We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Restaurant than Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant

The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant
Kilruane, Nenagh, Ireland
353 67 41444
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Nenagh
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at the Fairways Bar. Just a five minute drive from Nenagh town centre, and a mere one minute drive from Nenagh Golf Club, this award winning bar and restaurant has an extensive menu and is renowned for its seafood specials. Our chefs pride themselves on using only the finest local produce whether it be from land or sea. At The Fairways we cook everything from fresh. We make all our own ice-creams, flavoured butters and breads in-house. At weekends local diners can avail of a complimentary Daimler Limousine service. Our mantra is "Love Food & Love The Fairways".
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
“More Restaurant than Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This place is a couple of miles from the main road, so your very unlikely to happen upon it. We were on an Ulsterbus Tour, and we stopped off for a spot of lunch. The staff were ready, and waiting for us, which was nice, as we only had a short stop. It's a lovely looking restaurant/bar, and the staff are friendly and chatty. The golf course is just up the road, and I'd imagine they get a lot of their customers from there. The problem is, because it's so remote, you have to drive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apple1tipperary, Public Relations Manager at The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Letterkennycaint,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We regularly greet coach tours here at The Fairways. We are not too far from Nenagh town - just over 3 miles and very close to Junctions 24 & 25 on the motorway. Nenagh is a bustling town with a fantastic reputation for food and we are delighted to include ourselves in that stable. While we enjoy a strong local trade, our food and reputation attracts diners and visitors from afar. We have a great clip on YouTube that we feel represents us in our true light and that is how many diners have discovered us. We love interacting with our coach tours. Your driver takes a scenic route for your drive to The Fairways. This gives passengers an opportunity to enjoy the local scenery. I hope, like many of your fellow passengers, that you decide to take a tour with Ulster Bus again. We would very much love to see you return!

We have strong connections to Letterkenny with our owner's sister living there - Joan loves visiting Donegal - loves her trips to McElhinney's Store in Ballybofey.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been to the Fairways a number of times and always enjoyed the meal and the ambience. I recently had lunch there, two courses for about €16. My companions has excellent dishes and were very satisfiied. I ordered chicken and broccoli bake for the main and it was bit dry/over cooked. That aside the lunch was a great success, the staff were very friendly and there was a nice buzz to the place. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apple1tipperary, Public Relations Manager at The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Lisa Jane,

Thank you for your feedback on your lunch visit to The Fairways. We do think that our gastro pub is a "little gem' also. We pride ourselves on our lunch menus. We are open 7 days a week for lunch. Lunch menus change each and every day. We give our diners a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts from Monday to Sunday. Mid Week diners avail of complimentary tea/coffee with their main course. Your time and effort in posting a review is very much appreciated. I am delighted that you are recommending The Fairways. We look forward to your return visit. I have passed your comments to the entire team and I sincerely thank you on their behalf.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks for a lovely night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a beautiful meal in the Fairways last weekend. The staff were so friendly. The turbot fish was divine, I would highly recommend it.They gave us a complimentary starter which was such a lovely touch. The warmth and atmosphere in the place really complimented the food. Thanks for a great night to all in the Fairways.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apple1tipperary, Public Relations Manager at The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
On behalf of The Fairways, I sincerely thank you for your most favourable review. The front of house team thoroughly enjoyed interacting with you and your party. Here at The Fairways, we appreciate all feedback. I have passed your comments to the kitchen and they thank you also. We hope to see you again soon at The Fairways. Remember that we do have a complimentary Daimler Limousine service available to local diners at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fab Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Cosy atmosphere great for venues or occassions, iv been here afew times and cant fault the place. Staff ar friendly and service is great and more importantly food is delish ;0)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apple1tipperary, Public Relations Manager at The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the entire team we thank you most sincerely for doing so. Here at The Fairways, we value feedback from our customers. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Special Retirement lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lovely warm friendly atmosphere and great food and so reasonably priced. Joan and Timmy made it special and took the photos. A memorable lunch made special by all at the fairways.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apple1tipperary, Public Relations Manager at The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Lynda,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is much appreciated by the entire team here at The Fairways. We thoroughly enjoyed interacting with your group. We look forward to seeing you again at The Fairways and we wish your colleague the best of luck with his retirement.
Kind regards,
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant also viewed

Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 

Been to The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairways Bar & Orchard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.