We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Nenagh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Park House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ashley Park House to your Saves list
Ashley Park House
Ardcroney | Free internet, Nenagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Nenagh B&B and Inns
Ramsey, null, Isle Of Man
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Nenagh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have recently returned from a trip to Ireland and our stay at Ashley Park House was one of the highlights! The house is amazing and decorated to a high standard - even 4 poster beds! Margaret even cooked us an evening meal which was excellent and great value for money.
If you are staying in Nenagh make a beeline for Ashley Park House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasue to meet you and your friends. If you have time to send on those wild life photos you took early each morning I would love to see them.
All the very best,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
76
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co CLare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was surprised by a trip to Ashley Park House a few weeks ago for my Birthday. What a gem. It is a stunning 18th century house with a lot of original features. We were greeted by the owner Margaret, who was very welcoming.
It was a beautiful sunny day and we took the boat out on the private lake for a relaxing hour. Then off to explore the beautiful walled garden , which is being restored as we speak. Fabulous.
Dinner was served in the dining room. Blue book quality food. Washed down with a very nice savignon blanc. We retired to the sitting room where we met some of the other guests and spend a lovely hour chatting around the fire.
Brekkie was just as amazing.
Highty recommend for a romantic night away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Pauline,

Thank you so much for the great review. We are very keen on good food, good wine and making sure our guests enjoy their stay.
I hope you can come back again soon.
Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I and our dog, Lucy had a great overnight stay last week in this beautiful House. We were met on arrival by a very friendly and helpful girl called Sinead, who when we returned downstairs from leaving our luggage in "The Presidents Room", had a lovely pot of coffee and fruit cake ready for us in the Drawing Room. After a beautiful walk around the grounds, still under some refurbishment but with the lovely setting of the lake, very enjoyable, Lucy had a ball too exploring!! We had a pre booked 5 course dinner, which we can both honestly say was one of the best meals we have ever eaten, so freshly cooked and so well presented. Breakfast was up there in the ratings too, such a huge choice and so much good food. Thanks to Margaret and all her staff for making us feel so "at home" and relaxed. Wish we could have stayed for longer, but we will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowe vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A highlight of any trip to Ireland is to stay at Ashley Park. We recently were privileged to stay there twice (Aug 30 and Sept 5 2013 ). The accommodations,food, and ambience were superb. Margaret and her staff promptly took care of all our needs. We will always remember coffee and Irish whiskey by the fire in the drawing room after an outstanding dinner.

jlinde2548

Room Tip: red or blue rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were delighted to find that Ashley Park could take our booking having read reviews by others. The welcome and the setting more than met our expectations.
The ongoing refurbishment of this lovely old house didn't intrude on our stay at all - we had the run of the house and Margaret and her staff made us feel at home. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue room - didn't stay in it, but it looks superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on the occasion of my best friends wedding. From the moment we passed through the front gate until the moment we got into our cars to leave it was wonderful. The staff is accommodating and friendly and of all the wonderful locations on the property to have the ceremony, my friends were able to find the perfect spot under a giant tree. We had excellent food in the gorgeous dining room and danced in the driveway until well after dark. More than once or friend remarked that she was having a JAM, our abbreviation for a Jane Austen Moment. Thank you to Margaret and everyone else for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and chuffed to hear you though of Jane Austin when you were at Ashely Park House! I hope we will meet again soon.
All the very best,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fabulous house & grounds overlooking a beautiful lake. Margaret welcomed us with open arms, and she and her staff looked after us and our every whim, for our overnight stay. We were 3 ladies meeting up for a reunion & it was the perfect retreat for us. Rooms are fabulous & are decorated and furnished of the period of the house. Crisp linen sheets & really comfortable beds. Breakfast (home cooked to order) was amazing. Margaret is a warm & friendly host, and the impression I got, is that no request is a problem. Well worth a visit for that "getaway from it all break".

Room Tip: Lake view is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Park House

Address: Ardcroney | Free internet, Nenagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ireland lies Ashley Park House. An 18th century country house offering the visitor bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation on the grandest scale. From the moment you arrive, you are aware that this is no ordinary B&B - Ashley Park House provides a setting of unmatched tranquility and peace. A worthy respite from the rigours of modern living. Set in 76 acres of beech woodland and formal gardens, the historic country house sits on the shores of Lough Ourna, giving the visitor ample scope to pursue a wide range of activities including fishing, golf, sailing, horse riding and hiking. What better way to end the day than with a full four course dinner and wine in the red dining room, surrounded by gilt mirrors and gazing over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashley Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.