We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chancellor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chancellor Hotel to your Saves list
The Chancellor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 North East Avenue, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Fayetteville
Linn Creek, MO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Chancellor Hotel has been wonderfully renovated. We felt like we were in a hotel in Vegas and not Arkansas. The hotel staff was great. We enjoyed that it was within walking distance to Dickson Street which made for a fun and safe New Year's Eve. There were some negatives that we encountered though. First, the room that we were in was close to a stairwell and elevator area. This made for a sleepless night, especially on NYE. The stairwell door is VERY loud when it closes. There needs to be a soft close hinge on it because it just sounded like someone was slamming the door all night long. The rooms are not very sound proof - as we could hear full conversations of the room above us in the bathroom. Also, our heat/ac was not working so we had to just unplug the unit. It would not change from 74 degrees at all. The (year round) salt water pool was closed due to inclement weather. We called the front desk to ask about this and they said that it was because it was raining....were they afraid we would get wet? We were told they would check with the engineer to see if they could open it and would call us back but they never did. It is an inside/outside pool but it is listed as year round - so we assumed it would be heated and we could at least swim in the inside part. We were also hoping for a hot tub but the hotel does not have one. The beds were very, very soft, and so close to the floor. They were hard to get out of and to sleep in because of the softness. They do not have box springs under them so maybe that causes some of the issues. We all tossed and turned all night - because of the noise and the beds. Overall - the hotel is gorgeous, the lobby, bar and restaurant are great, the rooms are well appointed. We just were not thrilled with the rest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and concerns regarding your stay at The Chancellor Hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority; we value your thoughts with high regard. We sincerely apologize for the level of noise on New Year’s Eve. Please understand that this was a special event and this situation is not a normal occurrence. In answer to the pool being closed it is standard procedure in inclement weather to close the pool, especially with lightening in the area, for the safety of our guests. We will certainly investigate your concern regarding the mattress, as we have had nothing but positive reviews thus far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    13
    11
    1
See reviews for
36
29
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The renovation is very well done. Shower is great! The bellman Said/Sayed (sp?) was very friendly. Housekeeping did an excellent job.

The only negative we could find was:
- the blue glow from the thermostat facing the bed made it difficult to fall asleep

Room 1015 faces College Ave with a view of the old courthouse and the hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
First of all, we want to thank you for staying with us. Secondly, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We're so glad to hear that you're happy with our renovation.

We hope that you will stay with us again during your next visit to Fayetteville.

Kind Regards,


Paige Smith
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Chancellor is a well appointed semi-modern hotel. The lobby was well decorated for the holiday season. The location is very nice. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. The room I stayed in (standard king) was quite adequate and spacious. The view was great as well. The only negatives I would point out are the following:

•My wife felt the shower pressure left a little to be desired.
•The hotel didn't have any ppv movie channels.
•The coffee was mediocre.

That is being nitpicky. The hotel has a terrific bartender. The restaurant wasn't awe-inspiring, but it was pretty good.

Overall, I rate the hotel as very good. If I ever stay in Fayetteville again, I will stay at the Chancellor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
First of all, I want to thank you for staying at our hotel. We know that you have choices, and appreciate you trying our hotel. I also want to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are always open to hear the good things, but also areas we can improve on to meet our guest's expectations. I'm glad to hear that overall you were pleased with the hotel and had a great stay. It's always good to hear that we will be your hotel of choice upon returning to Fayetteville.

We haven't had any complaints with the water pressure, however, that is being addressed with our Chief Engineer first thing this morning. Being an independent hotel, we made the choice to not have PPV, based on the fact that so many people have their laptops and have the ability to use Net flicks, etc. I do appreciate your comments on the Restaurant and Lounge, and will pass on your compliments to the Owner, Managers and Bartender.

We look forward to your return, and once again want to thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards,



Paige Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We are actually staying here right now as I type this! Our home is under repairs from water damage & we had to move out for a few days. Wr are on the 14th floor in the VIP suite. VERY spacious, well decorated & VERY comfy bed!!!!! The lobby is all decorated nicely for Christmas and the staff has been very friendly. Bar last evening was packed & lively and bartender very friendly. Looking forward to dining here today as we have always enjoyed Theo's restaurant here in Fayetteville.

Excellent downtown location & we enjoyed walking the square last night looking at the Lights of The Ozarks. Free parking with your room key and easy access to many eclectic restaurants.

