We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent price and friendly neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Luisa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Maria Luisa to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Luisa
Avenida de Francia, 2, 11205 Algeciras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Algeciras B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“excellent price and friendly neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a litlle family hotel, with an excellent price with breakfast included. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious. Although Algeciras is not a tourist place,it´s an option to sleep when you are coming from Morroco by ferry. It´s not so close to the port ( 25 min by foot ) so it´s better to take taxi. It´s a more economical option comparing to the chain hotels and the neighborhood is distant from the port and run down areas.

Room Tip: Take a taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Drove in late, heading to Gibraltar in the morning. We were 4adults traveling together and stayed in a quad. Room had dormitory feel, tiny stall shower, and noisy at night, but clean. The man at the front desk carried 2 of our 4 suitcases up in the evening, but we had to carry them down at check out. Free parking in drive of hotel. Breakfast toast,jam and choice of beverage, but that is it! if you don't speak spanish,sign language work as check in man spoke english, but at breakfast and check out, we resorted to signs.

Room Tip: good transit hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good thinks: Clean room, friendly staff, they changed our room with broken air-conditioned. They also allowed us to use the reception fridge. Free parking right to hotel door. Perfect hotel for a 1 night stay in transit at the outskirts of Algeciras with easy access to highway.
Bad thinks: Very small room. Nobody speaking English. Very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Clean room, free parking on street, free breakfast of hearty toast and choice of beverage. Friendly staff was helpful and conversational over breakfast. Easy to find and neighborhood seemed nice. No complaints!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting friends.It was booked for me by my friends to be close to their home.Its about 15 minutes walking to center of town in a residencial area.I found it to be clean,friendly,good price and the reception helpful.Breakfast was included and was good. I was quite happy staying here!There are a few supermarkets just round the corner as well and I also saw a bus stop just outside the hotel.Security was good as they buzz you in....If you are looking for a simple but clean and decent place to stay outside city center..try it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I stayed only one night here, last year. This hotel was a little bit hard to find, because it is situated in a residential neighbohood. It is located in the first 2 floors of a residencial building. So it is a very calm and quiet place at night. All the hotel seems to have been renovated not long ago. The rooms are not very big, but are nice, confortable and clean. The owner was working in the reception and was very nice, the comunication was a bit difficult because he only speaks spanish, but at the end we understood each other and he even let me use his computer to check my email.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Luisa

Address: Avenida de Francia, 2, 11205 Algeciras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.