We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa

Save Saved
You added Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa
Belvedere, Mullingar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Mullingar
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The epitome of relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Old world country house hotel located in an amazing setting on the shores of Lough Ennell.. Surrounded by lush countryside, rolling hills & horses. Very friendly & helpful staff, they couldn't do enough for us! A really relaxing break. The spa was a little disappointing as there a few small issues which could be improved on, but are really just a matter of more attention to detail, and would make all the difference. Great food, comfortable lounging areas, fabulous walks in grounds & nearby locality. Entry to Belvedere House is complementary to hotel guests, and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake- it's a beautiful scene to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    151
    62
    30
    28
See reviews for
199
184
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Bloomfield House Hotel on the 8th and 9th of this month and had a great time. We booked the presidential suite, which was a treat and something we had never done before but I must say it was a great move as it wasn't that expensive when compared to a lot of other hotels that we looked at and the room was fantastic.
The staff in the hotel were excellent and every one of them were helpful and very easy to deal with and the food was top class.
I know I sound like I am working for the hotel but genuinely the reason is that we enjoyed the break so much.
One word of advice for the hotel though would be to re-visit the directions given on the website for people traveling from Cork as we were, because they are very out of date and don't mention that you can bypass Abbeyleix, Portlaois and Tullamore and cut about 45mins from your journey but that does not take from the experience in the hotel itself which is, as I have said excellent. |

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I were responsible for arranging a weekend for nine people. We were delighted we picked this hotel. The scenery, the setting and hotel facilities were superb. Everything was top class, the facilities, the food in the restaurant and the wonderful staff--- nothing too much trouble. Many thanks to Adrian for all the help in making our job so much easier. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in the Bloomfield House Hotel & Spa with my family,2 nights, 3 days. When we checked into the hotel, There wasn't much of a friendly welcome within the atmosphere, And also It was really noisy in the lobby area. The decor of the hotel in general was outdated, and needs a new modern decor throughout the hotel. The cleanliness was above average in the hotel. Saturday morning when we all went down for breakfast a waitress showed us our table ever so polity. As for the breakfast menu maybe more choice of variety. I asked a waitress could we have some pancakes? and she said yes no problem. She came back with just the one plate, and i said could i have some for all of us,She had a disgusted look on her face? i don't know why really. So this was very poor service for us. Dinner menu needs to have more of a choice of food. On Sunday morning breakfast was better, and a happier service within. At dinner, the staff were well more nicer and polite. I liked the rooms but needs update also. Hotel needs more things to for teenagers as my two teens were a bit bored. Wifi needs to be fixed and make it better use.I don't know if we will be back to stay but i will for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton, Donegal, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed in the Bloomfield House Hotel & Spa with a group of friends 3 years ago and wanted to return with my husband hoping it would as good as it was then and we booked in for 3 nights rest and relaxation. We availed of the fantastic offer of staying 2 nights B&B including 2 evening meals with the 3rd night free when bookin in on a Sunday, Monday or Tuesday at a cost of only €149pps. We were greeted every time by the most friendly and helpful staff, be that in at Reception, the Bar, the Dining Room, Gym/pool or the Spa. They couldn't do enough for us. The ambience and decor was beautiful as was our room. The food was fantastic wherever we ate in the hotel and compliments to all the kitchen staff. On our last day :( we indulged in a spa treatment that was thoroughly relaxing. Overall this is a truly wonderful gem that needs to be discovered by all and we offer our sincere thanks to all the management & staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely will return with family.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Bloomfield House Hotel & Spa in Mullingar are of the same excellent standard of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here in July 2012 as part of a 40-strong wedding party. I could sum it up by saying that the entire process - from booking to check-out - was superb. But that alone would not do this hotel justice.

It's true that the hotel complex (and indeed the rooms) are spread out over quite a vast area, so depending on the luck of the draw you could find yourself a long way from reception. That is my only problem with this hotel.

The room was more than adequate for a single traveler, with a queen bed, ensuite shower / bathtub, hot drink facilities, wifi and a nice view of the lake. I understand that some of the rooms only have a view of the car park, again this seems to be a question of luck.

The wedding went absolutely smoothly with the ceremony taking place in a gorgeous Georgian-style room, drinks in a nice bar overlooking the aforementioned lake, and the meal held in an atrium-style function room.

About that meal - first class. Amongst the courses were pecan pie, prawn cocktail and salmon, all prepared to perfection. They were even good enough to supply a projector for my needlessly-elaborate best man's speech.

All in all, a fine hotel.

I cannot rate any of the activities, since I was far too nervous to try any of them out, but the cooked breakfast buffet was superb.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a family of five adults, we spent a weekend at this hotel on the first weekend of February.

We arrived at 7pm on Friday evening, and first impressions on driving into the car-park were a bit disappointing and very different from the website photographs. The hotel complex sprawls in all directions with the least aesthetic part facing the car park entrance.

