We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globales Reina Cristina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Globales Reina Cristina to your Saves list
Hotel Globales Reina Cristina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SE Asia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An amazing colonial style hotel with wonderful staff and lovely food. We were looking for something relaxing,, special and Spanish which was also a good location for exploring - this hotel fitted perfectly. The food has a good mix but I was particularly impressed that there was a large selection of Spanish food including fish and seafood. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout and made us very welcome (Manoli was brilliant). Our room was traditional style which I loved but may not suit someone looking for something ultra modern but this hotel is about more than that! Lovely gardens too. Only downside is an understaffed bar leaving long waiting times whilst 1 person fixes cocktails for most people pre-dinner - more staff needed as there is only so much one person can do, however good. Will definitely be back there - a perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments regarding the hotel and its surroundings. It was my pleasure to read that your experience in Globales Reina Cristina was satisfactory. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you found our service excellent. We will gladly let our staff know about your kind comments as they will give them confidence to continue increasing the quality of their daily services.
To receive commentaries like yours really encourage us to continue working hard for our guests´ wellbeing. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    238
    104
    49
    39
See reviews for
69
319
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamphire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our 3 night break at the Reina Cristina didn't get off to a great start, - an hours wait outside a slightly dodgy looking MacDonalds for the Hotel transfer, combined with some less than favourable Trip Adviser Reviews, didn't bode well for the service we were to expect....HOWEVER.. When we entered the Hotel gates things improved dramatically, Reina Cristina is a beautiful colonial style Hotel set in immaculate grounds.
At check-in we were offered a larger room by way of an apology for the delay in pickup & were more than happy with it, older traditional style bedroom furnishings, but spotlessly clean, with masses of storage space, a modern bathroom & a double balcony, there was no noise at night & we slept like logs, the Air Con could have a little more effective, but was adequate for the time we were there. There was also the added bonus of free Wi-fi.
Our next 3 days were mainly spent relaxing in the sun on comfortable loungers by the pretty pool. We ate & drank at the Patio Bar as well as in the Buffet, Food was nothing flashy but nicely presented & always served with a smile. Bar Staff were always cheerful & polite, despite not always speaking a great deal of English.
All in all, our stay at the Reina Cristina was amazing value for money, we booked a bargain break for some last minute sun, our expectations were not high, but we were very pleasantly surprised, & would definitely go back again.
For those who have poorly rated this Hotel, I would question just how much they paid for their trip, (everyone we spoke to were either staying with Secret Escapes or other such like bargain deals), you do get what you pay for & our stay at Reina Cristina was definitely worth far more than we paid for it, a great base for visiting Gibraltar & the surrounding areas, or for just unwinding in the Spanish Sun.

Room Tip: Always try for an upgrade, the best rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer
We are extremely grateful for the time you have used to write here your experience in our hotel. It is a great helpful and a good motivation to all the staff know that customers are satisfied with our work.
We will note about the recommendation for the bar. We are always improving to give you the best service.

We hope to have you here on your next visit to Algeciras

Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Following a 6 hour delay from Manchester - (thank you Monarch) we stayed at this hotel 29th September for a week - we were ready to come home after the first night
Our room was something like you granny's granny would have lived with, dark painted cheap wood - scratched and chipped. A thin bed covered with an tired thin pink cover, and inexplicably a small fridge standing in the middle of the room, yellow inside - not dirty just old.
Everything about this hotel is tired, threadbare carpets cracked tiles, flaking paint.

We had two attempts to move rooms, eventually we paid a supplement for an upgrade. A slightly more stylish room - until we discovered we had one single wardrobe and no drawers - creased clothes all week.
The air conditioning unit was switched on, it sounded as if it was working but it blew only warm air - not what you need at 28 degrees - we asked for a fan. It arrived on the third time of asking.

The food quality in the buffet restaurant is so poor that we chose to eat out of the hotel, The bar lunches were better quality.

After some persuasion we were allowed to dine a la carte at a supplement - mistake.... our first evening in this restaurant was ended abruptly when a mouse ran in front of my husband. Our second attempt proved that the food in there was no better than the buffet - my "duck delight in a fruity sauce " was in fact a broiled duck leg with a cold lumpy white sauce with dried fruit - not a delight at all. My husband tried twice to enjoy his steak cooked to medium the second time it was returned from the kitchen still bleeding he decided to leave it.

