We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Venue

The Venue
Top Road strandhill | Sligo, Strandhill, Sligo 0000, Ireland
353 71 91 68167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Strandhill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love this restaurant. One of my favourite places to eat in Sligo. Every year we go to Sligo for the Easter weekend and we have to go to The Venue. Such a treat. Delicious food everytime we go. Quality of food is excellent and prices reasonable. Staff very friendly.
Love all the seafood dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great view.pity about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I took our extended family to this well known bar/restaurant in beautiful Strandhill Co. Sligo Ireland. the bar area is small and while we waited for some of our group we had a drink. All good so far. We sat down at table, to what must be one of the finest views over Sligo bay and had a look at the menu.Three of us went for the crab claws, two for the fishcake, while I went for the chowder. The crab claws and fishcake were real winners, my chowder...if it was a chowder consisted of cream (couldn't taste any fish stock) and pieces of fish, it was tastles. For the main course, four had the fish (very tasty) one had filet steak (over done, even though he asked for medium rare) one had the crab claws (main course) very good and another the 'Thai style' salmon. Now I've eaten worse and I must say the food was good, but the waiting!perhaps it was because we were a party of 6 adults and three children that I felt it long and everyone ate what they got, but I felt the restaurant let itself down, by the slow service and the chowder,steak and that the veggies were cold and we were nearly finished by the time they were served. I will give it another chance as the waitresses were very friendly and helpful and give it the benefit of the doubt

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, Amazing Chicken Wings!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Staying in the Strandhill Lodge and Suites, we had booked a table for 5 in advance. Lovely restaurant was very busy, very comfy and the menu had a great selection. Everything was delicious and the chicken wings blew me away!! Great service by a very nice waitress, a wonderful atmosphere and a truly great night. Thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountbellew
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ate in both the restaurant and Benwiskin Bar while staying in the hotel. The food in both was excellent, with a good selection. As with hotel, staff so helpful and friendly and good value for money

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“everything is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have eating here several times.. its absolutely amazing.. Go on a Friday for the steak night.. its great value..my boyfriend had the steak he thought it was amazing.. such a big feed. I had the crab claws to start they are delicious.. everything is nice on the menu especially the chicken wings. they're the best in Sligo fact. I would eat here every week if I could

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venue also viewed

 

Been to The Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.