However, the reception area (facing away from the road) was warm and comfortable and the receptionist that evening gave us a warm welcome and checked us in quickly and efficiently. She also gave us spot-on directions into Mullingar itself as we need to make some quick purchases.

To access our rooms we had to navigate the reception area, then down a narrow corridor and then right through the main bar/restaurant to reach the vestibule with the hotel's one and only lift (I did not exagerate the sprawling nature of the hotel believe me). The lift which was very small and halting took us up to our rooms which were located on the first and second floors, but where the room numbers start with 20. . . . and 40. . .. respectively (can't understand why?).

One room was facing the rear of the hotel with a view of a flat-roof etc. but was spacious with a double bed and two singles, whilst the room my husband and I faced the side of the hotel and had a nice enough view of woodland and lakeside. Both rooms were very warm on arrival and we turned the radiators off in both to make them more comfortable. However, overall we were pleased with the rooms and found our stay comfortable. Just one note though - our windowsill had a notice advising guests that in summer there is greenfly and that windows should not be opened as a result. That might make it stifling in Summer?

Breakfast both mornings was a self-service buffet of both hot and cold items - there was a good selection and staff on hand were extremely helpful with everyone being seated quickly.

On Saturday we had a selection of sandwiches with soup for lunch - the sandwiches were cold and had obviously been chilled for a while - not appetising.

However, Dinner on Saturday evening in the Brasserie was really lovely with a good choice on the menu. Each of us tried something different and everyone was very pleased with the standard of food, its presentation and service on the night.

I used the leisure centre swimming pool during my stay and found it to be well-sized and clean, even if the decor is like that in the hotel, a little dated. Luckily I brought a towel down from my room with me, because on my arrival at the leisure centre reception desk, there were no towels available (receptionist seemed mystified as to why) and there were a number of female guests in the changing room who had just come out of the pool and were shivering waiting for towels to be found for them. I think staff had to do a trawl of empty rooms in the hotel to get some.

Overall, this hotel's most outstanding feature is its staff - everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. And it's not that its not a nice hotel - it is - its just that its a little dated and needs a bit more attention to detail. Would I go again? - probably not I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the woods and lake, but not in summer time because the hotel itself warns agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa

Address: Belvedere, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa is located on the shores of Lough Ennell just three kilometers south of Mullingar town. Not only is it the perfect location for relaxation and indulgence, but there are so many great activities onsite and in the surrounding area. Inside the 111 bedroom 4**** hotel, there is plenty for guests to enjoy such as the Stirrup & Reel Bar, Charles Brinsley Restaurant, an impressive Leisure Club with a 20 meter deck level pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, air conditioned Gym and Bloomfield Spa and Laser Clinic. The hotel also offers excellent Conference, Banqueting and Wedding Facilities with over 30 years of hosting truly wonderful occasions. Dining is an occasion at Bloomfield House. The experienced team of international chefs use the finest produce to create imaginative Irish and International cuisine, providing a dining experience that will delight the palate and your senses. Bloomfield House Hotel is conveniently located just an hours drive from Dublin and offers breathtaking views of the Irish lakelands. Here, you will find some of the best fishing, angling, cruises and water sports that Ireland has to offer. But this great destination has a lot more to offer than attractions of the watery kind - make Bloomfield House Hotel your base as you enjoy bowling, paint balling, equestrian, walking and bike rides in this stunning countryside. Culture-junkies will relish a trip to Belvedere House and Gardens, while golf enthusiasts can tee off at the Mullingar Golf Club located nearby. Bloomfield House also offers free passes to Mullingar Greyhound Racing - a guaranteed great night out! There is live music in the bar and a free Kids Club runs every weekend and during the holidays so everyone gets to have fun. Bloomfield Spa and Laser Clinic, a jewel set in the tranquil surroundings of the Bloomfield House Hotel. Escape into a world of pure indulgence and total relaxation. Slip into Ogra Skincare and Germaine de Capuccini Spa World, a place where you will experience the most incredible unique sensations where mind, body and spirit converge to feel an unforgettable and deeply pleasurable experience. Bloomfield Leisure Club is a spacious facility where guests can work out and tone up in a relaxed environment. Guests can avail of the very latest in Health and Fitness with friendly and professional guidance. Nestled amid magnificent parkland on the shores of Lough Ennell, Bloomfield House Hotel offers the perfect country escape with its combination of traditional Irish hospitality, elegant surroundings and modern facilities. The hotel offers 8 Conference and Banqueting Suites, the Stirrup and Reel Bar, The Charles Brinsley Restaurant, Bloomfield Spa & Laser Clinic and an impressive Leisure Club with a 20-metre deck level pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and air-conditioned gym. Bloomfield House Hotel provides a range of facilities to ensure that you enjoy a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. Take advantage of complimentary access to the Leisure Club and Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club Hotel Mullingar
Bloomfield Hotel Mullingar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.