We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newtown Farm Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Newtown Farm Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newtown Farm Guesthouse
Grange | Grange, Ardmore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Ardmore B&B and Inns
shropshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“cosy, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This bed and breakfast is in a nice setting, with a beautifully kept garden with bantams, doves in a dovecote, goats, sheep etc and while we were there also puppies to coo over. The hostess is very attentive, welcoming and friendly. We had a room with a view of the sea in the distance, and a balcony. Breakfasts were amazing, with gorgeous soda bread and warm scones, home made jams and a beautifully cooked full irish.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gansevoort, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I were traveling around Ireland on our honeymoon and this was just one of several B&B's and hotels we stayed in on our trip and while we enjoyed all of them on this trip, Newtown Farm Guesthouse was our favorite! The room we had (upper front with a nice balcony) was fantastic and had a wonderful view of the sea. The host was exceptionally friendly and accomodating! We were very pleasantly surprised too to get a menu with several great choices for breakfast. Most B&B's have a very limited breakfast but this location offered many nice choices and it was all delicious! If we are ever back in this area, it will certainly be the place we stay again....and hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

This place is beautiful, well kept, clean, and the lady who runs the place is so sweet. I believe her name was Tricia. This b&b had the best vibe out of all five places we stayed at in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luv2journey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I can't say enough good things about Newton Farm Guesthouse. It was the best B & B we stayed at during our visit to Ireland. Teresa was a very gracious hostess and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We had a very late arrival after a 10 hour drive through Ireland and arrived exhausted. She gave us a good suggestion as to where to go that night for a drink at the pub. The rooms were very comfortable with a wonderful view of the farm and hillside, the breakfast was fantastic, and the whole experience couldn't have been better (except we needed a few more nights there). She gave us a very good suggestion to do the Ardmore cliff walk which was great, do it if you can. Ardmore is a great little village, take time to visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

My friend and I stayed at Newtown Farm Guesthouse in July of 2008. Theresa was amazing--made us feel at home instantly, even though we were running late. There is a working sauna in the house, the room was HUGE and beautiful and the farm animals were adorable. The B&B is centrally located and we used it as a base to explore Cork City, Waterford City, Blarney Castle and Ardmore Town. The breakfasts were delicious and filling, with tons of choice. We stayed in a bedroom with one twin bed and one queen. The twin bed was in it's own seperate area, with a curtain to close it off from the rest of the room. The pictures really don't do the suite justice. One warning: it is about a five minute drive from Ardmore, so a car is a must. The Guesthouse is worth it, though. It was by far the best place we stayed at...and that's saying something since all the places we chose were tripadvisor bests.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

The Newtown Farm is a wonderful B&B. Clean, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast with a great selection! If you are going to be anywhere close on your trip to Ireland I would book a few nights here! We stayed at seven B&Bs over the course of our trip and the Newtown Farm was far and away the BEST!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

What a perfect retreat while in Ireland for spring break! Considered off-season at start of April, we'd do it again at that time happily, avoid tourist crowds. After all, you don't visit Ireland to lay out in the sun at anytime; we had dry and sunny weather, friendly welcome, spacious and elegant bedroom here. Mattress was comfortable, night was quiet, and Theresa was a perfect hostess.
This gem was originally difficult to find because the tour company misrepresented its location, stating it was in Waterford. It's in that county, NOT the city. We called Theresa (had arranged with our cell provider in advance that we'd be in Ireland) from the city of Waterford on our cell and got more specific directions. With her help, we found it in the evening fog. It's 90 minutes west of Waterford, near Ardmore, between Dungervan and Youghal, on the coast.
After we arrived around 7 p.m., Theresa directed us to a nearby pub for pub-grub. Food was okay at the pub, but the breakfast at Newtown Farm Guesthouse was the best on our trip to Dublin and the south coast. Make sure to sample the brown soda bread-- it is fresh, moist, and flavorful!
Headed for Killarney after only an overnight here, next time I'd plan for at least a few days to take in the ocean mist, go for beach walks, or do other of the many attractions she has listed on her useful and attractive website, newtownfarm.com.

  • Liked — It
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newtown Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown Farm Guesthouse

Address: Grange | Grange, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Newtown Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown Farm Guesthouse Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtown Farm Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.