We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel in front of the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cliff House Hotel to your Saves list
Cliff House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Dublin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel in front of the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here recently for an anniversary. Staff were very accomadating and personal from the moment we arrived.

Rooms- The rooms were small with very little room for clothes as the wardrobe was tiny. The handles on the door in the bathroom fell off a number of time, and there was a few scratches on the doors and in general could do with some maintenance in some areas. However the views were breath taking in front of the sea and the decor in the room was tasteful and nice. I stayed in room 33 , it was abit of a hike getting to the other parts of the hotel , seemed abit disjointed, best to pick a room on the reception floor

Breakfast- Breakfast was great with a wide variety and again food to great standard. You are first given, coffee , juices and scones and croissants. Then the breakfast can be ordered. Was great.

Bar and Restaurant- The bar id say was over priced @35 for 2 course when all i wanted was something simple instead of being forced into a 2/3 course meal so i think they could improve on this. Food however was worth it and good quality however portion sizes were small for the price.

The restaurant was excellent and a nice suprise, with an amazing food experience and services. Steaks were lovely and quality was to a very high standard, well worth a visit.

Pool and wellness area- The water stations were rarely looked after and never filled up . The outside area could do with a lick of paint , looked abit run down at times. The outdoor hottub was great and the views again was amazing. The rest of the facilities was very good.

Overall i enjoyed the experience of the hotel but need to highlight some of the areas that i would expect to be of a higher staff.

Thanks to the staff for making it a memorable occasion

Room Tip: ask for a room on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear colin_morrissey

Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback.
We very much appreciate your comments and will be dealing with them forthwith. You will see these improvements made on your next visit.

Many thanks and kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    176
    90
    46
    19
See reviews for
100
664
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived outside the Cliff House we were not impressed as it does not look a five star hotel. However as soon as we entered we were greeted by probably the friendliest receptionist we ever met. She showed us around pointing out all the facilities and told us the history of the place.
The building is very quirky and built on a number of different levels and is an architectural feat. All the bedrooms have sea views. We had a suite which was very spacious and I would highly recommend this.
The Main restaurant was closed so we had dinner in the Bar. This was good by any standards but we would like to return and try out the Michelin Restaurant.There are fantastic sea views from all the Bar areas.
The weather was too bad to go for the cliff walk or explore the area so next time we will go in Summer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Michnall

Thanks for your great review - we look forward to seeing back on a sunnier day and hope you will enjoy your visit to the House Restaurant then too.

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in the Cliff house this summer, we had an incredible room, over two floors with a balcony over the sea. The service from arrival to departure was second to none, you can tell those working in the hotel take pride in their job and is evident in their demeanour and the general experience of staying in the hotel. We were extremely lucky to have visited in May during the unusually hot Irish weather so this really made the stay even more special, views from the balcony were stunning, and the seaweed baths was a perfect way to enjoy the late afternoon/early evening sun in perfect temperatures. obviously its not always going to be as good as that but we heard that people come to enjoy storm watching from the comfort of the plush hotel, sounds great too. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear heavy g

Thank you for your very kind words and I am delighted that you had a sunny stay for which the hotel was designed for! Mind you watching the storms these days in a very cosy environment is quite enchanting also.

Look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in the Cliff House for 3 days in January. We are 2 adults & 2 children under 3! I was slightly nervous of how comfortable we would feel with the children but the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed mid week in January so it wasn't very busy but there was still a lovely atmosphere about - probably helped by the stunning setting. It would be hard to not to be relaxed here. Rooms were excellent / Food was tasty (we ate there only twice) / Breakfasts were well above average / Pool was stunning / Local area was v quiet but what can you expect in Jan. Cliff walk from hotel was gorgeous. We did a bit of driving around local villages but other than that we happily enjoyed the beach at hotel / the pool and the views.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear NiChaoimh

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year hopefully.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights. Had dinner in house restaurant first night which was fab. Had dinner in bar second night , was nice but would expect something a little better as I expected food was all coming from same kitchen. Learnt afterwards it's two different kitchens. Room was fantastic. Pool and spa were fab. Had an excellent experience in the spa by Aileen who was great. Overall a very nice stay. Thank you so much. Well done to mr. Barrels and team

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear IrelandKeekee

Thank you for your lovely review - glad you enjoyed your stay - hope we will see you back again soon in the wilds of West waterford.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here on Saturday 10th of August 2013 (sorry for delay in review!). I proposed to my girlfriend at the hotel, and because I had a couple of requests for the room, all the staff could not have been more helpful.
On arrival I found out we were given an upgraded room, (Aran House I think?),which is by far the most stunning room/suite that I will ever stay in, not to mention the views.
We were planning to walk down to the village before returning to dinner but we were so comfortable and enjoyed the hotel so much we didnt leave the grounds at all!
All the staff, from the hotel manager to the waiters, were the perfect mix of very professional but also warm and friendly.
The Michelin star House Restaurant was well worth a visit, amazing food.
We have great memories from our stay, and will be back soon.
Thanks again to all the staff who went above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Hennessy79

Many thanks for your kind words and review. Congratulations again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon some day.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Cliff House Hotel is a really special place. I was travelling with a journalist so we were given ‘special’ treatment, but it was obvious that the staff care a lot about the hotel. The room was beautiful, with stunning views of the ocean, a huge balcony and a fantastic bathroom. The bed was unbelievably comfortable; we both commented on what a good night’s sleep we’d had. Breakfast was a real treat; unusual options and all to the highest standard. We spent the morning in the spa, which was divine. The hotel was fully booked but it didn’t feel it at all, indeed we had the pool to ourselves for quite a long time. The outdoor Jacuzzi was amazing, with the sounds of the sea occasionally audible above the bubbling. We didn’t get to sample the Michelin starred restaurant, but the lunch we had in the bar was great. All the food is sourced locally and the steak I had for my main course was melt in the mouth. As for the chocolate tart…heavenly is the only way to describe it. After lunch we went on the cliff walk, and were worried about the mud. We needn’t have, as the hotel provides a wide range of wellies for guests to use free of charge. The only minor qualm I have is the décor, which is a bit garish in places, especially in the bar. However, that would in no way stop me from going back, as I enjoyed every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear km22_12

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we really enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you made it around the Cliff Walk in one piece despite the darkness descending!

Hope to see you back some day,

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.