We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Irish Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novara House Bed & Breakfast

Novara House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullingar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Novara House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Novara House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Dublin Rd., Mullingar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Pebble Beach, CA
1 review
“Best Irish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We arrived in Mullingar in the rain and just happened to see the sign post to Novara House B&B. What luck!! Margaret served us tea & scones in the family room and Richie entertained us with suggestions and just good conversation.
At night we asked for a cup of tea and we again joined them and their son and his girlfriend in the family room and felt like part of the family.
Clean rooms, good beds and good people! What more could you want!!

Linda & Sharon
Pebble Beach, CA

Stayed November 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We were in Mullingar to research some family history when a shopkeeper directed us to "Margaret's" B&B late in the afternoon. From the moment we entered the door, we knew we'd stay. Greeted with tea and scones, we sat by the fireside chatting with the hosts, Margaret and Richie; delightful people who obviously love meeting new people. We said our goodbyes in the morning, but returned unexpectedly the following night after a tiring day of wandering around cemeteries and family records. It was like coming home. A better B&B would be hard fo find anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Only stayed one night at Novara House on our way to West Coast but we left the next morning feeling like we'd made new friends. Margaret and Ritchie certainly know how to look after their guests - nothing was too much trouble. Very clean and comfortable room and only a 5 minute walk into Mullingar for our evening meal. Very well placed, only an hour from Dublin. Definitely recommend this B & B.

Olwen & Patrick, Derby UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGATE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

What a lovely way to be greeted after a long journey by Margaret and Richie with tea/coffee and home made cakes and scones. We had a wonderful Irish cooked breakfast every morning courtesy of Richie, which was thoughtfully prepared for us for at 10 am as we had had a very late night at a family wedding.
Novara House is a real home from home, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Margaret even gave the girls a lift into town so they didn't have to walk in their high heels! The location was lovely and quiet and we would recommend this accommodation to anybody visiting Mullingar or passing through on their way to or from Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We were looking for a b&b an hour outside of Dublin for our last night in Ireland. This b&b was absolutely perfect. We were exhausted from our many days traveling around Ireland and Margaret greeted so warmly and made us a great cup of tea upon our arrival. We had dinner in town (a much bigger town than I thought) and went to bed early. The beds were very comfortable and we had a very good night's sleep. The drive into Dublin is a quick one hour drive on a tollroad and we were at the airport in seemingly no time. If you don't want to spend your last night in Dublin but something a little quieter before your trip home, I very highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed here on a recent trip around Ireland. We were travelling West and decided to stop off in Mullingar (mid way from Dublin to Galway). We ended up staying the extra couple of days in Novara. The B&B is 5mins walk to the Town and in a quiet area with free parking. Novara was clean, tidy and has great owners who were always there to help make us feel at home. Free WIFI was great and the breakfast/scones were very good. We thought the B&B represented great value for the service we recieved. Mullingar is a good location if your into golf, fishing lots of Lake/Rivers, restaurants (Tapas or Oscars) bars (Dannys or Cons). Novara's owners are from the North west of Ireland so they told us about all the best locations. We'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Novara House is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in over our years of travelling. Its located in a nice quiet area on the edge of Mullingar town (8mins walk to center).
We booked through their website www.novarahouse.com & Margaret was very quick to reply to our enquiries via email. When we landed in Mullingar Margaret had sent a text with directions in addition to the local map they have on their website. On arrival we got Tea/Coffee & Homemade Scones! The Scones were yummy! The rooms were spotless (all ensuite) with new beds, the best sleep I had for a while. All rooms have Free Broadband WIFI and it works!. Margaret & Richie were exceptional hosts as they knew lots about the local area, history, sports and families ( we were working on our family tree). They have loads of free parking and because the area is so quiet we felt safe leaving our car & walking to town. In all our years of travel we've never been taking care of so well by a B&B and thus the reason for such a good review...I will definitely be back to Novara... it’s a Gem... Hope you like it and can add to my review and help promote good accommodation when its deserved!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novara House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novara House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dublin Rd., Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novara House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.