We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, but in the middle of a very busy area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Mouzinho de Albuquerque 10 | Apartado 11, Nazare 2450-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, but in the middle of a very busy area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel Mare is in the middle of the hustle and bustle in Nazare. It is very close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Ideal location, right? Well the problem is that the walls are not very insulated so you hear everything that is going on in the streets. The night we stayed over, one of the restaurants had a performer playing the guitar and people were singing along and that went on until the wee hours.

Now the room was big enough for our family and they serve a continental breakfast (as I say in all my reviews don't expect American breakfast. You are in Europe and people are more than happy with some bread and cheese and coffee). The staff is very friendly and always trying to help. They can suggest some really good restaurants in the area. The beach is not even 5 minutes away walking, but it's a pretty crowded beach.

In all it's an average hotel, good for a quick stop if you are travelling through Portugal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    71
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve, Portugal
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We returned to Nazare many years later, to use a voucher I had won in a contest. We wanted to choose a place within short distance of both Lisbon and Fatima. The only hotel in Nazaré that allow the use of my voucher was this, so there we went.
The hotel is well located, near Avenida marginal ( main street by the sea) and the service is friendly. But the room is small and uninteresting, the bathroom even smaller with a tiny shower. The breakfast is not good. Only with a variety of cheese and ham, two varieties of cereals, had nothing to people on diet (no low-fat milk or low-fat yoghurt). Nothing sweet either - cakes, cookies…
It isn´t easy parking near the hotel. At the weekend in low season maybe you´ll find a place on the street a medium distance above the hotel, but I suspect that outside this period will not be easy.
Although inexpensive (I did not pay but went to see - the internet cost this weekend was 49 euros double room) there is almost certainly most interesting choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is very near to the beach, only 2 minutes walk.
The staff is very nice and speak good english.

The rooms are clean, but a little bit old.
On the whole it is loud in the hotel: from the street, from people closing the doors, from the bar near by. But if you have a room not to the street, or upper floor, then it is ok.

Wi-fi is good. Safe is 2 euro a day, and it is a safe with a key (then you have a problem what to do with the key).

The only real PROBLEM for me was a carpet in the room. I think it is impossible to make it clean, because of people coming from the beach with some sand etc. I got some kind of allergie because of this carpet. It was not very nice to have this problem on vacations.

On the whole it was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel's location, lobby and room size were all very good. However, the bad out-weighed the good. And so we are clear, we travel with backpacks, around the world. As such, our expectations are not high. The bad included, noise from the street, a tiny shower, smoker's scent in the room, an overly high price and the worst bed we have slept in in many years. We booked in advance because our travels were in August. But there were many, much more afordable, room available. As you arrive and along the streets, there are loads of traditionally dressed ladies offering and advertising rooms.

Room Tip: Asked to see the room to be sure it does not smell bad and to see if the bed is acceptable. Better y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a big disappointment. It is at the narrow and very traffic street, where cars are running all day long till around 1am. If you get a room on the other side, it doesn't make a difference -- there are bars on that little tiny street and they are open from 11pm till 4am. They are not night clubs, just simple cafes and bars with local people talking louder and louder every minute (I guess beause of more beer they drink). Ofcourse windows and doors aren't sound proof, not even to your neighbour rooms. You can listen to your neighbours while they talk, take a shower, watch TV, snore ... :((

Beds are really hard and terrible, you can feel iron wires in them, so your back won't feel very happy about it in the morning.

Breakfast: big NO. So little choise: 2 types of canned fruit, two types of butter, two jams, one honey, proccesed cheese and ham. That's all. I've read here that they have the best coffee in town. Seriously!?!? It is more or less dark water and definitely not sometng you can get in local cafes, they have a very good coffee!

The only good thing about it is free WIFI, password is: 20hotel10

Nazare: a little town with great offer of food, restaurants, cafes, beach is nice, but sea is too rough to swim and too cold (17 degrees in summer). There are tens of people who offer very cheap accomodation in their rooms, you can have a sea fromt view or a silent room -- so say goodbye to this hotel asap. Like I did after 2 nights!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked three nights at this hotel and would have been happy to stay there if the city had not been so noisy. We left after 2 nights.

The hotel has recently been renovated so our room was modern and clean. It was not huge but it was functional. The bathroom was small but again it was functional. No complaints about the physical setup of the room at all.

We had a small balcony with 2 of the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever experienced. The balcony did serve us well to dry our laundry!

Breakfast was above average, still the normal Portuguese breakfast of bread, cheese, cold cuts , tea and coffee. Mare had yogurt and fruit as well. The breakfast room is very nice and has a great view.

The young man that checked us in was excellent; friendly, cooperative & very helpful. He explained where we could park our car with no worries for 3 days. There was a young woman that worked evenings who was every bit as friendly and helpful.

The hotel is not on the beach and our room did not look towards the water, it overlooked a large square surrounded by shops, bars & restaurants. It was very noisy until the wee hours of the morning. I cannot blame the hotel for the noisy town. I would try to find accommodation in Nazare away from the central part of downtown.

In summary, really liked the hotel & the staff; didn't like the personality of the town. Perhaps I am just getting old.

Room Tip: Rent a room facing away from the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is in a good position if you like to be in the heart of things but if it's peace and quiet you're after then it might be better to try elsewhere.
We had an excellent rate with booking.com and so had value for money. The maid service and linens were 4 star and the young lady on reception very helpful. The breakfast room was fantastic and the coffee the best in town but the repetitive food let it down.
Our bed squeaked every time one of us turned over but we sorted it by jamming a flannel into the offending part of the bed base!
Parking is a nightmare in Nazare, the spaces we found varied in distance from being 10 to 20 minutes walk away.
There are numerous good restaurants in the vicinity and for those and the superb beach I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare

Address: Rua Mouzinho de Albuquerque 10 | Apartado 11, Nazare 2450-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Nazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the beach, Hotel Maré offers 46 rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast room has panoramic views of the town and Atlantic Ocean.All the modern 46 rooms at Maré Hotel have cable TV and balconies. Each is equipped with air conditioning and has a private bathroom with a hairdryer.Guests can enjoy a range of water sports on the beach, including snorkelling, windsurfing and fishing. Free public parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Hotel Nazare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.