Looks like we will be dining here on Christmas Day also. Having a great stay, will definitely recommend it!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the rave reviews!! We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We also appreciate you choosing to stay wiith us, as we know you have choices. We're sorry to hear that your home was damaged, but so glad The Chancellor Hotel can be your "Home Away from Home." Don't hesitate to let any of the staff know if we may assist you during your stay, or after you're able to return to your home.

Kind Regards,

Paige Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2-day visit to beautiful NW Arkansas. We stayed at The Chancellor and were relatively pleased with the overall experience. We've stayed in the hotel before several times, first when it was initially a Hilton hotel, then later when it was a Radisson hotel. This was the first time we had stayed at The Chancellor.

The new decor is terrific. The ground floor is well laid out, the elevators are responsive and we found the room service to be quick and the food tasty. The rooms (we had a suite) were spacious and well-appointed, with large flat-screen TVS in both rooms. All the appliances worked perfectly. The bathrooms were modern, clean and well-stocked with essential toiletries.

There were some negatives, however. The mattress on the king-sized bed we had was very soft and made sleeping more difficult than it should have been. The fan on the air conditioner ran constantly and was very noisy, although the room temps were fine. (We had experienced this same HVAC problem before when the hotel was both a Hilton and a Radisson.) The clock radio was a weird model that was difficult to operate.

Considering its competition in the area, The Chancellor is the best hotel around, but it does have some room for improvement. We recommend it with no hesitation, just the caveats above...

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors of the west side have a great view of Old Main on the U of A campus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Northwest Arkansas. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your overall experience, and for reviewing us on trip advisor. Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns with the mattress and the fan on the air conditioner. We have had nothing but rave reviews on our mattress and will inspect the room that you stayed in. We anticipated having 250 of these units to run into an issue with a few of them, which we are addressing. We look forward to having you come back to the hotel and have you stay with us again. Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend and was very pleased with all the improvements. The lobby now is very modern, sleek and has a great placement of the bar. It gives you the feeling that this is definitely the place to be and be seen on game day. The lobby was all dressed up for Christmas,(well done), and the staff could not have been nicer. The room had the same modern touches and it looked like they took it down to the studs and started all over, new everything. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have stayed in a hotel, with a fluffy white down comforter, and huge pillows. We had dinner at the restaurant which carries the same theam of the hotel with a southern style menu with an edge. My son had duck pot pie and I had shrimp with cheese grits. Yum! This hotel is right off the square which is a great location for Fayettville and it is all decked out for Christmas, beautiful! There are carriage rides, pony and camel rides for the kids, not to mention all the cute shops you can't find at the mall. Be sure to stop by French Quarters Antiques and pet Minni Pearl the old english sheep dog who works there, and if you want great hand cut fries and burgers stop have lunch a hugos if there is a line put your name on the list worth the wait. Fayettville and the square is a great place and the New Chancellor Hotel just made it better.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from elavator, and with a view of Old Main and Dickson street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us over the holiday weekend, and for your review on trip advisor. We appreciate all the compliments of the hotel overall. We look forward to your return visit. Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a great place to stay because it is withing walking distance to the entire Entertainment District of Fayetteville! It is in the middle of Downtown and plenty of great awesome Restaurants! It have a very nice Bar/Lounge/Grill and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the resturants here in Northwest Arkansas! We hope that you choose to stay with again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chancellor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: 70 North East Avenue, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel)
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fayetteville
#5 Business Hotel in Fayetteville
#6 Family Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancellor Hotel is the newest hotel in Northwest Arkansas! Featuring 205 brand new, luxurious guest rooms and suites, a stunning lobby bar and restaurant and exceptional meeting facilities, The Chancellor is the best choice for leisure or business travel. All rooms feature stunning contemporary decor, flat screen HDTV's, a full high definition channel line-up, HBO and Showtime, luxury bed linens and bath amenities, pillow top mattresses and complimentary high speed Internet access. Conveniently located to all destinations in Northwest Arkansas, The Chancellor Hotel is situated on the beautiful town square in Fayetteville, convenient to shopping and dining. A state-of-the-art Fitness Center featuring LifeFitness equipment, fully equipped complimentary Business Center providing PC's and iMac's and an indoor/outdoor swimming pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Fayetteville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chancellor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.