We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but too many mosquitos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Riviera Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Autodromo di Pergusa, 94010 Enna, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enna
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel but too many mosquitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel overnight on our travel from the Western to the Eastern coast of Sicily. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant is ok but mainly for meat (don't bother to order sea food - it's all frozen).
The swimming pool is ok but the water was too hilly for kids to enjoy.
Mind that the hotel is located next to the lake and the place is full of mosquitos, flies, bees, etc. you will be offered anti repellents of course but never ever open windows!!!!!
Minor problem is the usual Sicilian laziness of staff unwilling to do anything at all but maybe it was just too hot....

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm not one to write reviews and to be fair the hotel rooms, and bathrooms were quite large and clean by Italian standards. The food was quite good as well. There were some significant problems. We were there in middle June of 2013 and Sicily is quite warm with few trade winds to cool the place. So after a long day of sightseeing and hiking around we returned in the late afternoon to find the air conditioning was not working. They informed us that they would not turn it on until 7 pm. The room was an oven until that time. Our stay lasted 3 days and we avoided any attempts to relax in the room while there. This appears to be a family owned establishment and the apparent padrone is an elderly man with a rather unpleasant presentation, at least toward me when I asked for A/C.

Additionally the place appears to rely on a business in catering large parties as most rooms appeared empty during this busy season and the dinning room is extremely large. We were unfortunate to be there on a Saturday night and were looking forward to a night of rest after a busy day but they had two parties catered that day and we got very little sleep until late that evening.

In short it is a large and clean place but if you expect comfort and sleep, find another location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed three nights in this friendly lakeside hotel just outside Enna, and loved it. We chose it for ease of parking, and were very thankful we had, once we had driven into the steep narrow streets of Enna itself. The hotel is actually located in the nearby resort of Pergusa, overlooking a lake (the only natural lake in Sicily) and a little-used motor-racing circuit that - bizarrely - runs around its entire perimeter. (There is a one-way system in force for driving, anticlockwise around the lake, but it's only a couple of miles, through pretty woodland, and doesn't take long.)
The staff were delightful and attentive, the room comfortable with a view over swimming pool and lake. Unusually, the bathroom had a heated towel rail, which was brilliant for drying towels etc overnight.
We enjoyed the distant views of snowcapped Etna while waiting for the lift in the morning.
The restaurant was huge, and the first night was filled with a big local party of 100 people of all ages to celebrate "women's day". We ate the same fishy menu as them, and it was delicious. The other two evenings we ate in the hotel's pizzeria.
From the Riviera, we visited the hilltop castle of Sperlinga to the north, the wonderful Roman villa and its mosaics at Piazza Armerina to the south-east, and a curious little museum of railway and local customs in the tiny station of Villarosa, to the west. Enna is just about in the centre of Sicily, so it would have been quite possible to visit Cefalu on the north coast or Agrigento in the south from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were out of season and so the Riviera hotel was very quiet while we were there, although we did have the pleasure of some vintage cars over the first weekend who were staying for a rally at the autodromo. The staff were very helpful, the hotel clean and comfortable, the pool excellent and the food in the restaurent good. We dined in every night. It was obviously a hotel more for visiting Italians than English which we enjoyed. We found it a great place to stay for visits to Enna, the Villa Romana and we even managed a day drive to Agrigento from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Only Italians would build a racetrack around a nature reserve and Sicily's only natural lake!

The hotel itself was much better than we expected from the picture - our room was very modern, clean and spacious, and the bathroom was absolutely enormous! Despite the fact that the season had hardly started and we were one of only a few couples staying in the hotel, the food on offer was quite acceptable.

You can even see Etna in the distance from the upper floors on a good day.

Overall, very good value for money - but as another reviewer said, don't miss the entrance! If you, do you have to go another 2 miles around the one-way system round the lake to get back to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - I can imagine that summer evenings will be idyllic with crickets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I wish I had more time to stay in this Hotel ,very relaxing

I am from Malta

Room Tip: No Problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

on edge of lake, but lake surrounds are a race track.. To arrive you drive 1/2 round the lake and the hotel off on the right. to get back to the main road you have to go round the rest of the way round the lake, which is a pain.

plenty of sun beds, friendly staff, eccentric tv and air con, but quickly fixed when requested.

no idea what it would be like on a race day. excellent and cheap local resturants in pergusa, go down the other dead end race track rd to find them, quite brilliant and unexpected

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Via Autodromo di Pergusa, 94010 Enna, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Enna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Enna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Enna, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.