We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish House Hotel

Irish House Hotel
Sinaia, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 36 Restaurants in Sinaia
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We used to eat there, at the hotel's restaurant, at least once a day, as it was very close to our hotel. It has delicious food! I have never been to Ireland, but I imagine this is how the Irish Restaurant must look like.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice food, unprofessional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We visited The Irish House one evening, as it was just a short walk from our hotel. We were very satisfied with the food (especially the desserts) and the prices were very reasonable. We would say that, other than the availability of Guinness and a few of the decorations, the place wasn't especially Irish.

The main negative point was the staff: wandering through the restaurant talking loudly to each other and on mobile phones, and criticising the management within the earshot of diners. Not cool.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fine meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This restaurant was in walking distance from the hotel. My guide and I enjoyed a delicious meal on the terrace. The waitress was friendly. Definitely a place to recommend.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia Delaware
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“I'd eat here anytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Why would you go to an Irish restaurant in Romania? Because it was there. They had the obligatory Guinness on draft but the fare was a mix of Romanian and Italian. Several of us had the chicken soup and it could have been a light meal by itself.
Lots of white meat chicken and thin noodles, lightly seasoned.. Several local specialty pizzas including one that featured four cheeses, instead of mixing them each quarter had its own cheese. I had a spicy mixed meat plate and it was very good and plentiful. Nice location back off the street with inside and outside seating. Friendly staff that speaks English. Inexpensive, large lunch for six including salad, soup, main course and drinks coast under $70 with tip. Recommended. Be careful of the restrooms, not well lighted and you can miss a step.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So and so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I guess this place can be good or bad for you, depending on your luck. First day, I ordered some romanian dish; food was pretty good, service - nice and fast. The second day I went to the restaurant in the evening and ordered pizza; it was pretty bad - very oily as if it was fried and the taste wasn't that great either. Also, the waiter was running up and down and paid almost no attention after bringing the food.

PS: Don't get fooled by the nice pizza photos on their websites, it doesn't look quite the same when you get there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish House Hotel also viewed

 
Sinaia, Prahova County
Sinaia, Prahova County
 

Been to Irish House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.