We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tra Ban Restaurant

Tra Ban Restaurant
Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Strandhill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited the Tra Ban for dinner during our stay in Strandhill. The steak was second to none - great service, friendly staff, will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    27
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tra ban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

great food,lovely atmosphere, Just a great night out. bet you that you will be back. When you leave and head down stairs you will be met by lovely live music that could delay your departure for a wee while, enjoy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food is very poor and lacks flavor, little imagination on menu also. Service was good if a little to quick, not much time between courses.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I am amazed that anybody would have a negative review about this restaurant. There really is no pleasing some people. This restaurant is top class. The food & service is always amazing. I have been many times & have never been disappointed! The fillet steak is to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Valentines on Sat 15th Feb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had booked my email and stated that it was a late valentines dinner. They had a set valentines menu or the choose of the full menu. We have been looking forward to a romantic night away from the baby. Unfortunately we where placed in a room with a birthday party of about 12 people or so, we couldn't hear each other at all. The starter was amazing and we thought the house wine was the niced selection we have seen in a long time. The main was lovely, it was just spoilt by the pesto mash and small portion of sides for 2 people, we sent it back and asked for chips. Where weren't given any opinions of side's when ordering..... The desert was also lovely. The party left as we where having our desert and the atmosphere changed completely and became a lot more relaxed. Its a pity our request wasnt listened to but the food with a few changes to ordering was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Ban Restaurant also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Strandhill, Sligo
 

Been to Tra Ban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tra Ban Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.