We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful old chateau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo do Paco 6, Amarante 4600-017, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amarante
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A beautiful old chateau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel lived up to its description and our room was excellent, but the hotel was practically empty and as quiet as the grave. We visited in early March 2013, and the biggest disappointmant of the trip was the lack of decent restaurants in Amarante. We stayed for 3 nights and really struggled finding somewhere to eat in the evening

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good afternoon from Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
First of all let me thank you for giving your feedback about your stay in our hotel during the month of March 2013.
We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel, facilities and our service.
Concerning the point you mention about restaurants in Amarante, Casa da Calçada is located in the charming city center of Amarante, with a beautiful view over the Tamega River, the old bridge and historic city center of Amarante.

Only 2 minutes away from the hotel, there are a few restaurants open all year round for Lunch and Dinner that we gladly recommend to our guests when our clients don't want / feel to eat in our Michelin Star restaurant (weekly menu lunch 25 Euros per person / weekly menu dinner 35 Euros per person - no drinks).

Several options available:
Traditional Portuguese food - Ze da Calçada, Estoril, Principe, a Quelha.
Light Dinner Snacks - Pauzinhos,
Pizza - Spark
Pastry Shop (open until 8 pm) - Confiteria da Ponte
All those restaurants are walking distance from the hotel.

Then there are other restaurants, but in those cases you need to go by car or taxi that are also extremely good:
A Eira
Pena Restaurant
Quinta do Outeiro
Among others. Those restaurants are between 10-15 minutes by car

We hope to welcome you again and be able to show you the fantastic gastronomy that this area has.

The whole team from Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    50
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
223
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We only had one night in the beautiful Casa da Calcada and wished we had several more. From the time I first emailed the hotel and the GM (Oriel Juve) responded to me personally, I knew this was the perfect choice for us to end our week long trip to Portugal. Oriel patiently and kindly responded to all of my emails along the way and promised me a wonderful stay to celebrate my daughter's birthday. He did not disappoint.

When we arrived by car I had difficulty turning into their parking lot (you have to see the entrance to understand) and a staff member came running down to pull our vehicle into their secure parking area. The hotel is stunning from the outside.

We (3 women) shared a beautiful room with a view directly across the river to the church. The room was lovely with a huge bathroom, very comfy beds and all the amenities you could want. When we went out to explore the garden/pool area we returned to find a chilled bottle of Portuguese sparkling wine and a tin of goodies Thank you, Oriel - what a sweet surprise.

We had dinner reservations in their Michelin starred restaurant (Largo do Paco) that evening and loved every minute. They have a variety of tasting menus from which you can pick and choose. Every course was lovely and delicious. The dining room is especially beautiful and the staff/servers are seamless and helpful. We were treated like special guests.

Breakfast in the morning was in the same gorgeous dining room with beautiful red crystal goblets and dishes. There was a nice assortment of fresh fruits, yogurt, meats, cheese, breads, etc.

Amarante is less than an hour from the Porto airport and that made an easy get away the next day. We were disappointed that due to heavy rain we did not get to explore the town. It looks very interesting. Maybe next time.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a luxurious, relaxing stay.

If you would like a further review, please check out our blog at http://buencamino1.wordpress.com/ Search for Casa da Calcada. You can scroll back or forwards to see other areas of Portugal and elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the team at Casa da Calçada (including me).
We are really happy to know that your stay was perfect among us.
Since the moment that a client makes a booking with us, either through our web site or by phone, we will make sure that we deliver everything that the client needs to make sure that his stay is perfect.
We don't have all the answers, but we can assure you that we will make the impossible to get them for you.

We hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Best regards from the whole team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Don't get trapped in the "trendy/ super expensive/lousy service" hotels within 10km from the Douro Valley. I am a "trained traveler", having traveled in some 80 countries. Personally, my ideal vacation can be summarized as: beautiful spot, friendly people , good food and good wine, a combination rarely achieved at affordable price in Europe ...except at Carcaras hotel! A short (and beautiful) 45 min drive from Unesco site Douro Valley, Casa da Calcada hotel (hosting a 1 star Michelin chef) is as close as you can be from heaven, this, at a death cheap price and short flying distance at least for us Londoners (Ryanair to Porto + a 40 min highway drive to the hotel). And no matter how much you challenge the super efficient/ super friendly Mr Luis, there is nothing he cannot do to make you stay agreeable, including paying your toll fares. That is 6 stars service! And you are a wine lover? Surrender into the hands of Mr Adacio , and the Chef of course . Once at Calcada, just go with he flow, but most importantly, GO ASAP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madame,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write such a long review about your stay not only in our property but in Amarante.
We are extremely happy to know that we surpassed your expectations.
Casa da Calçada as you say, is located in the city center of Amarante a beautiful Romanic village, with a lot of Portuguese culture. Amarante is the perfect location for the client willing to discover the Douro Valley, having Amarante and Casa da Calçada as their base. You can go in less than 40 minutes drive to Porto, Guimaraes, Braga and the Douro River (Regua, Pinhao).
About the restaurant, our Head Chef Vitor Matos, is from the region and he love to use the local products and all the seasonal products. Our sommelier Adacio Ribeiro will make sure that your meal is well accompanied by a good Portuguese Wine (by the bottle of by the glass).

Thank you again for your Kind words and we hope welcoming you back really soon.

The whole team at Casa da Calçada and Largo do Paço
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A wonderful hotel nestled in the pretty town of Amarante. The decor and style of the hotel is impeccable and the Largo de Paco restaurant was the cherry on top. We really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff very accomadating...highly recommend the Crasto wine!

If you get this hotel on the TravelZoo offer via Fleetway travel you will be very happy for the money pay. Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Good afternoon from Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
Thank you very much for taking the time to give your comments about your stay in our beautiful property. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed so much your stay and your experience in Amarante.
Also we are extremely glad to hear that the food experience in our restaurant was fantastic.
Quinta do Crasto, the wine you mention in your e-mail, is one of our references in our wine list, and it is a great partner of us. We have done several Wine Tasting Menus with them in the past years. I would also like to mention, that our wine cellar is mainly focused in Portuguese wines from all the regions (continental and islands). Our Sommelier Mr Adacio Ribeiro, would be always delighted to "guide you" around the best wine cellars in the region, during your meal.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

The whole team at Casa da Calçada and Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very relaxing time during our stay at Casa da Calcada. We were fortunate enough to have the largest suite in the hotel, overlooking the Church of Saint Gonzalo and beautiful Tamega River. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating and all services to the level you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
The whole team is delighted to know that we were able to give you a fantastic stay and that you enjoyed not only the beautiful house, but also the service provided.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Oriol Juve de Yebra and the Team at Casa da Calçada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Living in London, it was a wonderful pleasure to stumble across this Hotel.
The service was amazing and the staff a real tribute to the management style of the General Manager, who made time to personally greet us, and was constantly seen around the hotel rather than hiding in an office as happens too often with GM's these days.
The restaurant was a real delight and amazingly inexpensive considering its Michelin star, with a number of tasting menus with the added advantage of picking and choosing of courses off the different menus. The local wine made on the estate, was very pleasant and even though the cheapest on the menu, was readily suggested by the sommelier.
A special thank you to Annabella the waitress at breakfast who had the most charming and endearing smile and personality, lovely to hear her hum along to the music while she worked showing that she took a pride and a pleasure in her work.
A sleepy town with an amazingly run hotel delivering a top class service at incredibly low prices !
Well done and Thank you
Marc Braso

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mr Braso,

Good afternoon from Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.
First of all many thanks for giving us the feedback about your stay. It is really important for us to know what our guest think about their stay in our property and in Amarante.
About your comments about the team, I would like to add that as a General Manager, when I'm at the hotel, I have great pleasure in talking to our clients to make sure everything goes well. When I'm out of the hotel, the Assistant Director, Luis Silva, also in charge of the Front Office, welcomes personally all our clients.

About the team, I'm really glad to know that you had such a good impression with Anabela. I will let her know.

We are really happy to know that we really exceeded your expectations and we really hope that we can welcome you again really soon.

Best regards from all the Team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Very comfortable well furnished room looking out over the river and town square. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. It's a long time since we've experienced such good staff in a hotel. Particular thanks to the reception staff who tried to get my hire car going, then made all the arrangements with the car hire company to recover the car and a get us taxi back to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your feedback about our property, Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux. I'm really glad to know that you enjoyed so much your short break with us and that the team at the reception where able to help you out in everything you needed.
I'm really glad to say that the team at Casa da Calçada is one of the most professional and attentive teams that I have worked with and they will do anything in their hands to help out our clients.
Looking forward welcoming you again soon.

The whole team at Casa da Calçada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Address: Largo do Paco 6, Amarante 4600-017, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.