We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next to the railway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Hotel

Newbury Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newbury Hotel to your Saves list
Newbury Hotel
Dominick Street, Mullingar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mullingar
ireland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“next to the railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i stay here when i'm travelling to Mullingar by train. this hotel is right beside the railway station. the hotel is fine. i don't mind the rooms beside the road as i'm a good sleeper. the breakfast is good. They have a great toasted BLT and a pint of Guiness

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazarron, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Blessing in disguise,recent business trip to Ireland, travelling from Spain, we normally stay in the town of Mullingar,where we would usually stay in a certain Hotel, which had been booked up this trip.We where directed to the Newbury,having never stayed before,we were anxious as to what it would be like.We have got used to our home comforts over the years, and we have expectations as to what a Hotel room should be like.We flew into Dublin 12 midnight, picked up rented car, drove to Mullingar arrived at the Newbury (2am) rang the bell.the door opened and we were met by a charming man who guided us to the residents car park,we went to our room, having left Spain at 24c and arriving in Mullingar at 6c, we were frozen to the bone, our bedroom was so warm and inviting, great big bed where my husband and I just wanted to flop into.When we awoke the next morning we were greeted by Jack Frost which was a far cry from Southern Spain.went down to breakfast which there was every kind cereal, fruit,juice etc.we where greeted by lovely friendly staff who offered us full Irish breakfast, which was gladly accepted(delicious) by the way great porridge.,with a free daily paper to read.throughout our stay we where treated like v.i.p`s. this hotel is a family run business and you can tell that,the owners are always there looking after your every need, from now on when we stay in Mullingar it will be at the Newbury and we shall be recommending it to all our friends who visited Ireland.By the way when we where leaving we where given a present of a loaf of homemade Irish bread, which has long since been eaten, can`t wait for the next time.Oh yes for you intended visitors there is a lift and it is very wheelchair friendly which is a must for people who may not be so young and active.great Location for public transport,trains,buses,taxi`s.thank you for a great stay.....adios hasa luego

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel using Booking.com for the night of 8th Sep 2012 but I did not stay because a friend double booked me. I made the booking at 12:15 on 7th Sep 2012. The booking confirmation advised me that I had until 13:15 to cancel the booking. shortly after completing the transaction on Booking.com I found out my friend had booked into another hotel. I therefore cancelled this booking at 12:35 but was advised on the Booking.com cancellation confirmation email that I would still have to pay the full amount €59.00.
I contacted Booking.com custoomer service who advised me that they had contacted the Newbury Hotel and that it was correct that I pay the €59.
On Sun 9th Sep 2012 I called into the Newbury Hotel and spoke to the lady on reception and explained my case to her. No problem she said - I'm the owner. She asked me my name checked the booking system and confirmed that Booking.com had taken the money from my Credit Card. The owner then immediately refunded the €59 back to my credit card account without any further hazzle.
Now that was, in my opinion, a great example of first class customer service. So Thank You Mairead for being so understanding, helpful and nice about dealing with my double booking.

Room Tip: Don't use Booking.com - phone or email Mairead at the hotel direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have eaten in the Bar at the ~Newburiy Hotel in the past and although fairly average it was always OK 'bar food'.
Went back recently and had a very different experience.
Firstly Service was good. Place was clean and staff helpful.

Menu was very poor - no carvery - or Roast dinners. The rest of the menu is basic - paninis, baguets. There are some hot lunches. But the stew we had 3 pieces of meat and a lot of watery stew, plaice in bread crumbs was overdone and more bredded crumbs than fish - very little once opened up.
Tuna wrap with chips - I thought this would be fairly safe, but the wrap looked like something out of weight watchers - very small - not much tuna in it. I could get on with this but the prices I thought were pretty high.

So all in all the bar food was very dissapointing and gone down hill in my view.

Staff were good, and this is not a reflection on the hotel accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent one night at the Newbury Hotel and were delighted with our choice. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our bedroom was very spacious, bright and clean. Private parking to the rear of the hotel, very reasonable prices and a late checkout also added to the very positive experience. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed in the Newbury Hotel for my stag party in April 2012 - as part of a 18-man group and I must say that every member of our group could not speak highly enough of the wonderful welcome that we received, excellent food and well-presented rooms. The hotel manager, Garvan was particularly helpful, efficient and well-organised. Last but certainly not least - the wonderful breakfast that we received the following morning but really appreciated - after a hard night of partying in the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed for one night in a twin room. Center of town. Beside train station. Room well presented, very clean and well equiped. Bath/shower excellent. Linen, towels very clean. Comfy warm beds. Good breakfast which was in the bar - a not very appealing setting. Only complaint was the smell of cooking from the chineese resturant in the basement of the hotel, it seemed to get everywhere! Overall satisfied with this hotel and the service. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Address: Dominick Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.