We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want a Burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's Restaurant

Hugo's Restaurant
25 1/2 North Block, Fayetteville, AR 72701
479-521-7585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 334 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“When you want a Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

this is the place to go. It is the best in Fayetteville. The macho Nacho's are to die for also. A Fayetteville tradition for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    115
    23
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On a recent trip (Labor Day) to visit Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville (about 30 miles from Fayetteville), we stayed at the Inn at the Mill in Johnson (10 miles from Fayetteville) and spent a Saturday in Fayetteville checking out the Farmer's Market and all the shops around the square. After researching restaurants on Trip Advisor, we decided to have lunch at Hugo's, which is right off the square. It's downstairs and very unique. It was not too crowded around 1:00pm (the Razorbacks had an away game that day), and we were seated immediately. There was a wide variety of customers, including children. It's nicely decorated with unique items and since they are known for their burgers, that is what my wife and I had. They were cooked perfectly and delivered quickly. Though the burgers come with chips, we split an order of their hand-cut fries which were delicious. One order is plenty to share for two people. The prices are reasonable and you can bet the next time we go to Fayetteville, we will hit Hugo's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Place to Mingle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been going to Hugo's, a half-block north of the Fayetteville, AR square, below street level, for 35 years and never grow tired of the unique experience. The casual fare is inventive and excellent (try the black & blue burger or Derick's Special), the beer selection (best black & tan on the planet) is quite varied and pleasing. There is seldom a long wait, and there is always the bar to patronize while waiting. The conversation is loud, usually drowning out the soothing jazz from Hugo's CD player. The decor is 40's-50's eclectic and the patrons range from U of A students & profs in jeans and shorts to the elegantly dressed couple fresh from a live performance at the wonderful Walton Arts Center. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It's a family game day tradition.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best had cut fires and burgers, love the location on the square.
funky decor with history. Great staff. If there is a line put your name on the list, it's worth the wait. Casual

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Probably not a secret, but it felt like it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This small, hidden gem is obviously a popular place with the locals. We were happy to find it during our brief visit to Fayetteville. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hugo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.