We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar Sul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramar Sul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Sul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Caminho Real | Pederneira, Nazare 2450-060, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Nazare
Somerset
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. The whole hotel is spotless. The staff spoke a number of languages, and really couldn't have done more. They were really friendly and helpful. Rooms have everything you need, breakfast was included, and there was a good choice of good quality food.
Small criticisms were that there wasn't a very good choice of snacks available at the poolside bar, and the hotel was quite a distance from the town. Although the hotel runs a shuttle to the town, it is at set times which aren't particularly frequent, and we found that the times of the buses didn't really fit well with what we wanted to do with our day. The walk in wasn't great, and I would not have wanted to attempt it with children as it was quite a long way and there were sections where there was no pavement. Also, it's all down hill meaning that the walk back is all UPhill!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but if you ask for a pool view, your view will be better - our overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
39
62
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have just arrived from 1 night in this hotel and cam home very pleased. The hotel is quite new (about 1 year) and fabulous views overlooking the atlantic.
We booked a twin room online and payed 58€ for the night. When we got there we were given a suite that costs about 90€ so we were very pleased. The room was HUGE and it had a very big bathroom with a jacuzzi bathtub (that did not work).
Breakfast was very good for our standards. Lost of things to chose from (downside was the fruits were'nt fresh!).
Its a nice hotel to go just for a relaxing break and with small chidlren.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel looks very nice and clean. The room was a good size with beautiful views of Nazare. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in Portugal, very good selection with anything you can think of.
The only drawback was the noise. On our second night we could hear people talking in reception until 11pm. We were here off season but I cannot imagine staying here in the summer when the hotel is full. I would need to use earplugs. Even my husband said that this was the noisiest hotel he has ever stayed. It is a pity as it could be a great hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you pack ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This hotel was further out of town than we anticipated, but the provision of a mini bus to the town and to the nearby sister hotel restaurant made things very easy. The staff and service were superb and could not be faulted. We arrived at the hotel at a very quiet time for them, but nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant offered a very limited menu but our meal in Hotel Miramar down the road was superb and we were transported there and back.
The breakfast was very good in a restaurant which had wonderful views over the harbour and beach. One small complaint would be the orange juice, which I think was orange squash and a very strange colour. The breads, pastries, fruit, meats, eggs and bacon more than made up for this.
Al in all a very good experience and we would go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Brandnew hotel, but already looking tired and old at some points.

Positive:

-nice and modern room
-large terrass
-parking space
-free internet
-nice view from breakfast area

Negative:

-bathroom already had stains that couldn't be removed
-common areas have a very "cheap" motel feeling
-Noisy rooms, also because of the structural design of the hotel
-breakfast not great: orange juice that tastes like medicine
-we first got a room that had a strong smell of smoke and an ashtray. We asked fot a non-smoking room and the receptionist laughed and said "this is a non-smoking hotel". This is stated nowhere in the room or the hotel and there are ashtrays next to the swimming pool and in the room. We immediately got another room, but not with great enthousiasm
-you really need a car to get to Nazaré!
-stairs in the swimming pool already loose in the ground (dangerous)
-floor at swimming pool not clean (chewing gum on my foot!)
-floor at swimming pool really hurts if you don't wear flipflops to walk from one pool to another. It's a very rough surface with small sharp stones
-stains on the carpet in the hallway
-no information at all in the room (not even the phonenumber of the reception...)
-no user manual from the safe, so we couldn't use it
-little or nothing to do in the hotel (not even a restaurant)

Overall: new hotel, probably one of the better in the Nazaré area, but already looking tired and old at some points

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Small and comfortable new hotel. The suites have a Jacuzzi and a huge panoramic terrace. The 3 swimming pools (1 for babies) are not heated and only useful in the hot summer days.
Breakfast and dinner buffet in the hotel's top floor with panoramic views of the sea and the town of Nazaré. Good quality and quantity of food.
Note that you must use the car for all trips because the hotel is far from the beach and downtown. Parking in Nazaré is chaotic.
The hotel has a mini-golf but lacks other activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramar Sul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Sul

Address: Rua Caminho Real | Pederneira, Nazare 2450-060, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Nazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Nazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar Sul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miramar Sul Hotel, 4 stars, is an open space design hotel, surrounded by the Leiria Pine Tree Forest, formed by several native trees species, allowing our guests to enjoy the tranquility of the forest. Beside the tranquility of the forest our guest can also appreciate a standing ocean view over the beach and the Nazare Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Miramar Sul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar Sul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.