We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel, a Little Pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliff House Hotel to your Saves list
Cliff House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel, a Little Pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here 5-6 times now as it the best in the area where our family live, staff are always very attentive and friendly. Views from the sea view rooms are amazing to say the least. Pool area with saunas and jacuzzi is excellent. The restaurant for me is world class, a really, really good hotel, if not a little pricey. But if you want the best you have to pay for it! Well worth a visit just for the views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear leroyr6

Thanks for your great review - looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    161
    84
    42
    17
See reviews for
86
607
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rossi461
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

recently stayed here as a wedding anniversary present to my husband, as a true foodie, i couldnt wait to get to have dinner on the saturday night, and it certainly didnt disappoint. To say it was just sublime would be an understatement, EVERYTHING about it was amazing, but my favourite dish had to be the Pears 2012, Ridiculously good.
The room was very comfortable, and we had the best nights sleep as the hotel was so quite.
The welcome was very good,being shown to our room, and on arrival we were treated to some lovely fresh fruit and petit fours all complimentary, as i mentioned i had a very amatuer food blog,staff were very attentive and made us feel like we were the only people in the hotel.
Even down to the valet parking, attendant was an absolute gem,lovely man. All in all well worth saving to go again, thanks cliff house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Rossi461

Thanks for your lovely review -- keep up the blogging!

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The visit to the Cliff House was perfect from the off. Car and bags taken with courtesy and calm. Friendly reception and womderful room with a splendid uninterrupted sea view. The location is made for easy walks to and above the villege. A swim in a pool whose edge seems to reach the sea , the perfect preparation for a gourmet dinner par excellence. Service was friendly but never stiff or overly formal, just perfectly professional. The meal wa supreme as indeed was the served breakfast next day. Well worth the splurge , a triumph of taste over vugarity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear pj s

Love your review - really great. Thank you so much.

Come back soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and hubby just back from two nights in this hotel. Food fab, staff fab. rooms fab. Loved the fire in the rooms and the bed are so comfy but loved most the view out of our bedroom in to the sea. We had dinner and food in restuarant was just wonderful. we had time in spa and i did feel the therapist rushed treatment but it was a good treatment. we sat out in hot tub and it rained down on us. Ate in bar for lunch and the chowder was devine. If your looking for a chiiled out, quite break with nice food and confortable surrounding choose this hotel

I must mention that i love food, reading recipes, wathcing cookery programmes. and when i sat down in couch in the room and was surround by half a dozen cookery books to read!!!! Heaven!!!!!! Thank you Cliff house i am planning another visit soon and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: If you dont like lifts ask for one a room near reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear eah2012

Thanks for your FAB review....loved it.

We have a second cook book just published if you want to add it to your collection or come back and read it on your next stay!

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay in The Cliff House. We had a very enjoyable stay. Our terrace suite was really spacious and I really loved the free standing bath . We ate in the House restaurant and the food was amazing. The pool area was fab and the view was great. It was fun finding our way around the hotel as it is split level and reception is on level 5. However we got used to it quickly and it is very well signposted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear 127Anne_MarieB

Thanks for your lovely review - come back soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I cannot comment on the accommodation as I did not stay here but this was my second time there for lunch and I won't be repeating the experience. Our lunch as sadly bad - over priced and just totally uninspired for a restaurant that has a Michelin Star chef. As were having salads we ordered the Panini for a few carbs - it was what it said literally - a ham and cheese panini. Nothing added...zilch. The bread was kinda raw (Cuisine de France fare came to mind, strongly) even. The wine was excellent, the coffee too (but at €4.50 for an Americano despite being served with little sweet treats is crazy) but overall very, very disappointing.
Great location - views - ambiance...but...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear jjaca

Thanks for your review.

Hard to jazz up a panini to be honest but happy to take your suggestions.

It is the House Restaurant that has the Michelin star not the Bar Restaurant as we specificlly want to offer two different menus for our guests.

Please don't be afraid to try us again and maybe try something different on the menu.....

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice for a relaxing overnight getaway and it is perfect. From the minute you arrive, the staff are so helpful and friendly. You relax immediately. This place is a little corner of heaven. The rooms are lovely. The spa is excellent. The taster menu in the restaurant has to be experienced. To slowly savour all the wonderful courses with the suggested wines is such a luxury. It took us 4 hours to eat our dinner! Staff were superb, and the sommelier's introduction to the wines was entertaining and informative, but not stuffy or snobby in any way. Breakfast was really lovely, and just right after 8 courses the night before!
I came back a few weeks later to have dinner in the bar with 5 girlfriends and I was actually quite disappointed. The bar food is only very average. Some of the food was quite tasteless and bland. I know I had huge expectations after my experience in the restaurant, but I had eaten lunch in the bar a year ago and it was very nice. This time, it was like the food came from a different kitchen.
I will definitely be back to stay over and have dinner in the restaurant, but I am unlikely to choose the bar here for an informal dinner again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottler1984, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear nuggies186638

Thank you for your review and comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Indeed the bar food does come out of a different kitchen but since your stay we have made improvements so please don't be put off to try it again on your next visit.

KIndest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.