We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal for an Excellent price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tasquinha

A Tasquinha
Rua Adriao Batalha, 54, Nazare 2450, Portugal
+351 262 551 945
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Nazare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Laie, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal for an Excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Try the Roubalo a Tasquinha, DELICIOSO! For 2 people 15€ wow! The desert Baba de Camelo is a very fluffy dulce de leche mousse, yummmm, yummmm!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    125
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Five Overall - Lot's of Personality & Great Traditional Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went for a late lunch and the place was packed with a small line. We were handed a small glass of white port and told it would be 5-10 mins which was the standard time given while we were there - and it was about that. We sat at a small table - a little pinched in - but the charm and the warmth of the atmosphere, the locals there - and the staff eventually made everything bigger and better.

The food was very good (the excellent rating comes more from the entire experience) - we loved the seafood and rice pot for the entrée.

Maybe not the very best food in town - maybe not the fanciest place in town - but probably the best combination of great food and great atmosphere. We loved it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best meals in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent two nights in Nazare as the last part of our 10 day Portugal trip. This restaurant was recommended by our hostess at Quinta and by guidebooks. She said just to follow your nose. Absolutely the best meals in town and on this trip. Always super busy in a restaurant lane. Prices are cheaper than the others, but the taste is unmatched anywhere. Carlos the owner makes you feel like you have come home to a plate of mom's food. He and Jose both speak excellent English and can explain the Portuguese menu to you. We ordered the cataplana off the menu for 2. It is in a huge steaming pan with cover, and has generous portions of sea bass, clam, mussel, prawn, sweet red pepper in a light tomato broth. Simple, hearty and perfect to wash down with a house vino. Everywhere in Portugal, people in the service industry are not pushy. They want you to enjoy your experience, but will not push anything expensive on you. Last meal before we came home we returned to Tasquina and ordered the grilled fishes, my friend got dourado, I got silver fish. Tasty and perfected balanced. Carlos poured us a complimentary white Porto and had one himself to wish us good travel and return to Portugal some day. If you are in Nazare, please seek out this little busy restaurant and just follow the crowd, both locals and tourists. You won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Thank you Carlos Sr., Carlos Jr. and Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We discovered this restaurant after a tip from our hotel's staff and we enjoyed every minute there. It's a fabulous place and the owner, Carlos, is always in the room working and communicating with people. He greeted us and told that his place is not a restaurant, it's a very relaxed club (a tasca) where people can chat, interact with each other, have fun and spend great time. And the cuisine is amazing, one of the best that we've seen in Portugal. Sea food, fish, olives, bread, everything is so-so tasty. And Carlos Jr., you made our trip truly special. Thank you! We hope to come back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The absolute Portuguese experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I love Portugal because of the beautiful sights, good food and fabulous wine and magnificent good heart people. All these are the review of this fantastic restaurant. Even so the restaurant was full, the owner gave you a filling you're the only guest and tried to understand what will be the perfect dish to your taste, for us it was Caldeirada –It was the best meal I had in Portugal along with wine and a glass of porto for desert. The opening dishes were delicious as well. Over all it was a very good Portuguese evening we certainly want and will come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tasquinha also viewed

 
Nazare, Leiria District
Nazare, Leiria District
 

Been to A Tasquinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tasquinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.