We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Roadhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Roadhouse
Clongowney, Mullingar, Ireland
+353 44 9348335
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $21
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing, again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

On our journey back from Sligo to Dublin one Sunday evening we stopped at The Roadhouse for a bite to eat. I had recalled visiting it some years previously but couldn't remember the experience. It was about 7:30 and the place was empty except for a few customers in the side room which was hidden behind a curtain and was possibly a bar area. I think that the restaurant side of it closed at 8:00 so maybe that accounted for the lack of customers.

We had originally intended to have a full dinner but there was something about the ambiance of the place, the decor, the lack of customers, the temperature (cool bordering on cold) and the menu that made us change our minds and settle for toasted sandwiches (cheese/onion and cheese/tomato) with tea. You can't go much wrong with a simple toasted sandwich, right? They arrived fairly quickly but were somewhat disappointing. Very little attempt had been made at presentation - they were two halves of pan loaf, reasonably well toasted, placed on a plate with a few crisps. Each had a smattering of cheese and managed to deliver very little in the way of taste - it certainly seemed that no seasoning had been applied by the chef. On the plus side, the tea was good and plentiful. The bill for this meager meal was €13,90 - an expensive €4.90 for each sandwich! I certainly wouldn't mind paying that amount for a good toasted sandwich but these were far from good.

On another positive note the staff were pleasant and efficient but overall the place could be so much better.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stop on n4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Looks are deceiving, might think its a truck stop. But needed a break from long drive and didn't want to go into mullingar. Ordered coffees (really good), scones and a great apple sponge with custard. Generous portion sizes so good value. Lunches looked good with varied menu and daily specials. Filter coffee refills. Good decor and chatty friendly staff. First time to stop here will stop again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Good friendly alert Irish staff, that show a bit of interest, food always hot fresh and clean and served nice and prompt,

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Westmeath, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Fantastic overall experience from start to finish. Enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch here very reasonably priced. Great choice on the menu. Lovely friendly staff & great overall atmosphere. Had passed by here many times meaning to stop but never got around to it till today & will definitely be back!! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited here over the June Bank Hol weekend for food. Were in time for the early bird. Great choice of menu from a small to a big meal and will suit families etc. We really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and were chatty as they guessed we were out of town and asked where we had visited that day and suggested where we would go on to next. Will call again when next in Mullingar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadhouse also viewed

Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.