The indoor pool and the gym were "out of service" for the full week.

The staff are friendly but there is no management presence in the hotel. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine as an apology for the mouse and bought a drink for the poor quality of food in the a la carte restaurant - a kind gesture but really they just need to sort out their issues.

I did seek an appointment with the General Manager to discuss my issues but she declined to meet me.

I booked this break through Secret Escapes, I am not sure that I trust them enpough to use them again following this horrible holiday at what they call a 4* hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear customer

We appreciate your confidence in us and your opinion and we feel sorry about your not satisfaction with your stay in our hotel.
With the air conditioning, we had problems for a day and as soon as possible it was solved.
Our Hotel is located in the center of abig garden so the occasional presence of this type of situation is a bit uncontrollable. In spite of this we use pest control services.
As for the hotel management, we are not aware of your desire to express your dissatisfaction, to what we would have agreed without any inconvenience, as we do with customers who request it.
The rooms are being reformed in order to offer better conform and service.
The gym is open and the indoor pool was closed for maintenance.

Thank you again for your comment.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Truly a unusual experience if you have been use to modern hotels. Built around 1902 this hotel is just three floors high in true Spanish style with big tiled over hanging roofs and good size rooms with high ceilings, limited air con but room fans supplied. All situated in large grounds with swimming pool. Food of a very good standard buffet style with good variety of choice. Wine (house very good from around euro 8.50 bottle) and drinks at very reasonable prices. Staff all very helpful and friendly.
Immediate area is a port town which has built up around the hotel but there are plenty of places to visit all with in about 100 km area, Gibraltar, Cadiz, Ronda, etc.

Room Tip: Request room with balcony upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you very much for your comment and also the help provided to other Tripadvisor users providing such a positive experience in our hotel.

It is always gratifying to know that customers are satisfied with our service.

We hope that on your next visit to Algeciras you deposited again your trust in us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old 'Spanish charm ' hotel set in lovely grounds .algeciras is bit of a dump ...a working Port Town with not much for tourists ! But good base for visiting Cadiz,Gibraltar, Ronda & Estepona. The hotel staff , especially the bar staff are Very helpful & friendly & work really hard ! The hotel is very old & retains it's old Spanish charm which is lovely, but the bedrooms are in desperate need of refurb ... Don't accept rooms 1- 5 ( downstairs) we were originally put in room 1 ...horrendous ....dark, gloomy & damp smelling , not good if you feel claustrophobic !!! Food was basically good , but think they could do with a new chef! We went thro 'Secret Escapes ' so it was relatively cheap ... Think we got value for money .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear customer

Thanks for your interest and for your comment.
Sorry about your dissatisfaction with the room but we are making reforms to get greater satisfaction from customers and so be able to offer the highest comfort and the best service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Reina Cristina is a beautiful vintage hotel with a rich history. During World War II, it was used by the British as an observatory overlooking the Straight of Gibraltar, Sir Winston Churchill stayed in this hotel. The hotel has ambience and the terrace/bar areas are delightful to eat or just to sit and have a drink. The staff is very friendly, especially at the bar. The rooms that I saw needed updating, however, we were fortunate to get a recently, very tastefully renovated room. The only problem we found was the "old" closed in smell we encountered in the corridor and in our room. Opening the balcony doors did help with the musty smell. No time to have dinner at their restaurant (visiting Gibraltar), it was their "Romantic Dinner" evening in this oasis. Sadly, we only stayed one night, on our trip through Spain, and definitely will be back to enjoy a longer stay. I most certainly can recommend this "grand" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful colonial style building set in its own spacious grounds with trees and landscaping. Inside it has nice sitting areas and is generally very clean. However visitors need to know the indoor pool was not in use during our stay and the gym is minute. It is a good hotel for quiet relaxation. The room was pleasant and has a small balcony with a table and two chairs. If you want tea making facilities you have to request them, the toiletries are inadequate unless you are in a superior room. The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the food. Breakfast and evening meal were in need of a good chef. We would not say it is four star hotel. It is a good base to visit Gibraltar but Algeciras has little to offer as a resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales Reina Cristina

Address: Paseo de la Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated 10 minutes from the Port of Algeciras, 20 minutes from the city centre. The Reina Cristina offers 168 rooms, with air conditioning, television, free wi-fi, outdoor, heated pool, mini golf and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globales Reina Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.