We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large spacious hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Court Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
kilkenny, ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“large spacious hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

just stayed for one night , with friends. rooms were decent and we even had a double with an attached 3single room. would be ideal for families. breakfast was very nice. lovely fruit salad. there was a wedding on the night we stayed and music could be heard through the windows. overall., had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    34
    20
    18
See reviews for
91
75
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I are touring South West Ireland and made an overnight stop in Nenagh. Co Tipperary. Upon entering the hotel we were impressed by the well presented reception and a warm welcome from the receptionist. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern. There was an international tour party staying at the same time (2 coach loads), which did not impinge on our enjoyment. We dined in the bar area (same menu as the main dining room) and we were given a choice of set menu or A La Carte. The food was very tasty and served by a friendly waiter. Service was very good. The bar also has a nice ambiance.
The reservation was made on-line, with a special offer rate inclusive of breakfast.
We found the short stay very comfortable.
There is also a spa and swimming pool and leisure centre available FOC to guests.

Room Tip: There are a number of floors with a lift/elevator available, but the walk through corridors to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel. We loved the spacious room and the unbelievably comfortable surroundings. The staff were second to none for friendliness and service. I just cannot understand why it is not a four star hotel. It definitely ticked all the boxes for us!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rarely do I arrive at an hotel and be impressed without reservation throughout my entire stay, albeit it was only twenty-four hours. The receptionist was welcoming and friendly and the porter helpful at transporting my luggage.

This hotel provides comfort in a friendly atmosphere. My bedroom was comfortably furnished and even had a free safe and that provides peace of mind. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Lots of parking and lots of seating around the manicured lawns and gardens.

The breakfast from 7 to 10.30 was an excellent spread with a wide choice of food and friendly and efficient service. Many hotel gyms and health suite facilities are simply an add on but here you have an well equipped gym and a good sized swimming pool.

Whether one is travelling on business or even for a family break this hotel is ideal and the town of Nenagh is a large provincial and interesting town. Worth another visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

just having stayed here must say everything was good about this hotel

leisure centre excellent
restaurant excellent and the food was great you definitely will feel full after a meal here
breakfast also great and give you a good start for the day
rooms ar big and very clean and well cared for

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a stay in this hotel for my husband and I for a weekend break and we were both very happy with it, we had a good sized room with a lovely view out over the landscaped gardens. I was surprised this is only a 3 star hotel. The pool was a good size and the best thing was the hydro pool which was basically the biggest jacuzzi I was ever in, there was also a steam room, sauna and kiddies pool. There is also a spa on site. The gardens were a nice touch and were very attractive. We ate in the bar on the first night and the food and service were very good. We found all the staff very helpful and efficient. Loved the comfortable wing back chairs in reception, great for relaxing and chilling out. The hotel itself is only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Nenagh.

The hotel is showing it's age in that the decor is a bit tired in both the hotel and pool area but we both put that down to age as the hotel was very clean. So maybe a little investment in the decor is required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here on business over a period of 4 days, my first take on the building was wow, it looked like a old abbey with a large fountain on the approach to this impressive facade with a public house/ restaurant.
When you entered a large reception foyer with a very large staircase leading up to the 3 floors ,
The reception was manned 24/7 and the lady who greeted me was very warm and welcoming. The foyer was informal with comfy seating and free wifi.
To the right the bars and left the spa treatment rooms including the gym and swimming pool.
My room was based on the third floor overlooking the car park which has CCTV covering it.
It was clean and tidy but starting to look in need of freshening up. Again the room had WIFI and tea and coffee facility's .
The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful and hot.
The bar menu was nothing special to write home about, but the steak was cooked as I asked for it and came with a choice of veg, I recommend the onion loaf..
Breakfast was a choice of either full Irish breakfast of choice of meats and yogurts and cereals . But plenty of choice. Overall a nice place but due to working I never made full use of the facility's on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking , since they have both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.