We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Luis

Restaurante O Luis
Tanques 7 | im Ortsteil Sítio, Nazare, Portugal
+351 262 551 826
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 79 Restaurants in Nazare
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My favourite Portuguese meal so far!!

We especially enjoyed the atmosphere... Bustling with people but seemed to be many locals as there was no English-speakers in earshot the day we visited. Thankfully the waiters English was perfect and he was able to offer us a lot of help with the menu... he was honest in advising how much to order which was spot on and appreciated!

The seafood is fantastic - go for what is fresh on the day. We shared the sea bass noodles for two and it was amazing, and a huge serving for two!

We will be going back again at the first opportunity!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Sitio's Finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A few blocks from the Funicular, dinner at Restaurant O Luis topped off our short visit to Sitio. Bright, lively and friendly atmosphere, serving fresh local seafood, Restaurante O Luis is a great choice if you are staying in Nazare. Similar to most area restaurants, fresh fish, lobster and crab is available and priced per pound. We shared the lobster rice, which was prepared in a light but tasty seafood broth and cooked perfectly. The clams were serviced in the traditional style and delicious as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant based upon the strong recommendation in the Rick Steve's guidebook. The best part about the visit was actually the funicular ride up the hill and the amazing view of Nazare from above. Not to say that the restaurant was bad. Quite the contrary. Food was very good at O Luis. We splurged for a live lobster to have with rice in the local specialty dish that we found absolutely amazing. The dish was very good although not the best rendition we had in Nazare. Service was super friendly and fast. Good place for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A step up from Nazare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I searched high and low for this place based on a Rick Steve's recommendation. As stated below, look for the bull fighting ring in Sitio. We found O Luis a step above the many restaurants we visited in Nazare. Nice table setting, quick service, and a friendly wait staff. We both had grilled dourado fish, vegetables and potatoes and a small bottle of vinho verde. The meal was very good and the bill came to 43 euros. If you don't mind a little excursion from Nazare, I would highly recommend O Luis.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, fun folks, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Tried barnacles for the first time: not bad, taste salty like the sea! Food looks good enough to photograph & tastes the same. Friendly service. Try it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Luis also viewed

Nazare, Leiria District
Nazare, Leiria District
 
Nazare, Leiria District
Nazare, Leiria District
 

Been to Restaurante O Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.