We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic reception staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alboran Algeciras

Save Saved
You added Alboran Algeciras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alboran Algeciras
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Calle de los Alamos | Colonia de San Miguel, 11205 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Algeciras
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic reception staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived early hoping to be able to leave our bags and visit Gibraltar but the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and allowed us to check-in very early to one of the two rooms that we had booked. Our 3 bed room was brilliant with 3 proper single beds, the only down-side being that the bathroom was a bit squashed. The hotel is right off the main road so I was expecting it to be noisy but wasn't at all. We went down to the seafront to find somewhere to eat for dinner but as none of the kitchens opened until 9pm we returned to the hotel for their bbq - excellent service but unlike with the reception staff, us only speaking English was a bit of a challenge. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I didn’t get to stay at the hotel long enough since it was just one night. The place is very modest, mainly the rooms, but neat. The restaurant serves a good food, and service is great there. The hotel is about 10 min away by car from the center. And I didn't like the breakfast much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Coming or going to Morocco, this hotel is fantastic, not far from the harbor and very easy to find. The courtyard is lovely and it is a pleasure to enjoy breakfast. Our room was fairly sized and very clean. Fortunately the staff was still there when we arrived at 3 o'clock in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid teh rooms near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We used Alboran Algeciras as our base for day trips to Tanger/Tetouan and to Gibraltar. Hotel is located right on the main road, easy to find (we came late at night) and offers free parking for the guests. Although hotel is so close to the main road we did not have any problems with traffic noise.

Hotel has been built with a lot of Moorish architecture details which gives it some charm. Rooms are equipped with old style furniture but they are very clean and well maintained.

Good continental breakfast and not that good dinner menu food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those of us who are so used to staying in skyscraper type of Hotels, this one was a breather.
Albeit a 3 star hotel, its got a lovely courtyard, and vines growing on the pillars, a beautiful Spanish setup.
Stayed just for a day and loved the ambience. Food was good but a tad expensive.
Rooms were clean, quite spacious. Rooms have a nice balcony. Staff are very courteous. Free wifi in the hotel.
Proximity to the beach is an added plus.
A comfortable stay would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed while visiting the port. I was driven around which is essential since the hotel is not located idellicaly. Rooms are average but acceptable for the class of the hotel. Breakfast is without any hot cooked meals, no eggs, omelettes etc. only basic things. The best thing of the hotel is the open garden in the middle. Internet is very poor and usually cannot support skype... I would go back ro stay for a day or two If the internet was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a decent hotel located on an exit immediately off the A7 highway. The photographs of the hotel look impressive, but the rooms are situated so that they do not face into the interior courtyard and so much of it is not normally seen. The rooms themselves are of good quality and clean, although not outstanding. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking sections. A few negatives are that the reception on the TV is rather noisy, and vews of the outside are limited to either a busy highway or drab backyards of surrounding houses. The reception at the hotel was a mixed bag. The staff are certainly very helpful, and even went out of their way to assist with an unusual problem we had (unrelated to our stay at the hotel itself). One annoyance was that complimentary tapas were offered on check-in, but it surfaced that the invitation is actually limited to a small side dish rather than the drink itself, which led to a very uncomfortable situation where the the staff insisted on payment on leaving, which was at odds with the whole invitation concept. Also, we were kept awake for half of one night due to a guest in an adjacent room making a racket in moving out. Reception tried to assist but was not particularly effective. The Internet connection was weak inside the room, and the speed was just barely sufficient to permit Skyping (with an occasional call drop). The charge for parking in front of the hotel is 5 euros, which is considerably cheaper than at other hotels, and is guarded. A drive to nearby Gibraltar is very quick from the hotel, and the beaches and ferries of Tarifa are also close. A Carrefour supermarket is a few km's down the road. Algeciras is not an exciting town at all, however, and best avoided if possible.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies appear to be mostly smoking-only. The rooms facing back (not towards the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alboran Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alboran Algeciras

Address: 2 Calle de los Alamos | Colonia de San Miguel, 11205 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alboran Algeciras 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alboran Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alboran Algeciras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.