We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with atmosphere - but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanetorget 1, Halden 1767, Norway   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Halden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel with atmosphere - but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Old and historical hotel with atmosphere. Friendly staff, small hotel.Standard Scandinavian breakfast buffet. Given a rather small and boxy room with some disturbance from the street on a Saturday night. Noise carried easily from the other rooms and from the street (old building). The staff, though very friendly, didn't honor any of the perks for holding a best western diamond card.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
6
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Akershus, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The old times meet new times! Behinde the ordinary outside you find a total extraordinary inside. Tip; ...sit in the reception area with a cup of the and let the atmosphere sink in before you have a homemade tasteful dinner.
Stayed two days and love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a two day Conference. Grand Hotel is all you might expect of a small hotel,- charming, very charming serviceminded staff, nice facilities and very nice homemade specialities.

I especially liked there "retro" tuch in the Kitchen,- Norwegian specialities, from the - 60,- 70 ,- made from scratch!

Quiet, nice decorated room,

A small Pearl to be discovered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
264 hotel reviews
Reviews in 273 cities Reviews in 273 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We discovered there is limited parking at the hotel - along the street. It is free from 1800 - 0900 each night. We parked between those times so we did not have to pay for parking. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, answering all of our questions.. He mentioned that there was a small dinner being served the night I was there (Monday) and we enjoyed some tasty chili, yogurt, and bread. It was very nice to find an evening meal awaiting us.

The public areas are gorgeous and reflect a bygone era. The building has been a railroad hotel for over 150 years but it has been lovingly maintained; it even has an elevator which was a surprise considering the building's age. Our room was small but had the high ceilings from yesteryear that made the room feel bigger. It was very nicely decorated with wonderful brocade drapes held back with ropes. You must take a step up to enter the bathroom and we were worried we might trip during the night but all was fine. The bathroom has a nice large deep tub - good for a long soak. The sink was tiny and there was very little landing space for toiletries. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. Our room faced the train station but traffic was quiet all night and we never noticed the trains. It was a warm evening so we had the windows open. Yes - the hotel provides ear plugs but we had no reason to use them. The refrigerator in our room was excellent and kept our items cold.

Breakfast was basic - they had fried eggs, beans and bacon as the hot items and hard boiled eggs, three kinds of yogurt, cold cuts, bread for slicing and cheese. The coffee was good and the juice tasty. We did not leave hungry.

We had a bit of confusion at checkout regarding our room rate (cash vs points) but the staff worked very hard to fix things and we were pleased with the result. You can tell the hotel cares about providing a quality product and takes pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This time in Halden we wanted to try Grand Hotel. We booked a deluxe room. The photos were promising, but when you arrive at a hotel, the reality is often a bit more dull and faded than the photos. But not at Grand Hotel! We entered a lovely reception area where a young guy greeted us welcome. The common rooms and our room were in "English" style and were very well kept and comfortable in every way. The deluxe room was just lovely. But the bathroom was simple and the breakfast was just OK.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Solo traveller. Had 4 nights stay. Great location in the old part of town with short walk to harbour or over pedestrian bridge to other shops.
I rate this high based on the staff, location, room size (308) and breakfast.

Only downside.... Fridges in two rooms i had. The temp is not set low enough and you cant change them. They have no effect on keeping your food cold.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

On arrival, the check-in receptionist was busy serving drinks in the bar. Got the key - went to the room - and noted 2 sets of ear plugs with a note saying - as it can get very noisy at weekends please feel free to use these ear plugs. I checked-in on a Sunday after 14 hours travelling. Perfect nights sleep. On Monday night, having been working just outside the town for over 12 hours, got back to the hotel and went to my room. The noise from the speakers in the bar was terrible. I phoned reception and asked what time they stopped singing and playing guitars - "we have a live entertainment answer till 2 am". That was enough for me to check out the following day and get a good nights sleep elsewhere. The Grand Hotel - never again........

Room Tip: Avoid any room above the bar - but I think the other side is the railway line - so its not ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel

Address: Jernbanetorget 1, Halden 1767, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Halden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries Halden has been the gateway to Norway. The Grand Hotel has a long tradition as Halden’s central hotel, and we wish all guests welcome to enjoy our excellent service and homey atmosphere. Grand Hotel is situated in downtown Halden, less than two minutes from the railway station, bus depot, the town market square and guest harbour. Within easy walking distance you will also find the cultural centre and a number of shops and restaurants. The Grand, with 33 rooms, all with shower, bathroom, cable TV, telephone and wireless internet, has undergone a complete renovation in 2010. With its ideal location, the Grand Hotel is the perfect place for meetings and conferences for small or large groups. We have excellent rooms for all types of private parties and have some quite unique rooms to offer. What about an evening in the old gunpowder storeroom from 1720? You should also try our cosy Grand Bar that has a comfortable pub style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Halden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.