We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abbey Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nenagh
calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night based on the most recent reviews on tripadvisor. This was the worst hotel that we stayed in while we were travelling through Ireland. It is in need of a cheery makeover, everything looked drab. The bathtub in our room was not cleaned after the previous guest had checked out. The hotel front staff could be more customer service oriented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
77
63
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have stayed here many times over the years and have only been a less frequent visitor with the opening of the new motorway. It is so easy to get home now that if it isn't too late I will make the drive to Belfast rather than breah the journey! Anyway I was working in the town so had a two night stay recently. Still as good as ever with friendly, welcoming staff and comfortable rooms. The food is very, very good - even better than I remember it from previous visits.It really is a pleasure to stay here and I have always been amazed at the keen room rates.

I would, quite obviously, warmly recommend the Abbey Court based on my experiences here.

One complaint! On previous visits there used to be a bowl on the reception counter with crystal clear water and a couple of fish swimming - such a pleasant sight! Would be nice if this could be brought back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival into Nenagh on the first night of our honeymoon, myself and my wife had originally booked into another location only to be disappointed with what we had arrived into. We planned to have our dinner in the Abbey Court Hotel however we also decided to check the availability of a room there as well. The staff / management at Abbey Court where exemplary with customer service second to none, upgrading our room as well as the added touch of a glass of champagne on the house. It really set the tone for what was to be an excellent journey travelling the length and breadth of Ireland. Would I stay there again? absolutely. Thank you for a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and myself have stayed here 3 or 4 times, just for one night breaks for ourselves.
We like to do the dinner B@B, which we have found to be good value.
The rooms are grand , bathroom clean etc. The food was lovely really enjoyed our meal.
They sat the couples in a little room of the main restaurant from the hustle and bustle of the main
room. it was nice as there were families with kids and we were trying to have a quite time. The waiting staff were very nice and helpful.
We will be going back for birthdays and anniversary's etc

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Nenagh for a nephew's wedding nearby and opted to stay at the Abbey Court Hotel,and we quickly knew we had made the correct choice.
Having travelled from Dublin airport with JJ. Kavanagh bus we had the good fortune to arrive in time for lunch at the Abbots carvery the service was efficient but most important was the quality and variety of the food available at a reasonable cost.
We were warmly greeted by the owner and the level of hospitality was really top class through our stay.
Our room was spacious and well furnished and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel whatever your needs. They were also hosting a wedding and to see the displays was really impressive

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

With Nenagh being off the beaten track, this excellent value hotel may not be getting the traffic it deserves. Most of the tourist traffic may tend to head for the resorts close to the Shannon Estuary and Lough Derg, such as Killaloe. However, Nenagh, and the Abbey Court are an excellent jumping-off spot for all the surrounding attractions, being within a few miles of the lakes and even a short drive to Limerick on the N7. Breakfast in the Abbey Court is 5-Star. And the staff seem to anticipate the guest needs without the need to ask. The Hotel itself is quite dated inside, but very clean, with large rooms and large comfortable beds. The grounds contain many little nooks, surrounded by neat hedges and large rose-beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'super-king' bed, overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hi,
I spent two nights in the family room together with my wife and my son (15months).
What I found really excellent are the people in the hotel and in the Nenagh area.
They took care of us as VIP since the moment we enter in the lobby.
I highly recommend this hotel to family since the creche and the indoor swimming pool are great for family fun and relax!
Regards
Guido

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.