We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
Ready for a picnic on the lawn outside Blackberry Cottage?
Breakfast time in Blackberry Cottage
Blackberry and Primrose Cottage set on 1.5 acres. Individual front and back gardens + driveway.
Lunch in the back garden of Blackberry as June temperatures reach 26 degrees Celsius in the shade !
Nenagh
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marcusand...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and a 5 star accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what can we say! Wonderful......We came for a family gathering and at the same time a to relax and enjoy all that part of Ireland can offer. It was certainly relaxing as the cottage was set in magnificent grounds, was so peaceful and it all seemed brand new. We wanted for nothing as everything, including a starter food pack was provided. There was a fantastic wood burning fire(but also central heating if required). The bedrooms (2 on suite) were very comfortable with the beds perfect. We loved the cottage, the amenities and the lovely villages surrounding. We went to the nearby lake for a stroll and ended up canoeing! A first time for everything, the instructor was very patient and we had a great time. In summary we loved the cottage, the surrounding countryside and will go again. Alison ( the owner) met us and left us her contact number - she was very knowledgable even showed us how to get to the local shops.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort and peaceful
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and enthusiasm for Blackberry Cottage and our special corner of Ireland. We are so pleased you enjoyed the lake which is gorgeous at all times of day and at any season of the year. There is of course much more to see and do both in our immediate area and the rest of the county, if you want to alternate day trips with relaxing local walks and sampling the local eateries. Next time, perhaps try a trip to Galway or County Clare, you will find many places accessible for a day out.
There will always be a genuine welcome for you whenever you are ready to visit us again at whatever time of year you choose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mary S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage for a peaceful family get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family (2 adults and 3 older children/teenagers) stayed in this cottage for 4 days and wished we had longer. It was a great place to stay with loads to do in the area. Having said that the location was also rural and very peaceful.
The cottage, itself, is spacious, very clean and had fantastic facilities (2 bedrooms were en suite in addition to the main bathroom). After a long journey we really appreciated the generous welcome pack left for us. The high quality household utensils were better than usually found in holiday accommodation and as good as some homes. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful with lots of information about the area - we would particularly recommend the kayaking!
We were visiting family so didn't get time to explore as much as we would have liked!
One minor point - slightly more detailed instructions on how get there would have beed good, although we did manage to find it!
We would love to go back again, and stay for longer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great house - Felt like home!
Liked least: Slight unease when trying to find it first
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank You ! Great to have guests who are keen to explore our locality and we are always happy to offer help and advice on local places and activities on foot and by car. Yes, we are located in a rural location close to the lake and understand that it can be quite hard to find us particularly if guests arrive at night ! We are always happy to meet and guide guests and have done so on several occasions.
For directions,we suggest guests look at our website page (which we are permitted to provide once a booking has been confirmed) on the 'contact and book' page where very detailed directions including road numbers and GPS co-ordinates are to be found. We do provide contact phone numbers and e mail for guests to reach us .
Hope to see you all again and maybe take the kayaking to the next level !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
arye m
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“beautiful cottage that includes everything one needs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage is the countryside, quite, surrounded by green fields with a lake near by. The only problem with the cottage is that its far from tourists sights. Has all amenities available. Looking forward to returning for another visit.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The house was very spacious with washing machine and dryer.
Liked least: mattress was too soft.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to welcome visitors from Israel and that you were pleased with the cottage.
In actual fact, Coolbawn is fairly centrally located for visiting the rest of Ireland !Additionally, there is an abundance of activity, not simply confined to the lake, also a wealth of history right on the doorstep. I truly hope you will return to us and take a look more locally next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RemmiAgbe...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage, amazing scenery and lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My second visit to this lovely cottage. An easy flight over from Liverpool and then arrived at the cottage within the hour. Blackberry Cottage is spacious and has everything you could need especially with the broadband facility. The garden has lovely views and there are plenty of great walks around the area. We camped out in Portumna one night and had a day in Terryglass by the lake.
Hope to return soon...

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review - you are always welcome and there is still plenty more to see and do !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$121
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Alison M
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 13 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing