We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlinstown Court

Marlinstown Court
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marlinstown Court to your Saves list
Marlinstown Court
Old Dublin Road, Mullingar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently visited Ireland for a friends wedding. We stayed here with our son (almost 2 years old). Fantastic welcome from Barbara and Larry who made us feel very welcome. The house is beautiful and has a lovely feel to it. The garden was a good size for our son to play in and plenty of parking for cars. Our room was fantastic, a good size, very clean and comfortable. Barbara and Larry had a cot ready for our son and were very helpful with their local knowledge and looked after us very well. Breakfast are wonderful. We had a truly fantastic stay and loved every minute of it. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a fabulous place. It is 10meters away from Mullingar Park Hotel. We stayed here two nights and we loved every bit of it. We strongly recommend the place to families and couples.
The house is surrounded by flower pots packed with a wonderful range of colours and smell, it is great to see the effort they have placed in making this place truly wonderful. Great secluded parking space at the rear of the house. Good size garden for kids to play around....
Inside, the room was clean, white beddings, large bathroom with good selection of white towels. Tilt-turn windows can be opened to suit the airflow. You may laugh at this as anyone who knows Irish weather would want a perfectly air tight windows and never would wish to open it. But the time we were in the b&b the outside temperature was closer to 30C. Yes we do get great weather :)
Breakfast is worth 4*+
There is a road nearby and it can get noisy during day time, but not many cars pass during night.
Larry the owner & his family are worth mentioning, he is happy as Larry, friendly, welcoming and chatty.
There is so much to see around Mullingar, Belvedere house, Tullynally castle and gardens, numerous loughs(Lakes). Driving is strongly recommended to get between places.
We will go back to this place, no doubt.

Room Tip: We were close to the front part of the property and didn't notice much noise during night, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not only was the ensuite room clean and comfortable (as clean and comfortable as you can get!), but the help of Larry and Barbara went way beyond what one could expect, although I must add that everyone we met on our two-week trip to Ireland was amazingly nice and helpful. We were looking for Carey family connections, and every night when we returned Larry and Barbara wanted, yes, really wanted, to know what progress we had made. At one point I needed something to be printed out from the Internet, and without a pause Barbara went to her computer and, bang, there it was. Without that printout we would not have been able to trace the house where my mother and her family were born and raised. Make this a must stop. A bus ride from Dublin (better than driving into the capital IMHO), and the driver knew exactly where we were staying and dropped us off at night right opposite the hotel, where there wasn't an actual bus stop. The driver knew the place and Larry, from my description, knew the driver. That's Ireland, people: everyone knows everyone. A terrific stay all around.

Room Tip: I think our rooms (we actually used two different rooms at different times) were to the back, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent hosts- Larry went above and beyond in his welcome.. both are very friendly, helpful. Great homemade bread!! Breakfest ideal. Home like feel. Ideal if you have an event on in nearby hotel. Stone's throw away, but superior in its hospitalities.!! Definitely will stay again if I am in the area. Rooms exceptional!!

Room Tip: all rooms are good!! Bathrooms so clean you could eat off the floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had such a great time in this B&B !
Everything was more then perfect... Larry and Barbara are really nice, friendly and warm people. Their homemade bread tasted so good, breakfeast was more then enough.
The room was perfectly clean, the bathroom big, with a nice bath and lots of hot water. Wifi was working very good and free. There was coffee and tea with cookies every day. It was our first trip to Ireland, and there gonna be more cause this was a greap experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tappahannock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved the clean comfortable room, hot shower, wifi, great breakfast and friendly environment created by Larry and Barbara. I would recommend anyone of my friends to stay there. Also, great as a base to visit historical sites in the Midlands, play golf, fish or even day trips to Dublin. Thank you. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Barbara and Larry were so welcoming. The rooms are large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large with a seperate shower and bath and loads of fluffy towels!

Great wifi which is free, tea and coffee facilities in the room and a hearty breakfast in the morning made it a great place to stay. Very convenient too, in relation to restaurants, motorway access and the added bonus of secure parking at the back.

All in all would highly recommend it and am looking forward to my next trip!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlinstown Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinstown Court

Address: Old Dublin Road, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marlinstown Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlinstown Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.