We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault the overall experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cliff House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ardmore
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hard to fault the overall experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Cliff House Hotel in Ardmore village. My room, though not very large, had a lovely view out to sea and a little conservatory area with a big armchair. The room also had a little library, heated floors in the bathroom and a lovely big bathtub. One of my highlights was breakfast in bed - the waiter wheeled in a table that was all set up and the hot food was in a little hotbox built into the base of the table. So we wheeled the laid-out table into the conservatory area and had breakfast looking out to sea.

We also ate in both the bar and the restaurant - both very high quality, though the fine dining in the restaurant was wasted on someone with such a basic palate as I have. I would think foodies would really enjoy it. The wine was certainly great! I was there in December but I imagine it would be very special eating your dinner on a Summer's evening and having the seaview.

Another reason we enjoyed this trip was the location - Ardmore is a really nice seaside village, with some nice pubs (we had a great night in Keevers), art galleries, restaurants, craft shops and of course the beech. And there are lots of nice walks, for which the Cliff House provide Hunter wellies of all sizes for their guests. There are plenty of places to visit, going along the Waterford coast road or towards a beautiful town like Lismore.

Our bill was not small, but we were happy to pay for the great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Archie19

Thanks for your well rounded and descriptive review - glad you made the most of the area and the hotel and do come back in the summer - it's a totally different experience - pick one of those hot summer days we will be having this summer!!

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    142
    79
    34
    14
See reviews for
75
538
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've a few comments to make regarding our stay at the so called 5* Hotel. Firstly I must say the location is wonderful...but I get the feeling that the Management of his Hotel use its location to compensate for the poor over priced service. In particular I would like to mention the following:-
1) Bedroom - small & cramped - bed had those awful old fashioned grey/brown blankets that were in fashion in Ireland 50 years ago.
2)Bathroom - very poor water pressure when both filling the bath & flushing the toilet - bath took an age to fill and as for the Toilet...well the flushing facility was appaling.
3) Breakfast - As mentioned in previous reviews (which Mr Bartels appears to not learn from) the toast was brought out on a cake stand at least 30 minutes before the cooked food - resulting in cold soggy Toast. We had to request our Tea & Coffee - Tea was weak & Coffee cold. But what makes me firmly believe that this is not 5* were the two tiny pots of jam which were topped up each day (finger prints on both pots) and we had to share ONE jar of natural yogurt to have with our fresh fruit -which consisted of a tiny glass of melon with two grapes.
I'm not sure how the Cliff House Hotel gained its 5* Status and I would suggest that to experience 5* service, Mr Bartels should travel to Gregan's Castle in Ballyvaughan because he is obviously not learning from previous reviews.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear kaka56

Thanks for your review.

I am off to Gregan's Castle!

Best wishes
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

PS - The bed throws are handmade in Ardara, County Donegal, by a lovely man called Eddie Doherty. The jam is homemade. Fresh toast is available at all times as is extra yoghurt - feel free to ask. Would be delighted if you could let me know which room you were in and I will have maintenance fix the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went with a party for a "significant event" All were delighted by the hotel, staff, food, rooms, location, service etc etc. The food deserves a review all to itself but it would be criminal not to mention the unfailingly excellent service from the efficient and friendly staff. The view from the rooms, cliff walk, archaeological remains, beach, proximity to Youghal, Lismore; one could go on and on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear pfgtravel

Thanks for your review and for bringing your group.

I am glad that they all enjoyed themselves - hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back either together again or individually.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in this beautiful hotel last week, it was the most amazing experience. I have stayed in many hotels and I have to give the Cliff House Hotel 100%. I loved Ardmore the people are wonderful and the fun is even better. The staff in the hotel are so helpful and kind. If anyone is looking for that special experiance give this hotel a chance. Christina Meehan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Christina

Thanks for your lovely review - really appreciate it and thank you so much. The team were delighted to read them.

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived at night so couldn't see the view, but going down for breakfast the next day is breathtaking. A real destination hotel. can't fault it, pool and surrounding area (outdoor hot tub!) is amazing, breakfast was superb. Sometimes a nice buffet is preferable (cf Monart as the best in class), but in the CH it was superb. Tasty selection of breads, fresh juice (carrot :) ) and service with a smile the whole time. A great touch are the Hunter wellies for the cliff walk, which is a must-do for any stay of more than a night.

Thoroughly 5*, and that's not including the House restaurant, which deserves it's own review!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Brianhc

Thanks for your very kind words - come for longer next time!

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed here many times & it is always fantastic!!! I sent my parents down for my mothers birthday last year & the staff & management could not do enough for them!! being a Chef & Restaurantour I am fussy when it comes to food & service but the Cliff House never let's us Down!!! One of the Best Hotels I have ever stayed in anywhere in Europe!!!! So I would advise you to spoil yourself guys!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear LaBanca

Thanks for your superb review - always a sincere pleasure looking after you and you are welcome back any time of course, as you well know - whenever your business allows of course!

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were travelling down country from Dublin, and took a chance at this hotel as it had been recommended by family. We walked in, and were taken care of right away, and with no troubles despite not having a reservation. (It was Jan., so I would not recommend this method). Our room overlooked the bay, and was lovely. The room was modern, and comfortable it every way. I never did get the hang of the light switches, and turning off one light, and another on, took on the form of a light show. (In joke between me and my partner) The hotel offers a nice spa, pool w/ steam and sauna. The pool area is beautiful. I had it to myself each time I used it, but imagine it might have the echo effect if it was busy. My girlfriend had a service in the spa, but on short notice, her choice of treatments was limited so if that would appeal to you, I would plan a bit ahead as it seemed to get booked up, even in off season
The restaurant is a special item unto itself. The food was prepared as well as one could hope for, in both taste and presentation. I would comment that the meal took a while from beginning to end, not a complaint, just an observation. Each course was an experience. The desert was especially impressive in presentation, and came across as much a piece of art, as a course at dinner. Plan on a bit of time, and enjoy.
The location of the hotel is a bit off the path, but that does lend to its appeal, and to the scenery one has. There are a few nice walks, with a bit of the heritage element to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear airthug

Thanks for your review - very much appreciate you taking the time to stop off and visit us in January and that you enjoyed your stay with us in deepest darkest wintry Ardmore!

Hope you can make it back in the sunny summer some day.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff House Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.