We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kuib

Kuib
Garbovei Nr. 10C, Sinaia, Romania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Sinaia
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant din lemn de stejar si piatra de rau din complexul Piatra Soimului. Meniu incredibil de rafinat si variat pentru o zona turistica de munte si servicii etichetate ecologic. Liniste si priveliste de poveste.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've heard of this restaurant in Sinaia and i planned a visit this weekend. It was a saturday in march. Me and my wife had lunch and unfortunately we were both disappointed.
I chose a chef special which was awful (meaning i could not eat the whole portion, it was that bad)(the dish was beaf with potato pancakes and mushrooms)
My wife had a fish dish which was bitter (trout with vegetables).
The only good point was the desert (Fried Dumplings with Cream and Jam)

Serving was ok and the staff was helpful.
Location is nice a little hard to find, but parking could be a problem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
“Excellent food, great service and a fantastic view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food is very very tasty and fresh. People here are paying attention to every detail. They are patient and give great recommendations. They really care about their customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Intimate location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice and intimate location ;spacious, clean and airy ; the food is good but the service is preatty slow ; i've been there in winter time and it was enough difficult to get there and also parking ; another problem was that at 10 pm they announce us that they will close in 30 min .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place, needs to improve on the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The place itself and the service are great, but the food it's just plane / average, nothing wrong, but nothing exciting. I'm sure that they can easily improve the food quality, and then they will be on the run for the podium

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unmissable restaurant in Sinaia...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent food, excellent service with a smile, spacious, clean and modern restaurant in nice location, good value for money, typical Romanian specialities in abundance, apparently the food is cooked by an award-winning chef and the bread is being baked within the restaurant. We visited two days in a row, same high quality each time we visited and I forgot to mention, an excellent selection of wines reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuib also viewed

Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 
Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 

Been to Kuib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.