Cristina at Algecirus on a half board basis. I think that you can honestly say that the trip from Gibraltar airport does fill you with slight apprehension,
as you pass the industrial and container port areas. But as you sweep up the drive of the hotel you are transported to a more comfortable ambiance.The hotel is of a past era, elegant, quiet and the staff very friendly. All the rooms appear large, maybe a bit of refurbishment is required in a few, but overall it is just comfortable. The public rooms, bars, terraces and swimming pool areas are of excellent proportions. The restaurant is large enough if you take into consideration that you can eat outside on the terrace. A huge buffet, covering all aspects of food is provided, at times there is a certain repeat of dishes but we always were well provided for. The footprint of the hotel is so large that you are not aware of your surroundings, because of the large gardens. Finally, the town nearby is within walking distance and provides a wealth of retail therapy and bars, plus the ability to hire a car at the nearby Avis.

Room Tip: I would imagine the corner rooms are very good with their large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Globales Reina Cristina . We are glad to understand by your review that you have had a wonderful experience and that you recommend our hotel to TripAdvisor reviewers.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia,Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is located just in the right place at Algeciras. Placed among a great garden on the top of a small hill, providing excellent view of the sunrise.
We were located in the rooms nearby the pool, and the room was spacious with very good beds. The wardrobe looks old and it was, as it smelling a little humidity and musty. The ceramics on the floor in a few places were detached but the general opinion is definitely positive. The bathroom was big with all you might need, for a few days (the shampoo and the shower gel, could be better).
The main building was excellent. An old building from 1902, with nice lobby and very likable communal area. The restaurant was adequate for the visitors and the balcony in front the restaurant just great. Breakfast lunch and dinner were well prepared and always enough.
But the most important, the people who were working there were just great.

Room Tip: The rooms nearby the pool are spacious but quite noisy, The rooms at the central building maybe bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Globales Reina Cristina.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were here for a 2 night stay while we went for a day trip to Gibraltar. This worked well. We caught a local bus from the bus station in Algeciras and it took nearly an hour to Gibraltar, which was fine with us. No hiccups at the border, a day of sightseeing, return bus trip, then taxi to hotel. The bus fare was only a few euros. This hotel was recommended to us for this purpose and it was certainly a good place to relax on the day we arrived. It has a large pool and grounds. A few obnoxious male spaniards around the pool made it a bit unpleasant for the rest but we weren't bothered. The meals can be a la carte or a buffet and everything is plentiful. The service at reception was a it underwhelming but the staff were very busy, they could have done with extra. As the hotel is quite spread out with wings, it is a long haul with luggage to your room but ours was very large and spacious. The wifi was also good. The creaky doors and floorboards were not so good. A big can of oil would have done wonders on a lot of the ones on our floor. We could ot close ours quietly even though we tried, and others simply didn't try. Besides that, everything was fine. It was also very reasonably priced and very good value.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor to the right of front.Lovely view. I wouldn't like one around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate your comments about our hotel, which help us to improve to provide better service and ensure that our customers get the satisfaction and above all a good memory of our establishment.
We take good note of its findings and hope they give us the opportunity to visit us again.

Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for a week.
Yes the only way to describe it is gods waiting room. The hotel itself is quite charming and clean and you can see that it has been spectacular in its time. However the food left a lot to be desired, although to be fair here was always something you could find that was ok even if it was only the very salty soups and salads. We found ourselves filling up on bread as the stews and meats all seemed to be of poor quality. What I would expect from a 2 or 3 star hotel. most of the clientele were retired (hence the title). The indoor pool was closed and I noted that the hotel replied to a review from Patricia who complained of the closed pool a week after we were there and told he that it was for maintenance which I don't believe as it was closed all week between the 27th Sept to 4th August, but it did open for a Children's party one afternoon !!! We also booked through secret escapes? I would advise anyone looking to go here to look at the area as there is nowhere else to go in the evening. I learnt my lesson and will investigate thoroughly before booking next time. Staff were lovely and helpful. Gibraltar was a great day out and only a couple of euros on the bus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for sharing the sensations obtained during your stay at the Global Hotel Reina Cristina. However, we deeply regret that the hotel has not lived up to what was expected.

We take note of all your comments as they are evaluated by our staff to be able to improve our services always focus on customer satisfaction.

Once again thanks for your comment, we will continue working hard to make our hotel is a better choice for our customers.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An amazing colonial style hotel with wonderful staff and lovely food. We were looking for something relaxing,, special and Spanish which was also a good location for exploring - this hotel fitted perfectly. The food has a good mix but I was particularly impressed that there was a large selection of Spanish food including fish and seafood. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout and made us very welcome (Manoli was brilliant). Our room was traditional style which I loved but may not suit someone looking for something ultra modern but this hotel is about more than that! Lovely gardens too. Only downside is an understaffed bar leaving long waiting times whilst 1 person fixes cocktails for most people pre-dinner - more staff needed as there is only so much one person can do, however good. Will definitely be back there - a perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments regarding the hotel and its surroundings. It was my pleasure to read that your experience in Globales Reina Cristina was satisfactory. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you found our service excellent. We will gladly let our staff know about your kind comments as they will give them confidence to continue increasing the quality of their daily services.
To receive commentaries like yours really encourage us to continue working hard for our guests´ wellbeing. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our 3 night break at the Reina Cristina didn't get off to a great start, - an hours wait outside a slightly dodgy looking MacDonalds for the Hotel transfer, combined with some less than favourable Trip Adviser Reviews, didn't bode well for the service we were to expect....HOWEVER.. When we entered the Hotel gates things improved dramatically, Reina Cristina is a beautiful colonial style Hotel set in immaculate grounds.
At check-in we were offered a larger room by way of an apology for the delay in pickup & were more than happy with it, older traditional style bedroom furnishings, but spotlessly clean, with masses of storage space, a modern bathroom & a double balcony, there was no noise at night & we slept like logs, the Air Con could have a little more effective, but was adequate for the time we were there. There was also the added bonus of free Wi-fi.
Our next 3 days were mainly spent relaxing in the sun on comfortable loungers by the pretty pool. We ate & drank at the Patio Bar as well as in the Buffet, Food was nothing flashy but nicely presented & always served with a smile. Bar Staff were always cheerful & polite, despite not always speaking a great deal of English.
All in all, our stay at the Reina Cristina was amazing value for money, we booked a bargain break for some last minute sun, our expectations were not high, but we were very pleasantly surprised, & would definitely go back again.
For those who have poorly rated this Hotel, I would question just how much they paid for their trip, (everyone we spoke to were either staying with Secret Escapes or other such like bargain deals), you do get what you pay for & our stay at Reina Cristina was definitely worth far more than we paid for it, a great base for visiting Gibraltar & the surrounding areas, or for just unwinding in the Spanish Sun.

Room Tip: Always try for an upgrade, the best rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer
We are extremely grateful for the time you have used to write here your experience in our hotel. It is a great helpful and a good motivation to all the staff know that customers are satisfied with our work.
We will note about the recommendation for the bar. We are always improving to give you the best service.

We hope to have you here on your next visit to Algeciras

Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales Reina Cristina

Address: Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated 10 minutes from the Port of Algeciras, 20 minutes from the city centre. The Reina Cristina offers 168 rooms, with air conditioning, television, free wi-fi, outdoor, heated pool, mini golf and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.